We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Santa Monica Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santa Monica Motel
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
1 review
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

This place is a nice one to stay at. The rooms are nice and clean. The front desk ladies were very delightful.Me and my husband love the small little patio chairs outside in there courtyard area! I want to know we're to buy them! I will be back for sure to stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherzi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtorres1, Manager at Santa Monica Motel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Cherzi 1,

I would like to thank you for taking time out of your day to write the Santa Monica Motel a Tripadvisor review. Our housekeeping team does their very best to make sure each guest room are clean and comfortable. Our front desk team does their very best to make each guest feel like they are home which is our ultimate goal. Our patio chairs where ordered from a local company that tailored made them to fit our esthetics of our Motel image, and I must agree with you they are beautiful. We are honored to have earned you as one of our many returned and loyal customers. Thank you for staying with us and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    61
    52
    26
    22
See reviews for
39
69
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a very typical clean, cheap and convenient motel. The previous reviews must be before the motel was upgrated. I can recomend this motel for short stays. It is within walking distance of the famous santa monica pier.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosaMygind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtorres1, Manager at Santa Monica Motel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear RosaMygind,
I am very honored you stayed with us from your journeys from Denmark. We have worked hard to make the Santa Monica Motel much more appealing, clean while providing excellent customer service as well. We are only a few minutes of a walk from the World Famous Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, Santa Monica Place Mall, Main Street Shopping District and so much more! I hope whenever you decide to visit Santa Monica in the future, we at Santa Monica Motel have another chance to serve you again. Thank you for staying with us and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

You know, I've been staying at the Santa Monica Motel since September of 2012 and every week I return I feel like it's home away from home. The renovated rooms at this place are very nice and comfortable. Furthermore, each room that I have been in has been furnished with refrigerator and microwave. The staff here have been very friendly and accomodating. They have placed me in a couple different rooms throughout the property and I've enjoyed everyone of them. The Santa Monica Motel is a very quiet and clean. I guess you can say that i am some what of a long term guest and in this length of time i have seen the rooms remodled and the out side structure re-painted with a more welcoming color-tone. I recommend booking your reservation here! Walking distance to entertainment and a variety of attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtorres1, Manager at Santa Monica Motel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Oscar L,
I am very honored and grateful that you have taken time out of our day to write Santa Monica Motel a review. You have seen what the Motel was and what it has become! The entire staff and management has worked hard to make our Motel much more appealing, comfortable, clean and providing better customer service than any other Motel on Lincoln Blvd. I hope all Tripadvisor readers of this review will understand the huge changes we have strived to change and accomplished. We strive to make each guest feel like they are home as well providing customer service tailored to each and every guest needs. Our housekeeping team goes above and beyond in making sure each guest room meets our very high standards to ensure our guests a able to relax and enjoy their stay with us as you do every other week with us! We are only within minutes of a walk from Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, Santa Monica Place Mall and Main Street Shopping district!
We look forward having you not only as one of our weekly guest but as part of the Santa Monica Motel family. Thank you for staying with us and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

After having an "issue" with another motel just down the street, we called the Santa Monica Motel and checked on vacancy. They had rooms aviliable, we arrived and got settled in to the room. i will share our first impression and then our final verdict.
Of course the place is dated, and looks to be quite old, and could probably use a paint job. The room was smaller than expected, and the lighting was not the best. But as we explored the rest of the room, with a little skepticism, we discovered that it was ALL that we needed. The shower, toilet, and bathroom were clean, the shower had nice pressure. The bed was comfortable & most importantly, CLEAN. The tv worked fine.
As many will agree, when a place like Santa Monica, the room is the place that we plan to spend the least amount of time. After a fun and exciting afternoon & evening on the Pier, we returned to our room. The next morning we discussed out stay. Affordable, CLEAN, super friendly service, and affordable.
Now it's not a 5 star or even a three star, but if you can put your expectations aside just a little, you just may see that this place in very convenient, affordable and functional.
In the future, we will certinally consider a stay at the Santa Monica Motel!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtorres1, Manager at Santa Monica Motel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear John K,
We are honored you stayed with us at the Santa Monica Motel from your journeys from Chandler Arizona. Our entire front office team does their very best to provide excellent customer service as our ultimate goal is to make each guest feel like they are home. While providing a very clean room at a fraction of the price compared to most other accommodations in Santa Monica. We are only a few minutes of a walk from the world famous Santa Monica Beach Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, Santa Monica Place Mall and Main Street shopping district as well. We at Santa Monica Motel look forward serving you during your next Santa Monica visit. Thank you for staying us and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
592 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean Park Inn
Ocean Park Inn
#34 of 36 in Santa Monica
235 reviews
Santa Monica
Days Inn Santa Monica/los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
520 reviews
Santa Monica
Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#26 of 36 in Santa Monica
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Monica Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Monica Motel

Property: Santa Monica Motel
Address: 2102 Lincoln Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90405-1319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Santa Monica Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 7 blocks from the beach & world famous Santa Monica Pier, Santa Monica Motel offers the most affordable accommodations of all the beach hotels in Santa Monica, CA. Near Santa Monica College, the Santa Monica Place Mall and famous Third Street Promenade, our economy motel is only minutes away from the most desirable tourist attractions in the city. The Santa Monica Motel offers comfortable, private, safe, clean rooms, conveniently located a short walk away from the beach, exquisite restaurants, the pier, and most of Santa Monica’s iconic attractions. Our rooms offer either one queen bed or two double beds, en suite bathrooms with Shampoo and body wash, In room coffee makers, flat screen televisions, in room refrigerator, hair dryer, clock radio, iron and ironing board available upon request, fresh complimentary coffee served every morning, vending and ice machines on property, free Wi-Fi and free parking. All rooms at The Santa Monica Motel are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Santa Monica Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing