We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret Hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Secret Hideaway”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This hotel never disappoints! Tucked away on Ocean Blvd just steps away from PCH and the beach, the cozy bungalow-style rooms make the guest feel like they are truly on vacation. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are clean and the staff makes their guests feel important. They really try to exemplify what true customer service should feel like. They have beach cruisers to tool around town on, they are a short walk away from BOA steak house and Sushi Roku and the midnight strolling among the palm trees across the street from the hotel gives the guest a true California experience! Love, Love, Love it!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jettdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    226
    67
    31
    34
See reviews for
383
232
44
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
113 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

My first stay at the Oceana was in early Feb of this year....One of my friends and I take a trip to Hawaii every year and the trip back to MN is always grueling. Being that we usually have to stop in LA anyway, we decided we'd just stay a few days in Santa Monica to break up that trip back. I've been there before - she hadn't - and I just really like the vibe, the restaurants, beaches, the boardwalk, the promenade, etc... After reading many reviews and comparing prices, I selected a package from Perfect Escapes for the Oceana for a Suite, breakfast, early check-in, an upgrade and an in-room gift.

Our flight got in early and Jefferson (only the best welcome wagon man on the planet!), bless his heart, got us in our room so we were able to take a little nap and recharge. We love him for that!

We were wowed by our large, beautifully decorated room that feels like the ocean-side condo you've always wanted to buy for weekend getaways! We were in an ocean view suite (224) that had a very comfortable king size bed, two nightstands, a huge closet (with iron and board - and a safe), a separate desk/study area and a very nice sized living area - which included a sleeper sofa, coffee table, a chair and ottoman. There is also a dining table with two chairs by the window and a TV (which we never turned on.) The bed linens were very nice and soft...not scratchy like most hotels (important to me!)

The bath was large and even though there was only one sink, there is ample space for two people to set their stuff out on either side. No bathtub, but the shower was huge. If I remember correctly, they had Bigelow products that smelled great and the towels were soft and fluffy (that's important to me too!)

Our living/sitting/dining had large windows that open waaay up and had great views of the ocean - which made for great sunset watching. Yes, there IS a street (Ocean Ave) to cross....this hotel is not ON the beach, but we had no issues with that at all. Next time I go, I plan to book the room directly above the one we had as there is a balcony on that one - which would be nice to have.

Every morning we had a fresh, yummy breakfast that included pretty much anything and everything you can think of. If it's not out on the buffet (cereals, oatmeal, breads, bacon, sausage, eggs, fruit, pastries, etc....) they will make it for you (made to order eggs, omelets, pancakes.) They have a great selection of fresh squeezed juices, several teas and good coffee. Noel was our waiter/server/breakfast liaison and he was not only nice to look at (sorry Noel, had to say it) but just a genuine, charming guy. It was a great way to start our day!

The location of Oceana, in my opinion, is perfect! Close to everything, but far enough away (about a mile from the Pier) that there aren't tourists everywhere. We walked to different restaurants for lunch and dinner - mostly on or around the Promenade or Ocean Avenue.

The Oceana is a great place to get your exercise on...they have bikes you can use for free from the hotel, but we preferred to walk. We crossed the street, went down the stairs and you were on the boardwalk. One day we walked past the Pier and Venice all the way to Marina Del Ray. The next day we went the other direction as far as we could go towards Malibu. Weather was gorgeous and the people-watching was fantastic!

One afternoon we asked Karl (international man of mystery/valet manager) where we could get some fresh bread, cheese and champagne and he directed us to a few places within 6 blocks...one was a great little cheese and wine shop - the other was a Safeway. We brought our purchases back and Karl worked his magic and delivered to our door champagne glasses, silverware and a tray with olives and nuts on it. It was awesome. He was awesome.

I suppose I should mention the pool and the gym too....the pool isn't big, but it serves it's purpose. There are lots of lounge chairs and sitting areas and it's a nice place to sit and chill. They have a fireplace too, which would be nice to sit by on a cool night!

The gym is small but adequate with treadmills, a few machines and free weights. There is also a bathroom with a shower which was great because our flight left late (and we had to check out by noon) and we were able to go about our day and then come back and clean up.

As you can tell, I'm a fan of this place and I can't wait to go back. We loved our room and the location, but the icing on this lovely cake is the staff! Seriously. They couldn't have been more welcoming, helpful and kind. Everyone seems to really like each other and working at the hotel - which is refreshing! No wonder they get so many repeat guests! I plan on becoming one of them!

I highly, highly recommend Oceana!

Feel free to send me a note if you have any questions.

Happy Travels!
LisaMpls

Room Tip: They are all nice - but it was nice being on even the 2nd floor so we had better views of the evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lisampls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

My family of 5 stayed here for 3 days and the huge suite had plenty of room to accommodate us all! The breakfast was amazing and they had a special where all of us could eat for only $40 extra dollars. The cost of the suite seemed pricey at first but is comparable to smaller rooms in Santa Monica. The rooms have a beachy feel and are very light and pretty. My kids' favorite place to stay in Americx is the Trump in Chicago and they liked this as much. They even let the kids swim after hours if they promised to be quiet. The pool is near the restaurant and is a little oasis. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hhball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at the Oceana and thought it was one the nicest hotels we've ever stayed at, and we've traveled many places!!!

The Lania suite was so big and roomy! The customer service was outstanding. We can't say enough about it!

You will be happy with your vacation.

A family from Philadelphia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Just spent 3 nights at the oceana - great location, informal and welcoming feel, smart/beach decor works well. Room was very spacious - large shower. The standout was the service - great help from Jill at front desk to ring around for taxis. Saved me 100 dollars from first estimate - all while I was out at dinner. A great impression

One disappointment was the price - very expensive

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whereverilaymyblackberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Just checked in for the 4th of July. What a shock. First of all it looks like an apartment building, like the old Melrose Place. Second, there is absolutely no view of any kind. If you go to their website they show a misleading picture of a beach view. Third, I was stunned to find out they don't have a jaccuzzi. Are you kidding me? I paid over $400.00, a night and no jaccuzzi. That is unheard of. When I brought this up to the front desk, they said they would check surrounding hotels to see if they would accommodate us in using their jaccuzzi. A few minutes later the front desk informed me they could not find a hotel to accommodate us. The hotel did not even offer a discount on their price for not having a jaccuzzi. You can rest assured I will never return to the Oceana. For the price you can find better

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Noho187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanalei, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed here with our daughter while looking at colleges in California. The staff, facilities and service were all fabulous. Excellent location about 6 blocks from Promenede shops. We originally booked one night and extended to two based on our first impression. The corner room that was available due to our last-minute booking lacked a view but it was large and had a surprisingly large bathroom as well as being a good value. A week later on our return to the area we booked an additional night and were again impressed. The staff was friendly and helpful with directions and boarding passes and even shared insight on colleges as many were recent graduates of the schools we were seeing. We had to wait for one of the machines in the workout facilities but that is expected in a small hotel. The breakfast staff was happy to bring us lattes at the courtyard pool. Overall one of our best hotel experiences. After staying at Oceana we are sold on boutique hotels.

Room Tip: The higher price the room has, the better the view. We enjoyed the convenience of a first floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,780 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,540 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
910 reviews
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,227 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceana Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceana Beach Club Hotel

Property: Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Address: 849 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90403-1003 (Formerly Hotel Oceana Santa Monica)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceana Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceana Beach Club Hotel is luxury boutique hotel located in the premier residential neighborhood of north Santa Monica. With sweeping oceam views, spacious rooms and suites and coastal California cuisine at Tower 8, Oceana offers guests the quintessential coastal California experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Oceana Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing