We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Little Place Once Again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Shore Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Monica
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Shore Motel
Save
You added Sea Shore Motel to your Saves list
2637 Main Street, Santa Monica, CA 90405 (Santa Monica)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great Little Place Once Again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sea Shore Motel 15 years ago when I first brought him to my home of So. Cal for a friend's wedding.

Since he was returning this trip after 15 years we decided to stay here once again for nostalgia and get our bearings after a east coast flight and stay in Seattle.

The staff is great (thank you Tom) and the room had everything we needed.

Great location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audthang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    266
    70
    21
    15
See reviews for
158
231
43
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I am from Philly and this "motel" was referred by a friend who lives in Santa Monica. Not knowing the area at all, I'm so glad I chose this place to stay. I am also a girl who enjoys the finer things in life, but I'm not a snob. I've stayed in a penthouse in Vegas and a Holiday Inn.

1. Location: it is exactly in the middle of Santa Monica Pier/3rd Street Promenade and Venice Beach. I was also given the option to stay at Sea View which is much closer to Pier, but that part is more downtown/congested/loud. Even though it is only 10 min walk away. The Sea Shore is family owned, like many businesses on Main street here. The shops and restaurants are great!! Amelia's was closed for vacation but I'm sure it's great, sorry we missed it. La Vecchia Italian restaraunt was amazing and I'm used to south Philly Italian BYOB's!! The Victorian directly across the street played music for outside dining/ great happy hour and the lot hosted a food truck festival Tuesday night and Sunday was the farmers market with pony rides for the kids. This neighborhood is fantastic and friendly!!! It's also a easy access to highways to Hollywood/LAX/405 to Laguna/San Diego.

2. Room: This is a motel, so I think some people had way to high of expectations. With that said it was clean, the beds were comfy and the maid service was fantastic. I stayed upstairs in room #19 which was just outside the upper deck. No noise issues at all.

3. Service: The staff and Tom were very helpful. Upon check in he gave me a map and circled the hot spots. He will set up any touristy things for you and he also provided beach towels and asked if my daughter and I wanted any sand toys too!! This is like the mom and pop places I grew up with. You can't find these hidden secrets too often!!

4. Parking: Free parking in rear. It was safe and there was always a spot for my rental car and I stayed a full week!!!


  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KristyPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, WI
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our stay at the Sea Shore Motel was great! Our room was clean and comfortable, and the staff was really friendly and accommodating. It was an easy walk to the beach.

My only "complaint" is it's a decent walk to Third Street Promenade and most of the "action" in Santa Monica. It's definitely walkable, but not super convenient.

Overall I'd recommend staying here for a reaonable price and clean, safe, quiet rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sldaane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great location, clean rooms, lovely and helpful staff. The street is a little noisy but didn't bother us. Only 2 blocks from to beach, and close to great restaurants and shops. Reasonably priced. Accessible with public transport and 35 dollars to the airport (LAX) in a cab.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveandCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

It was fine, but we'll probably try somewhere elsewhere next time. The staff is very friendly, but the hotel itself is really nothing to write home about. We stayed in a corner room on the first floor, right by the parking lot. It was a bit noisy and we had little privacy. The rooms are outdated. Next time we will probably cough up a little more cash to stay somewhere right on the beach or closer to Santa Monica Blvd/Wilshire Blvd.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyOnVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Okay, we had a rental car, and the parking is for free. Nice. The room we had was on the lower area, a bit noisy, but nothing we couldn't live with, especially as I sleep with my ipod earplugs.
The location is fantastic, Main Street has great shops and restaurants. It's a short walk to the actual beach...10-15 minutes. There is no pool, but a coffee shop on location. Rooms are a bit dated, and I found a cobweb on the ceiling which kinda pissed me off, but my husband swept it off with his shirt. Can't beat the price for the location! Very friendly staff. I left my prescription glasses there and luckily they were safe in the office and we picked them up a few days later on our way out of town (we were in Long Beach, also a cool area). I reccommend this motel!

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room, I think they would be less noisy than the room we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherylgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

The motel is in a perfect location to either Venice or Santa Monica. The hotel is across from an alleyway of food trucks (at night)!!!! The staff was helpful and friendly and it was in a safe area with loads of restaurants, so it wasn't hard to choose where to eat. The only complaint I had whilst staying there was a few hairs I found in the bed that was neither of my friends nor mine, but overall I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emiley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#17 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 923 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 2,359 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#2 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#4 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#23 of 34 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#3 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Shore Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Shore Motel

Property: Sea Shore Motel
Address: 2637 Main Street, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms feature terra-cotta tile floors, refrigerators, air conditioning, cable TV, granite counter tops and more. We have a sun deck and an on-site restaurant and Laundromat. All our rooms are non-smoking. We offer free parking in our own parking lot. We are located within walking distance to all Santa Monica attractions and within a 1/2 hour drive to all Los Angeles attractions. Plus, we're only TWO SHORT BLOCKS from Santa Monica's famous white sand beach. Along historic and charming Main Street are numerous restaurants, art galleries, museums, dress shops, coffee shops, and more. A 2 night minimum stay is required on weekends and holidays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Shore Hotel Santa Monica
Sea Shore Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing