We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good Location and nice room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Shore Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Monica
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Shore Motel
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Location and nice room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was our second two night stop on our trip up Highway 1 from San Diego to San Francisco, The motel was located about half way between Venice Beach and Santa Monica Pier. The motel room was a real nice size, very clean, and had a frig. No free breakfast, but there is a nice little café, Amelia's, attached to the motel. We walked the first night down to Venice Beach and took in the sights. This hotel was also easy drive for us to go to Hollywood, etc. We also walked to the Pier. Staff here was very friendly and parking was free. Nice play to stay for the price.,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane_Jorj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    281
    72
    21
    15
See reviews for
174
240
43
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed in a Junior suite for two nights in January. There was a coffee pot (no coffee), bar fridge, table and ..3 chairs(?). We had four people so another chair would have been handy. There was a couch and t.v. and a seperate bedroom with two comfortable beds. It was very clean. The location was awesome. Within (extremely safe) walking distance of the 3rd street mall, the beach, the pier, Marina Del Rey, and Venice beach. The staff was courteous. We got home and received a message that we were being charged $20 for a broken coffee pot. That was unfortunate. The only thing that might be a problem for some people is that the restaurant / bar across the street woke us up every night at closing with an UNBELIEVABLE noise..laughing, women SCREAMING, etc. It didn't really bother us but I thought i'd mention it since it happened both nights of our stay. Free parking. No pool. No fitness centre. No breakfast. No coffee.

Room Tip: If you're in a street room, and staying on a weekend, you're going to get woken up by the no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fishfarmfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

The room has a slightly mouldy smell. Once I burnt incense, it was no problem.

The rooms were spacious with a Tv.

I checked out 8 other hotels and this was the best one by a long shot!

The owner was really nice. He gives you a map on arrival and goes through all the attractions.

Very cute

Bathroom could be cleaner but the best bathroom I had seen in the area.

For Fort Cochin, it's a great hotel at a very reasonable price that can not be beaten!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laceheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
Level Contributor
138 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I just can't say enough good things about this hotel. Breakfast places close. On-site parking. Large laid back rooms and nice and knowledgeable staff in the heart of a great area & very close to the beach. Not too close & not to far from the pier either.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the second floor as close to the parking lot as possible. I hear the first floor is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyBeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Location location location! Says it all for this little motel. Just a small motel, family run - so nice and friendly and helpful and the price is right. Can't say enough good things - nice clean place to lay your head at night - nothing fancy but when you're staying in Santa Monica who needs fancy - too many things to see and do!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Pros:
Great location. Easy walking distance to Venice Beach and the Santa Monica Boardwalk.
Friendly service. At check in the gentleman at the front desk spoke to us excitedly about the area. One could tell he genuinely loved the area and wanted to share it with his guests. The great service continued throughout the stay whenever I had a question.
Free parking. This fact should not be overlooked in any metropolitan area.
Far cheaper than almost any other option. The price/quality ratio was fantastic.
Awesome Sunday farmers market across the street. Don't go out for breakfast on a Sunday. Eat at the market.

Cons:
Loud. Lots of bars in the area and as a result, lots of drunk yelling folks at night.
Cheap bathroom soap. Might consider bringing your own.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed here for three nights and it was amazing. Location was perfect (especially for SM's Sunday farmers market). One of the few reasonable places to stay in Santa Monica where you don't need a car (how often can you say that about anywhere in LA). The folks at the front desk were friendly, the room was good size and the bathroom was spotless. I had the good fortune of being right next to the roof deck where i was able drink my beer and relax in the sun. Overall I had a blissful three days there and look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KDevoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,546 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#17 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#24 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Shore Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Shore Motel

Property: Sea Shore Motel
Address: 2637 Main Street, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms feature terra-cotta tile floors, refrigerators, air conditioning, cable TV, granite counter tops and more. We have a sun deck and an on-site restaurant and Laundromat. All our rooms are non-smoking. We offer free parking in our own parking lot. We are located within walking distance to all Santa Monica attractions and within a 1/2 hour drive to all Los Angeles attractions. Plus, we're only TWO SHORT BLOCKS from Santa Monica's famous white sand beach. Along historic and charming Main Street are numerous restaurants, art galleries, museums, dress shops, coffee shops, and more. A 2 night minimum stay is required on weekends and holidays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Shore Hotel Santa Monica
Sea Shore Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing