We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”
Review of Sea Shore Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Monica
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Shore Motel
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights in december. Great value if you dont want to spend big bucks staying in santa monica. Theres plenty to do on main st or its a 10-15 min walk to santa monica or venice beach. Wouldnt hestitate to stay again

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank rainsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    289
    73
    21
    15
See reviews for
180
248
45
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mirboo North, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

My wife, niece and I stayed at the Sea Shore in Oct for 10 days. 5 of those days I had to travel for work leaving my wife and niece there alone. Tom, the manager was awesome. He checked on the girls every day making sure they were enjoying themselves, giving ideas and tips on what to do, generally looking after them. Although this motel is basic the position is perfect, the service is excellent. There are numerous places to eat nearby, the beach is two blocks away and you find yourself pretty much half way between muscle beach and santa monica pier.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Robn360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaken not Stirred!
Level Contributor
136 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

This motel is conveniently located within walking distance to both Venice Beach & The Pier. Close to very restaurants. A little noisy at night, but not unbearable...Would stay here again. The staff are very friendly and accomodating.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank El-Guapo-de-La-Noche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I recently spent 7 nights at the Santa Monica Motel and was very impressed. It is situated a few minutes walk from the beach in a street full of cafes and restaurants - there is also a cafe next door which sells delectable breakfasts. The motel is beautifully kept. The room was large, the cleaners are regular and thorough and there is a terrace on the second floor where one can sit and relax. The comfort of guests has top priority: they will be putting in quadruple glazing to cut out the noise of a restaurant across the street [which incidentally didn't disturb me]. I will be going back there, no question.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 1st floor with easy access to the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carisso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Low key, beachy "motel" one block or so from the beach in a nice area of Santa Monica. Rooms are large and comfortable, nothing fancy. Nightly room rate was very reasonable. Parking was available for no charge. If we go to Santa Monica again, we would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gsculp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I hate to write a negative review....so here are the positives. Very nice staff, helpful, gave recommendations for restaurants and good directions. Parking in rear of motel which was secure. Cute room with table and chairs, fridge, tile floors, wood shutters. Now for the negatives...We had a top floor room, king bed (old sheets and pillows, very hard mattress, did not look all that clean). Very, very noisy (woman vomiting next door around 2 a.m., people laughing and yelling at 4 and 5 a.m., going up and down the stairwell. No night time clerk on duty after 8-9 p.m. Did not feel all that safe and did not get much sleep! Room rate high but understand Santa Monica is expensive place to stay. Should have drove down the coast a little further and found something better. Last night of our trip and unfortunately the worst place we stayed all week.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tessiebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We found the Sea Shore to be a superb value for Santa Monica. The rooms are good size, and equipped with small fridge and table with seating for two, as well as wifi and cable. Upstairs rooms have an elevated, wood-paneled ceiling and windows with wooden blinds, adding to the shore cottage feel. Two blocks from beach and Perry's bike rental. Free parking to boot. It's a motel--not a Hyatt--but well kept, clean and super convenient.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkWalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,782 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
576 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
521 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#20 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,088 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Shore Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Shore Motel

Property: Sea Shore Motel
Address: 2637 Main St, Santa Monica, CA 90405-4001
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms feature terra-cotta tile floors, refrigerators, air conditioning, cable TV, granite counter tops and more. We have a sun deck and an on-site restaurant and Laundromat. All our rooms are non-smoking. We offer free parking in our own parking lot. We are located within walking distance to all Santa Monica attractions and within a 1/2 hour drive to all Los Angeles attractions. Plus, we're only TWO SHORT BLOCKS from Santa Monica's famous white sand beach. Along historic and charming Main Street are numerous restaurants, art galleries, museums, dress shops, coffee shops, and more. A 2 night minimum stay is required on weekends and holidays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Shore Hotel Santa Monica
Sea Shore Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing