We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a quick visit”
Review of Santa Monica Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santa Monica Motel
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good for a quick visit”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Los Angeles a day earlier than planned so thought we'd drive to the coast and find somewhere to stay, this was the only place with vacancies so we had to stay here. It was the most expensive night of our trip but the price was still reasonable. The location was good too, close to the pier and lots of places to eat and some liquor stores too. The only downside was that the rooms didn't have air conditioning and combined with the heat wave which was happening at the time made for a very hot and sticky night.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickylh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    61
    52
    26
    22
See reviews for
38
69
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last summer and, for the price, the location is fantastic. However, the rooms leave a lot to be desired - they were clean, but pretty old and tired. The WiFi was only available near reception, which lead to people having to stand in the car park to get signal. That said, I may still stay here again if I needed a similar base, but only for a short stay.

Also, beware - Unfortunately, the 'taxi' (which they say they can book for you) they booked for the airport run was actually executive saloon at a considerably higher price, leaving a slightly sour taste at the end of a fantastic trip

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Was a long walk to the pier. The room was small, damaged and smelt bad. Wifi was terrible. Bed was old and very uncomfortable. Staff were not very friendly and were seated behind a plastic screen which made communication difficult. Don't recommend this place.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TravisWBedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Monica hotels

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

My wife and I are staying here for one night and think that it quite long enough, really. Certainly it is clean and in a good position - we walked to the pier and felt quite safe - but for $100 a night (with lastminute.com) we would have expected more. There is no kettle or coffee making facilities at all. There is an open wardrobe (ie. just a pole between two walls) in the washing area and not even a plastic beaker for a tooth brush. The queen bed really is just a queen although the headboard is for a king size! - and the bedding isn't long enough for a queen. Although limited, the furniture is mostly modern but no storage drawers, save for single ones in the bedside cabinets. The walls are very thin and a pain with us having noisy neighbours. Internet (free Wi-Fi) connection is good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidB027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
184 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Great location but poor rooms, we stopped here for 3 nights, five mins drive to beaches as it didn't feel save to walk, very helpful lady working on the front desk, but we really only used room to shower and sleep

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theellitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montauban
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Santa Monica Motel for 5 nights.
It is 15min walk to the beach. We could not afford a place near the beach. This place is perfect. The room are new and refresh.
During our stay, they changed the TV in the room to a brand new flat screen!
I stayed in many motels in CA, and I can tell this is the best i've ever see.
Friendly employees!! Great service!! Great afforadable rooms!

Pierre & Steph

Helpful?
Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

First, I must say that parking can be fairly tricky here. Spots are tight, and you may have to back out to the main street, since turning around may in fact be impossible. At night, we took to ordering a cab since moving the car would just have been too much of a hassle. The rooms are fairly clean, albeit sparse in amenities. Don't expect a hair dryer, toiletries, or even an alarm clock. However, they have free Wi-Fi, and you're near everything. The staff are very polite and helpful I must add.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Ocean Park Inn
Ocean Park Inn
#34 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Santa Monica
Days Inn Santa Monica/los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#27 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ocean Lodge Hotel
#30 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Monica Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Monica Motel

Property: Santa Monica Motel
Address: 2102 Lincoln Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90405-1319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Santa Monica Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 7 blocks from the beach & world famous Santa Monica Pier, Santa Monica Motel offers the most affordable accommodations of all the beach hotels in Santa Monica, CA. Near Santa Monica College, the Santa Monica Place Mall and famous Third Street Promenade, our economy motel is only minutes away from the most desirable tourist attractions in the city. The Santa Monica Motel offers comfortable, private, safe, clean rooms, conveniently located a short walk away from the beach, exquisite restaurants, the pier, and most of Santa Monica’s iconic attractions. Our rooms offer either one queen bed or two double beds, en suite bathrooms with Shampoo and body wash, In room coffee makers, flat screen televisions, in room refrigerator, hair dryer, clock radio, iron and ironing board available upon request, fresh complimentary coffee served every morning, vending and ice machines on property, free Wi-Fi and free parking. All rooms at The Santa Monica Motel are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Santa Monica Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing