We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oceana Beach Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We visited the LA area with some friends and stayed at this hotel. Although under some renovation at the time, the place was phenomenal! Our rooms were spacious with very nice furnishings. It was a very comfortable place to relax and felt like home. This hotel is across the street from a park and walkway with a view to the ocean and Santa Monica pier. The staff was the best we've ever experienced - greeted at curbside by two bellmen and then greeted by Lacy and Caroline at the front desk. Kurt took our bags to our room and gave us a nice verbal tour of the room and hotel layout. David soon delivered a nice fruit plate! I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Excellent location hear many attractions, business, shopping and the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMoje, General Manager at Oceana Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
January 15, 2013

Dear Dave S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the Oceana Beach Club Hotel.
I am thrilled to learn that we have created such a memorable experience for you during your stay with us. As it is our highest mission to create such long lasting memories, it is even more enjoyable to read when team members like Lacey, Caroline, Kurt and David went above and beyond to ensure your stay is flawless in every way.
In addition I am happy to report that we are in our very final stages of the remodeling of our public areas and that we have opened the doors to our new restaurant "Tower 8" which features California Coastal Cuisine by renowned chef Josiah Citrin.

The team is looking forward to welcoming you back to the Oceana in the very near future so you can experience our new enahncements.

Warmest Regards,

Christoph Moje
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    199
    58
    29
    28
See reviews for
331
210
36
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Every last detail of this hotel is top notch. The entire staff was not only professional, but very friendly and informative. If you're in search of a great drink or a dinner recommendation, look no further than David at the hotel bar. His attitude, service, and knowledge of the area excedded all expectations!
As far as amenities and cleanliness, everything was five star.... Down to the Waterworks fixtures in the bathroom!
It is truly the perfect beach getaway!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhdaws0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMoje, General Manager at Oceana Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
January 15, 2013

Dear Jhdaws0n,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review about your recent stay at the Oceana Beach Club Hotel.
I am glad to learn that you have been able to truly enjoy our home. We as a hotel always thrive to be the very best when it comes to our service delivery. It is especially rewarding to me to learn when team members like David clearly exceed this mission.

We here at the Oceana look very much forward to welcoming you back whenever your travel plans bring you back to the Santa Monica area.

Warmest Regards,

Christoph Moje
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I'm disappointed that I have to withhold my five star rating for this potential gem of a boutique hotel a short distance from the hubub of LA. Ample and well appointed suites surround a courtyard containing a small pool. Our stay between Christmas and New Year's was marred by unseasonably cool temperatures (not Oceana's fault, in case you were wondering) and pervasive scaffolding for renovations. If we are invited back after the renovations are completed, I suspect Oceana might earn that last star. The location is great, the staff superb (despite the occasional smell of marijuana when the car was 'prematurely' retrieved from the valets.).The only downside of our experience was the ongoing, sometimes noisy renovation about which we had no advance notification. The only criticism of the physical plant no related to the renovations relates to the total absence of sound proofing between the rooms which allowed, no required us to feel the pain of a neighboring guest who quite apparently had a bad gastronomical experience with street tacos.

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean view room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I chose this hotel based on trip advisor ratings (it was rated no 1 when I booked). I was very torn between staying at one of the famous on the beach hotels (Shutters) or here - as it's not every day you are in Santa Monica! Although this hotel was a few blocks walk away from the Santa Monica pier - I could for the same price get a suite here as I could a non sea facing (very small) room at Shutters. I was not sorry with my choice for a second! The staff, service and rooms were all lovely! I love the details like a glass of prosceco while you check in. The hotel is an old apartment block (think Melrose place) that has been converted into a hotel. This meant lovely large rooms and lots of space. I loved the eclectic decor and attention to detail. I highly recommend staying here! It's a few blocks walk to the pier (which to do once is sufficient) but you have great shopping street on your doorstep!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tourtheworld-74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

I loved this little hotel, its staff is superb. We had a two night stay due to medical treatment my husband was undergoing so we couldn't really take advantage of all Oceana has to offer, but they did make our stay quiet and peaceful, very attentive when needed and 'not there' when we didn't want to be disburbed. Food excellent!! Room service same.
Mary

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary6294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

My husband and twin toddlers stayed here in November of this year and we had a wonderful experience. Although it was a bit of a walk to the main shopping drag, the hotel staff were impeccable and the suite (with microwave, kitchenette etc) was clean and very spacious, far better than the photographs led me to think in advance. Although no ocean views the suite we stayed in, led out to such a picturesque pool area that we barely noticed. It was great value and I'd highly recommend it to anyone who wants more space and for families looking for a separate living area for after the kids go to bed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Ca
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We really liked this quirky little hotel. The location was good (not on the beach, which isn't clear from the Google Maps location, but you still get an ocean view). The hotel is almost done with a renovation, but it was fine for us as we'd hate it if the pool was busy or the hot tub full of partiers. The restaurant is temporarily in a former guest room, which seems a little strange at first, but the food was good, as was the service, and it was very cozy.
Our room was perfect, and probably the least expensive, largest room with an ocean view in all of Santa Monica. The living area was toward the ocean, with two large windows that opened up. It had a tv, sofa, and two armchairs (plus a small desk area). The sleeping area also had a tv. The only negative on the room was that because of its first floor location, it was a little exposed to people walking by. It's up about half a floor, so not directly on the sidewalk, but if you were sitting or standing in the window, people could easily see you.
Staff was very attentive and accommodating. Valet got our car very quickly whenever we needed it.
We didn't hear noise from other rooms (other than someone walking upstairs a couple of times), but the hotel may have been fairly empty due to the time of year we traveled.
We weren't bothered by street noise, either, but because it was cold, the windows were closed. We live in a city, so probably wouldn't have been bothered anyway. But you're not going to go to sleep to the sound of the ocean in this location.
All in all, though, this was a very good find, and one I'd recommend.

Room Tip: Room 105 has a sitting area, balcony, front windows facing the ocean. It's a bit exposed to peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFSusanW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,677 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceana Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceana Beach Club Hotel

Property: Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Address: 849 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90403 (Formerly Hotel Oceana Santa Monica)
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceana Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceana Beach Club Hotel is luxury boutique hotel located in the premier residential neighborhood of north Santa Monica. With sweeping oceam views, spacious rooms and suites and coastal California cuisine at Tower 8, Oceana offers guests the quintessential coastal California experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Oceana Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing