We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Shore Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Monica
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Shore Motel
Save
You added Sea Shore Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Only a block back from the beach, great location. Room was clean & spacious. Reception staff helpful and friendly. Loved our time at Santa Monica, the panini cafe down the road did beautiful breakfasts. Only complaint was the toilet didn't flush too well and got blocked over overflowed one of the days. A plunger in the room would be handy :) enjoyed our stay and will return one day

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraggle87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    266
    70
    21
    15
See reviews for
158
231
43
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Lebanon, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Small family run hotel, fenced in parking with limited access and no daily fee, excellent place to stay, very clean, convenient to restaurants, buses, grocery stores, beach & bike path. Walking distance to Santa Monica pier, Venice beach, and everything in between. Staff was very friendly and helpful with maps, information on attractions, what parts of LA to stay away from, etc. Excellent restaurants just outside of property. Have stayed there 4 years in a row, plan on it again this fall. Has a "friendly neighborhood" feel to it due to its location, which is one of the main reasons we keep going back there to stay. Reasonalby priced. A good place to go to relax and have a good time. Farmer's Market accross the street on Sunday mornings with plenty of locally grown fruits, vegtables, and beautiful flowers as well as local entertainment and small food stands with very good food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmholderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Great price, awesome staff and the rooms were massive and clean with a great bed. Good coffee shop at the front. Will definitely be our go to place in LA. Stayed here for 2 nights and was impressed by the great location 5 mins to beach and 10 minutes to 3rd st promenade.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Sea Shore Motel in April 2013 and thought it was an excellent motel and a must if on a budget or not.

Staff:

As far as I understand this motel has been family run for several decades. The staff are very friendly, accommodating, and entertaining and made our stay a pleasure.

Location:

The hotel is just a hop, skip, and a jump to muscle beach, an 8 minute taxi ride to the CBT, and walking distance to a number of excellent restaurants and bars.

Facilities:

The hotel itself has a very cool look to it with large rooms that are well maintained and comfy beds. The place is quite an age however has been well looked after and has loads of character. It can be a little noisy at times due to being quite close to the main road however not so much as to annoy us in any great way. We actually moved to another hotel closer to the waterfront while in Santa Monica which was more expensive and in no way a match for the Sea Shore Motel.

General:

We found the Sea Shore Motel to be a great little gem of a find and were really pleased we stayed there and would definitely return and recommend it to anyone looking to visit the Santa Monica area.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrendonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed for two nights, first trip to USA from New Zealand. Warm welcome and informative local info. Room was great, at back of complex, so quiet. Very good location lots of erstaurants nearby. Short bus ride or 10 min walk to Pier and 3rd Street shopping plaza. Great room rate. Safe location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marmaduke04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Sea Shore motel for 2 nights and will definitely recommend and return. It is in Main St, Santa Monica, near lots of great cafes and restaurants. The rooms are big too! We had our own luggage area and lots of space. The furniture is a bit dated, but all works perfectly fine. A nice walk to Venice beach too. Staff were very friendly and willing to assist in any way - care/bicycle hire and maps.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TKiriP_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed staying in this part of Santa Monica. Beach two blocks away. Neighborhood of unique shops and restaurants. A beautiful one mile walk one way to the pier and the other way to Venice Beach. Tuesday night food truck event across the street. If you stay here, request the second floor. The people above us sounded like Frankenstein tramping round moving furniture! The rooms are fairly small so we couldn't figure out what was going on. When the office called that room, they got no answer. Even though the neighborhood was quiet during the day, at night we could hear loud voices from the street. Otherwise, the rooms were fine and the office staff friendly. Great coffee shop next door.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kinwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#17 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 924 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 2,360 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#2 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#4 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#23 of 34 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#3 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Shore Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Shore Motel

Property: Sea Shore Motel
Address: 2637 Main Street, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms feature terra-cotta tile floors, refrigerators, air conditioning, cable TV, granite counter tops and more. We have a sun deck and an on-site restaurant and Laundromat. All our rooms are non-smoking. We offer free parking in our own parking lot. We are located within walking distance to all Santa Monica attractions and within a 1/2 hour drive to all Los Angeles attractions. Plus, we're only TWO SHORT BLOCKS from Santa Monica's famous white sand beach. Along historic and charming Main Street are numerous restaurants, art galleries, museums, dress shops, coffee shops, and more. A 2 night minimum stay is required on weekends and holidays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Shore Hotel Santa Monica
Sea Shore Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing