We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Sea Shore Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Monica
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Shore Motel
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a very well maintained, family run motel in an excellent location. The room we stayed in was a good size, with tiles on the floor and a comfortable kingsized bed. The bathroom was a decent size too. Though the motel is on a busy street, we did not hear noise at night when we closed the windows and put on the airconditioner. The motel is in an easy walk to the beaches. The front desk staff were all very helpful and friendly. Parking is included in the price. My only minor complaint was that the little fridge in the room did not seem to keep our food very cold. Apparently these are new energy efficient fridges that were recently installed. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truh16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    292
    73
    21
    15
See reviews for
184
250
45
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Superb location on Main Street. For a young traveller it's right opposite the Victorian and the Basement, which are great bars. It's also a short cab ride to the Bungalows, which is another great drinking establishment. The room was tidy and the reception staff were friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giventofly84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed here for three nights in June (Friday through Monday), and overall I would stay here again. Despite some earlier reviews, this hotel and location matches the rates accurately. The location is very good. I rode my bike from the hotel to everywhere in the area (you could also walk, but it would be a good half-hour walk to the SM Pier and the same in the opposite direction to Venice Beach). The walk to the beach is only 10 minutes.
I arrived an hour early from check-in time, but he switched my room to the second floor (Room 11) immediately. My room was very nice. Bed was good, newer tiles on floor and bathroom, granite-type counters, A/C was perfect and quiet, and they also had a portable fan in the room, which was great. The room seemed very modern and not needing renovation. Street noise was there, but the street noise did not bother my sleep.
However, one minor problem was when the front desk called my room at 11:30 PM Sat. night and woke me up. They asked if I called them earlier, but I did not. Falling back asleep was a problem because the nearby partying was heard for a while, college kids screaming and yelling, not sure where from? Perhaps it was graduation weekend for many students?
Other than that, the staff was friendly and very helpful. For example, when I arrived back in my car Sunday at midnight after attending a concert, the manager came out and helped me park my car in the small lot. I never tried the cafe (Angelino's?) next door, but it looked great and was always very busy.
Overall, I felt the rate and location was fair for the price of about $180 per night (taxes included). I would recommend having a bike the entire time at this hotel so that you can get to nearby places more quickly than walking.
Finally, be aware that a few of the earlier negative reviews are from people who are high-maintenance travelers that are spoiled and flip out over minor things. They should put up (and pay double for a fancy hotel on the beach), or shut up and enjoy this hotel, which is a great value and location for this pricey and popular area of Southern California.

Room Tip: get a room farther away from the street, book early as this hotel seem to fill up weeks in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Redwood26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Cannot ask for a better location. Right smack dab in the middle of main street. Great coffee shop Amelia's downstairs. Walk to many restaurants stores bars and Venice Beach. Free parking included with room. Absolutely no complaints. Room was quiet enough with windows closed and A/C running. Try to take room on second floor if possible.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xandra620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here in April 2013.I agree with some of the posts about the rooms needing renovations, saggy beds and old sheets etc. and there is a lot of street noise.
I really liked the location with the Sunday market across the street. We walked everywhere and the Sea Shore Motel is right in the middle of a really funky area.
The staff are fantastic, Ken and Tom? They were friendly and gave us great tips on where to eat and what to do during our stay. We aren't high maintenance travellers so this place was just fine for us. I would stay here again. BTW, the coffee shop next door has great coffee for your morning fix.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The location of the motel is great, in the heart of Santa Monica, so you don't need a car.

Thought it was very expensive for the quality of the room. The furnishings were very old, the floor felt and looked really grubby, one of the towels was stained - not nice. It was also quite noisy at night - there's a club over the road and if any other guests are outside you can hear them. Having said that, I wouldn't not recommend it, just be prepared for a budget motel.

We only stayed 2 nights, was great for a base to explore the area and the staff were very nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 843jennyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We chose this motel based on the other reviews here and it did not let us down.

The reception staff are very friendly and welcoming and were very forthcoming with reccomendations, local map and even suggestions for our next few days in Vegas.

We booked a king room, but were given a standard double. As I'm 6ft 5 I simply cannot fit on a double but again the friendly owner was very accommodating and gave us the King after we raised our concerns. Like a previous review mentioned the room type is not guaranteed and generally reserved for people staying several nights.

The king bed was very comfy, making for a welcome nights sleep after a 15 hour plane trip from Brisbane.

Noise wasn't an issue, but I have an idea that our extraordinarily loud a/c unit drowned most of it out.

Lula Mexican Restaurant a few mins walk up the road was an outstanding suggestion for dinner. Happy hour 1-7pm M-F with the most incredible margaritas my wife & I have ever tasted ($5 too!). We're going to try the Omelette bar for brekky this morning.

We would recommend it for the location and price and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattyd007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,850 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#19 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,106 reviews
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
600 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
939 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Shore Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Shore Motel

Property: Sea Shore Motel
Address: 2637 Main St, Santa Monica, CA 90405-4001
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms feature terra-cotta tile floors, refrigerators, air conditioning, cable TV, granite counter tops and more. We have a sun deck and an on-site restaurant and Laundromat. All our rooms are non-smoking. We offer free parking in our own parking lot. We are located within walking distance to all Santa Monica attractions and within a 1/2 hour drive to all Los Angeles attractions. Plus, we're only TWO SHORT BLOCKS from Santa Monica's famous white sand beach. Along historic and charming Main Street are numerous restaurants, art galleries, museums, dress shops, coffee shops, and more. A 2 night minimum stay is required on weekends and holidays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Shore Hotel Santa Monica
Sea Shore Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing