We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything!”
Review of Santa Monica Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santa Monica Motel
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Close to Santa Monica Pier and restaurants, it took us about 10 minutes to walk down to the Pier. Clean rooms, no problems with the wifi and the poeple who works here are very nice and helpfull. I recommend this Motel and we will come back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iia79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 262 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a cheap motel in Santa Monica, found this one for one night @ $130. Location is ok and it is ok clean but there was no AC "AC is not included with small rooms" (room for 4 people, 2 queens). 88 degrees at night with a small fan...awesome!
One towel had a huge blood stain...which isn't the best way to feel good after showering!
Shower was renewed so it was a highlight of this place.













Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Cloe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Good location, only 10 minutes walk from the restaurants and bars of Main Street and 15 minutes from the beach and promenade.
Room was a little small for 2 queens, but perfectly adequate for our needs and everything was nice and clean.
Wifi was slow but that's to be expected and it was free so not much to complain about there.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for somewhere to rest their head for the night in a good clean hotel close to everything. If you want luxury, go somewhere else (that will be a LOT more expensive!)

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank vixwix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I travel on business to work in the area often. I have stayed here twice and plan to stay again. This is a small clean 1950s motel that most likely catered to Route 66 tourists back in the day since Santa Monica Blvd is a few blocks away and is the end of the Mother Road at SM beach. There are lots of great restaurants no more than a 20 minute walk. 10 min walk to Main St to catch bus to Venice or SM. Rates are within govt per diem and is a good value. Great music club "TRIP" is right across the street. No cover. Great beer selection. Burlesque on Wed.

1st room I had was in back, clean with new carpet. A little rough around the edges. Only amenities are 100 channel cable TV with remote, free parking, box fan and free wireless internet. No pool, no coffee, no AC, no phone, no lobby.
2nd room I had was in back with 2 beds and was totally remodeled with fridge. Very nice.

Gas station is next door. Neighbor hood between motel and SM beach is very nice and a park is on the way to the beach. 15 minute walk to SM beach. 3rd street SM area is 15 minute walk. The location is great. The people working here and the customers staying here were very nice. I recommend for families and business people.

Room Tip: Ask for room in back due to noisy Lincoln Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank porcupine150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Santa Monica is your typical, well run ultra budget motel. The rooms are clean, spacious, and sparsely decorated. The most remarkable part of the hotel was the staff, which was absolutely lovely. I can't say enough about how friendly and helpful they were, though most of my interaction with them was through the security glass. This is a fine spot for families travelling on a budget (Santa Monica is horrifically expensive, especially during the summer time), or business travellers with a low per diem

Pros:
Cheap
Clean
Outrageously friendly staff
Close to the Civic Center and reasonably close to the pier for the price.

Cons:
The TVs are tiny and don't have remote controls.
There is no air conditioning.
The parking lot is one lane only, making it difficult to navigate when busy.
A bit loud with the windows open (again, no AC)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtorres1, Manager at Santa Monica Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

John A,

I would like to thank you for taking time out of your day to write our Motel a Tripadvisor review. We are honored you have written the two most important things we feel are necessary for and Motel property to achieve as we have at Santa Monica Motel! These 2 key essential things are outstanding service and clean affordable rooms. We look forward serving you whenever you decide to return to Santa Monica in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were looking for a cheap nice little place in Santa Monica. Which is pretty hard to find! Every place we looked at was extremly pricey and to us was not worth spending 300 dollaes on a night. We luckly found Santa Monica Motel and we love it!!! The place looked very nice and clean. The service from there front desk ladies were better than i expected. The rooms are nice and spottless!!! We will be back to stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chepguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtorres1, Manager at Santa Monica Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Chepguy,

We are honored we had the chance to serve you at the Santa Monica Motel. We at the Motel pride ourselves in providing excellent customer service while providing a clean and very much so affordable room compared to other Motels located on Lincoln Blvd in Santa Monica. Our front desk team will go above and beyond to make sure all your request and needs are meet. While our housekeeping goal is to make each guest room clean and comfortable as we want you to feel as if you where home! We look forward serving you in the future as one of our many return guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed here with friends, whilst on a road trip. This was a stop which was well worth it. Although very expensive for a motel, considering others in the area this really isn't too bad. We also booked last minute during peak season. The service was very friendly, the room was clean and location was also pretty good! The only slight drawback being that it was hot, and there was no air con, just a fan on the ceiling. Other than that everything else was pretty good about this motel and we would recommend it to anyone visiting this nice area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mx_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtorres1, Manager at Santa Monica Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Mx_dude,

I am honored you choose the Santa Monica Motel from your journeys from the United Kingdom. I must agree with you 110% regarding our service our front desk team provides which is truly amazing! Our entire housekeeping team does their very best to ensure our guest rooms levels of cleanliness is immaculate, comfortable as our overall goal is to make each guest feel like they are home! We are located within a few minutes of a walk from the famous Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, Santa Monica Place Mall and Main Street Shopping District. I hope whenever you decide to return to Santa Monica we at the Santa Monica Motel have the chance to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
634 reviews
Santa Monica
Days Inn Santa Monica/los Angeles
Santa Monica
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
#17 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean Park Inn
Ocean Park Inn
#34 of 36 in Santa Monica
258 reviews
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#29 of 36 in Santa Monica
462 reviews
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#24 of 36 in Santa Monica
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Monica Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Monica Motel

Address: 2102 Lincoln Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90405-1319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $127 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Santa Monica Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 7 blocks from the beach & world famous Santa Monica Pier, Santa Monica Motel offers the most affordable accommodations of all the beach hotels in Santa Monica, CA. Near Santa Monica College, the Santa Monica Place Mall and famous Third Street Promenade, our economy motel is only minutes away from the most desirable tourist attractions in the city. The Santa Monica Motel offers comfortable, private, safe, clean rooms, conveniently located a short walk away from the beach, exquisite restaurants, the pier, and most of Santa Monica’s iconic attractions. Our rooms offer either one queen bed or two double beds, en suite bathrooms with Shampoo and body wash, In room coffee makers, flat screen televisions, in room refrigerator, hair dryer, clock radio, iron and ironing board available upon request, fresh complimentary coffee served every morning, vending and ice machines on property, free Wi-Fi and free parking. All rooms at The Santa Monica Motel are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Santa Monica Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing