We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Shore Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Monica
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Shore Motel
Save
You added Sea Shore Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed Three Nights here lovely apartment nice and clean beds so comfy, Very nice helpful staff So much do see and do in a fantastic location walking distance to a beautiful beach sunsets from the pier were stunning

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank carol g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    276
    71
    21
    15
See reviews for
170
235
43
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Voorhees, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here on a Sunday and Monday night after traveling from Palm Springs. We have been to Santa Monica before and decided that the SeaShore Motel will meet our needs after researching numerous hotels. Main Street is a very hip and trendy area and we couldn't ask for a better location. We had a 1 bedroom suite with a large balcony looking over Main Street. Great place to relax after exploring the city all day. Many great options for meals, all within walking distance. Great bar across street,The Basement, with happy-hour and live music at night. We were traveling with our 21 year old son who enjoyed that venue. Our room was very spacious and clean with everything that you would need to enjoy your stay. The staff was most helpful and courteous. We walked to 3rd Street Promenade and opted for a cab ride home, which was only 7.00. Short walk to Venice Beach. We will surely make this our destination again when traveling in So Cal. Thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank patti s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

These guys were very accommodating, we were upgraded to a small unit before our stay and they were very understanding and helpful when we arrived a day late due to delayed flights. The unit was very clean, well stocked with kitchen items and utensils, blender was great.
It's an easy walk down to the beach and bike hire place and a 20 minute walk to santa Monica pier.
We enjoyed our stay here and have rebooked to stay again before flying home.
Travelling with 2 adults and 2 kids (4yo & 1yo).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel was adequate. We arrived early in the morning as we had a tour booked to see the stars homes in LA and were being picked up. We couldn't check in until 2.30 but the receptionist was excellent and let us park our car in the car park and gave us lots of tips about what to see in LA. He even offered to make us coffee if our tour bus hadn't turned up on time. After a long day in LA we finally got back and were shown our room. It was quaint although one of the smallest rooms we had had on our road trip. It was on the first floor and about 2 blocks from the beach. Santa Monica pier was about a ten minute walk away. On the first night we went to an Irish pub just across the road with a quiz night - it was fun and the food was gorgeous. The hotel staff were really friendly and the room was clean and liveable. Only downside it didn't have a pool but we knew that when we booked it - would have been nice to chill in a pool after a long day in LA. If you are staying in LA then stay in Santa Monica - it isn't near enough to go out to LA at night but Santa Monica at night was lovely and quiet. I would stay here again

Room Tip: We had a room on top floor which was quieter than the bottom floor as there were a few restaurants n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMT0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

What a great place. Near lots of places to eat and drink. Near beach. Only 30 mins to all major attractions by car. Room was perfect. Staff really friendly and helpful. Perfect place to explore LA, Hollywood and Beverley Hills. Would love to come here again. Stayed here for two nights.

Room Tip: All rooms great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebaybazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

There’s nothing too fancy about this place, but I really liked staying here. It's in a great location and is walking distance to everything you probably want to do in the Santa Monica district. The staff were very friendly, helpful and made us feel welcomed. With a popular restaurant across the road (and others close by), it was a little noisy at late at night….as the air conditioning in the room. Still, for the price, a great place to stay (both the motel and area) when swinging through L.A

Room Tip: The further away from the street the better I would imagine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrMarc034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Great staff, really friendly and helpful, great advice on local meals and sights to see. I liked the room, was spacious and clean. Had a nice "Cali beach" feel. Good onsite cafe, (and the people running it were super friendly too). If staying in LA, I would recommend this place! Close to Venice beach and Santa Monica Pier. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank writetocarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 2,466 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#17 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 963 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Shore Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Shore Motel

Property: Sea Shore Motel
Address: 2637 Main St, Santa Monica, CA 90405-4001
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms feature terra-cotta tile floors, refrigerators, air conditioning, cable TV, granite counter tops and more. We have a sun deck and an on-site restaurant and Laundromat. All our rooms are non-smoking. We offer free parking in our own parking lot. We are located within walking distance to all Santa Monica attractions and within a 1/2 hour drive to all Los Angeles attractions. Plus, we're only TWO SHORT BLOCKS from Santa Monica's famous white sand beach. Along historic and charming Main Street are numerous restaurants, art galleries, museums, dress shops, coffee shops, and more. A 2 night minimum stay is required on weekends and holidays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Shore Hotel Santa Monica
Sea Shore Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing