We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Clean Motel Near the Beach”
Review of Sea Shore Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Monica
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Shore Motel
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Clovis, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Clean Motel Near the Beach”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a nice motel but difficult to find a vacancy during the summer months. It is only a few blocks from the beach and located along a very quaint shopping area, Main Street. I found the motel to be clean, well appointed and free parking is included with the room. I paid $200.00 per night for a weekly suite which is quite affordable by Santa Monica standards. The staff was friendly and the sounds at night were not too noisy given the busy street. One can walk to the many shops, restaurants and coffee houses along the street. All things considered, I would have no reservation about going back again. Correct that. I'd better have a reservation if I expect to spend the night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtkaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    292
    73
    21
    15
See reviews for
184
250
45
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Visited here for a week in June 2011. Weather not great then and jet lag was debilitating so didn't appreciate the place then. However had no complaints about the motel, although downstairs rooms can be noisy with overhead foot traffic. Stayed again this April (in an upstairs room!) And totally got the vibe of not only Santa Monica but this motel as well. Ken and Tom were as lovely and welcoming as before. Room very comfortable and showers hot and towels a-plenty. You get what you pay for in this great location and we will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikk-n-Ally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

A great Motel to base yourself at in Santa Monica and for visiting Hollywood and LA attractions - bonus is the free parking. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We had the junior suite, 1 bedroom with 2 double beds and lounge room with sofa bed, small table and chairs to sit and eat breakfast, bar fridge and filter coffee machine (motel has supplies coffee which wasn't too bad). Our room faced the street and across the road from restaurant/bar/nightclub, which can be a bit noisy. Lots of good restaurants around the area and along Main St. Sunday morning markets were good - lots of fresh food with good choices for breakfast/brunch. There is a laundromat next door, which the Motel owners seem to own. The cafe attached the the motel was closed during our stay. My only gripe is the weak wifi connection - it kept dropping out and I found it hard to get a connection. We enjoyed our stay and would definately stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borger, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Very nice cute room very close to the beach. Great location for visiting Hollywood and LA attractions. Walking location to shops and several restaurants. Room was clean and the staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: Close to LA attractions without being in the loud city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msmfdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Family run motel right in the middle between Santa Monica pier and Venice beach on the cozy part of Main street and just a block away from the beach - I think it was perfect.
Rooms priced right, tidy and clean and location is great. Add to that that the staff and owners were really friendly and helpful and that you have quality restaurants right around the corner from you.

As its a motel you'll be able to dump your car for no extra charge as I think this area is best explored by foot. Most other hotels in the area you need to pay for parking.

Have breakfast at the cafe Amelia's just next doors - brilliant coffee - strong and dark.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC_Swede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

The Sea Shore Motel is situated two blocks from the beach and quite a walk from Third St Promenade. Walk to the pier along the beach and then head in - that's my recommendation. I am 5 months pregnant so I found the walk quite onerous. Lots of nice cafes nearby on Main St; but we struggled to find a good restaurant come the evening. Our room was on the bottom floor, clean and spacious for all of our bags and our stroller - which we ordered online and had delivered to the motel prior to our arrival. The owners were very obliging in keeping it for us and were also helpful when we forgot our travel adaptor! Anyway, the location across the road from a bar/nightclub was definitely NOT good and that meant we struggled to get to sleep both nights (Fri and Sat). Wouldn't get that mid-week, I would hazard to guess. The great thing about the motel is the guaranteed parking space with your room, which was one of the main reasons we booked here - along with the good value rooms; something difficult to find in Santa Monica!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Not fancy, but spacious rooms, and very clean. We were in a room upstairs at the rear, and the little alley and stairway up to the rooms seemed a bit dodgy, but the security gate at the top of the stairs made us feel safer. We used the sofa bed, and still had plenty of room, with a large table and kitchen area. They initially only provided 2 towels for 4 people, but a quick trip to reception solved that. A family run motel, we noticed the difference at reception compared to the chains, very friendly and helpful. Wifi only worked on one side of our room, I lost the signal if I sat at the table or on the balcony. We found a couple of nice restaurants in easy walking distance, and walked into Santa Monica with no problems, though it is a 20-30 minute walk. Sunday market across the road was small but had some nice fresh food.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoeberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,856 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#19 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,106 reviews
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
600 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
940 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Shore Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Shore Motel

Property: Sea Shore Motel
Address: 2637 Main St, Santa Monica, CA 90405-4001
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms feature terra-cotta tile floors, refrigerators, air conditioning, cable TV, granite counter tops and more. We have a sun deck and an on-site restaurant and Laundromat. All our rooms are non-smoking. We offer free parking in our own parking lot. We are located within walking distance to all Santa Monica attractions and within a 1/2 hour drive to all Los Angeles attractions. Plus, we're only TWO SHORT BLOCKS from Santa Monica's famous white sand beach. Along historic and charming Main Street are numerous restaurants, art galleries, museums, dress shops, coffee shops, and more. A 2 night minimum stay is required on weekends and holidays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Shore Hotel Santa Monica
Sea Shore Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing