We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location. Nice suite”
Review of Sea Shore Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Monica
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Shore Motel
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great location. Nice suite”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The location and price could not be better, especially if you do not have a car. A two block walk to the beach, and within a mile radius, awesome restaurants, pubs and shopping.

I arrived later than I planned due to a late arriving flight; but the management waited for me to arrive.
WiFi worked great. And was free!

My suite, #41 (I think) was huge. The beds were quite comfortable, furnishings were very usable, and a balcony with a couple chairs were ideal. The kitchen was good enough to make a meal should you choose to. Everything was very clean.

I would stay at the Sea Shore again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhartogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    286
    72
    21
    15
See reviews for
178
247
45
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed here Feb 14-17 with a group spread out over half a dozen rooms. The rooms are clean and decent sized. The neighborhood is great, lots of cafes, restaurants and bars nearby. The beach is an easy 2 block walk. The only negative is that it's noisy at night, especially Friday and Saturday when it's too loud to sleep until 2:00 am. Other than that, it's a decent value in Santa Monica.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maprow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Good option for a hotel with good rooms, comfy beds and decent amenities. Near to the beach. You can park near your room, it's in a motel style.
We met family here and went to a good steak restaurant nearby.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travellingbear44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel only going by the recommendations from tripadvisor and I was very pleased with the accommodations. King size bed and bedding was excellent, most comfortable bed we have had in a hotel. Room came with a mini fridge and I also requested and received a microwave and coffee maker. Coffee and creamers were even supplied! Free parking, internet and awesome location....you can't ask for more! If we ever go back to the area I would definitely stay there. Thank you Sea Shore for making our stay so comfortable.


Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lferris89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

We spent a weekend in Santa Monica helping our son relocate to a new apartment. We decided to book a suite (43) for the three nights and we are glad we did. Our son's bed wasn't delivered until Sunday so he stayed on the comfortable pull out sofa bed. We all had plenty of room and the suite was well equipped with a full kitchen, dining table, small patio, nice bath ,and a very comfortable king size bed.Management was very helpful, giving us a good map of the town with restaurant suggestions within walking distance. I also really appreciated the off street designated parking for our numbered room for free! We had to make a lot of shopping runs so that free parking spot at the end of the day was greatly appreciated.
The hotel is very well located on historic Main Street and less than two blocks from the beach. We had several nice walks along the beach and neighboring streets. We enjoyed the Farmers market,Urth cafe, Amelia's and M street Kitchen for meals.
I would certainly recommend this motel to anyone who wants a well located and comfortable lodging spot with free parking!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Meramore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
264 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The Main Street location of this motel is superb. Mere steps from great boutiques, cafes and restaurants on beautiful Main St. Walking distance to Venice and the pier and downtown Santa Monica. A couple of blocks from the beach.

The motel itself is a simple motel. We had a standard room with two double beds, good TV and clean spacious bathroom. The motel has free wifi which is excellent.

The staff were superb - so helpful and prepared to go the extra mile.

The only things worth knowing are that you do get some street noise and music noise from some of the nearby establishments, and also that there are no tea and coffee facilities (or any cooking facilities) in the standard rooms. But it's Santa Monica and the dining options are endless.

We were very happy with this choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We are a couple from Australia. Stayed there 4 nights. No complaints. Clean, neat, priced for what it is, not huge room, not tiny though. Great position to explore SM. variety of food options close, good neighborhood. Staff very nice. Would stay here again. Always full when we were there ( 31dec- 4th dec) so book well ahead. (FYI for Aussies.. Best real coffee is at 'Peets')

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,748 reviews
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#20 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,215 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Shore Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Shore Motel

Property: Sea Shore Motel
Address: 2637 Main St, Santa Monica, CA 90405-4001
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms feature terra-cotta tile floors, refrigerators, air conditioning, cable TV, granite counter tops and more. We have a sun deck and an on-site restaurant and Laundromat. All our rooms are non-smoking. We offer free parking in our own parking lot. We are located within walking distance to all Santa Monica attractions and within a 1/2 hour drive to all Los Angeles attractions. Plus, we're only TWO SHORT BLOCKS from Santa Monica's famous white sand beach. Along historic and charming Main Street are numerous restaurants, art galleries, museums, dress shops, coffee shops, and more. A 2 night minimum stay is required on weekends and holidays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Shore Hotel Santa Monica
Sea Shore Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing