We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea Shore Motel with Friends”
Review of Sea Shore Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Monica
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Shore Motel
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Hi Gang, this is my second review of the Sea Shore. This time 4 of us shared a suite during 4 days in October including Halloween. We had a suite at the front of the building and I was a little hesitant because of the street noise and the bar across the street. We didn't find it overly noisy considering we are in a city. As my review before, the furniture is dated but it was really comfortable. The suite was really big and roomy, the four of us didn't feel crowded at all. Its a casual, laid back place to stay. We walked from the pier at night and the area felt quite safe.
3 of us are returning in April for a few days and look forward to the Sunday market across the street and biking along the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 664 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

This motel is very well located. It is close to the beach and the pier. You can easily walk around and reach the 3rd street promenade. The Main Street itself offers a lot of possibilities for shopping, eating and taking coffee. The service at the motel is very nice and the personnel is always ready to help you, organize a tour to Hollywood, explain the attractions and service around. The room was correct.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cecile633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Spacious and clean rooms, only a couple of blocks to the beach, several good restaurants nearby, they even have a nice second floor deck where you can lounge and read. The management is extremely helpful in providing suggestions and maps. Family run, it is a really pleasant diversion from large hotels and chain motels.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Schanke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The location and price could not be better, especially if you do not have a car. A two block walk to the beach, and within a mile radius, awesome restaurants, pubs and shopping.

I arrived later than I planned due to a late arriving flight; but the management waited for me to arrive.
WiFi worked great. And was free!

My suite, #41 (I think) was huge. The beds were quite comfortable, furnishings were very usable, and a balcony with a couple chairs were ideal. The kitchen was good enough to make a meal should you choose to. Everything was very clean.

I would stay at the Sea Shore again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rhartogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed here Feb 14-17 with a group spread out over half a dozen rooms. The rooms are clean and decent sized. The neighborhood is great, lots of cafes, restaurants and bars nearby. The beach is an easy 2 block walk. The only negative is that it's noisy at night, especially Friday and Saturday when it's too loud to sleep until 2:00 am. Other than that, it's a decent value in Santa Monica.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maprow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Good option for a hotel with good rooms, comfy beds and decent amenities. Near to the beach. You can park near your room, it's in a motel style.
We met family here and went to a good steak restaurant nearby.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Travellingbear44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I booked this hotel only going by the recommendations from tripadvisor and I was very pleased with the accommodations. King size bed and bedding was excellent, most comfortable bed we have had in a hotel. Room came with a mini fridge and I also requested and received a microwave and coffee maker. Coffee and creamers were even supplied! Free parking, internet and awesome location....you can't ask for more! If we ever go back to the area I would definitely stay there. Thank you Sea Shore for making our stay so comfortable.


Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank lferris89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,913 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
617 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,603 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
978 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Shore Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Shore Motel

Address: 2637 Main St, Santa Monica, CA 90405-4001
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $110 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Shore Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms feature terra-cotta tile floors, refrigerators, air conditioning, cable TV, granite counter tops and more. We have a sun deck and an on-site restaurant and Laundromat. All our rooms are non-smoking. We offer free parking in our own parking lot. We are located within walking distance to all Santa Monica attractions and within a 1/2 hour drive to all Los Angeles attractions. Plus, we're only TWO SHORT BLOCKS from Santa Monica's famous white sand beach. Along historic and charming Main Street are numerous restaurants, art galleries, museums, dress shops, coffee shops, and more. A 2 night minimum stay is required on weekends and holidays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Shore Hotel Santa Monica
Sea Shore Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing