We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with expansive suites overlooking the ocean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2012

My family of 5 stayed here for 3 days and the huge suite had plenty of room to accommodate us all! The breakfast was amazing and they had a special where all of us could eat for only $40 extra dollars. The cost of the suite seemed pricey at first but is comparable to smaller rooms in Santa Monica. The rooms have a beachy feel and are very light and pretty. My kids' favorite place to stay in Americx is the Trump in Chicago and they liked this as much. They even let the kids swim after hours if they promised to be quiet. The pool is near the restaurant and is a little oasis. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hhball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,071)
There are newer reviews for Oceana Beach Club Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

779 - 785 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at the Oceana and thought it was one the nicest hotels we've ever stayed at, and we've traveled many places!!!

The Lania suite was so big and roomy! The customer service was outstanding. We can't say enough about it!

You will be happy with your vacation.

A family from Philadelphia.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jennifer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Just spent 3 nights at the oceana - great location, informal and welcoming feel, smart/beach decor works well. Room was very spacious - large shower. The standout was the service - great help from Jill at front desk to ring around for taxis. Saved me 100 dollars from first estimate - all while I was out at dinner. A great impression

One disappointment was the price - very expensive

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whereverilaymyblackberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Just checked in for the 4th of July. What a shock. First of all it looks like an apartment building, like the old Melrose Place. Second, there is absolutely no view of any kind. If you go to their website they show a misleading picture of a beach view. Third, I was stunned to find out they don't have a jaccuzzi. Are you kidding me? I paid over $400.00, a night and no jaccuzzi. That is unheard of. When I brought this up to the front desk, they said they would check surrounding hotels to see if they would accommodate us in using their jaccuzzi. A few minutes later the front desk informed me they could not find a hotel to accommodate us. The hotel did not even offer a discount on their price for not having a jaccuzzi. You can rest assured I will never return to the Oceana. For the price you can find better

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Noho187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed here with our daughter while looking at colleges in California. The staff, facilities and service were all fabulous. Excellent location about 6 blocks from Promenede shops. We originally booked one night and extended to two based on our first impression. The corner room that was available due to our last-minute booking lacked a view but it was large and had a surprisingly large bathroom as well as being a good value. A week later on our return to the area we booked an additional night and were again impressed. The staff was friendly and helpful with directions and boarding passes and even shared insight on colleges as many were recent graduates of the schools we were seeing. We had to wait for one of the machines in the workout facilities but that is expected in a small hotel. The breakfast staff was happy to bring us lattes at the courtyard pool. Overall one of our best hotel experiences. After staying at Oceana we are sold on boutique hotels.

Room Tip: The higher price the room has, the better the view. We enjoyed the convenience of a first floor roo...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Having stayed at several Hotels located on Ocean, in Santa Monica.  I have to say that the Oceana Hotel is my favorite.  The service was excellent, with staff that go above and beyond to make guests comfortable.  The location is beautiful, and the view of the ocean spectacular.

The rooms are spacious and thoughtfully furnished, and having a full kitchenette is extremely convenient.  The toiletries are CO Bigelow, which is a little thing that makes a huge difference.

The food at the downstairs restaurant was delightful and satisfying, and the service was excellent.  Views of the ocean and beach were gorgeous as you would expect in Santa Monica.  Free wi-fi is available, for hotel guests.

We had a great experience and will definitely be back next time we are passing through.  The service alone is worth the stay; the gorgeous setting doesn't hurt either.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Great room with a wonderful view, clean, wonderful staff, good food, and a beautiful location. We were very pleased.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the third floor which was large and quiet and had great light.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toe851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,894 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,586 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,605 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceana Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceana Beach Club Hotel

Address: 849 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90403-1003 (Formerly Hotel Oceana Santa Monica)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range: $471 - $698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceana Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceana Beach Club Hotel is luxury boutique hotel located in the premier residential neighborhood of north Santa Monica. With sweeping oceam views, spacious rooms and suites and coastal California cuisine at Tower 8, Oceana offers guests the quintessential coastal California experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oceana Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing