We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Area and great staff”
Review of Sea Shore Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Monica
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Shore Motel
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Area and great staff”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here for 9 nights. It is centrally located and is basic but clean and in a great spot for the restaurants on Main Street. The staff are all lovely and extremely helpful. Would greatly recommend if you want to stay in Santa Monica near to the beach and good restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    290
    73
    21
    15
See reviews for
181
249
45
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Sea Shore Motel was perfect for our girls' getaway in Santa Monica. The location is perfect. The rooms are updated and quiet. We had a suite with a kitchenette and managed to sleep 7 very comfortably. The front desk was very accomodating. We loved our balcony & the fact that we were within walking distance of everything!

I would DEFINITELY 150% recommend this place and would DEFINITELY stay here again!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnmhoehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lunenburg, massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in November. I will start by saying you get what you pay for (or quite a bit less as it's Santa Monica) and I did not want to pay $300 a night for a hotel. So overall, I am glad we stayed here for under $180 a night.

The day of checkin, I received an email stating they were overbooked and asked if I wanted to upgrade to a 1 bedroom suite for an extra $3 a night, to which I replied yes as long as there were two beds (my daughter and I in one, husband and son in other) and they said yes. Well, got in the room and there was 1 bed, daubed and pullout couch. In the past, pullout couches have not been as good as a real bed, but one of the kids had to sleep there. In their defense, I did not specify no pullout and I did not ask to switch once I realized this - as they were overbooked there did not seem much point in trying. I was also confused on why I would switch rooms because of THEIR mistake in overbooking but I had to pay extra for it.

Our bed was not very comfortable but there were 2 flat TVs and a small kitchen that we did not use. Eight inch hole in the ceiling above the cooktop where a vent/fan should have been. It was clean and comfortable overall.

The fella at the front desk for checkin and checkout was very nice, helpful and knowledgable about the area. I am not sure on the hours, but there was no one available until 8am...not a big deal but we didn't realize it ahead of time and went looking for extra towels at 7am :)

It was very centrally located in a nice part of main street but a good 15-20 minute walk to the pier or promenade (outside mall). But lots of good stores and restaurants within 5 min walk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I always try to think in terms of cost x benefit. Santa Monica is an expensive spot, so after my hard search (using this site), I decided to choose this motel, and I have to say that it was a great option! Next to it you find: the Amelia’s (excellent breakfast), beach and many stores and cafés/restaurants. You save some money that you can spend doing something else.

The room was clean, spacious, air conditioner, tv, fan, refrigerator, and some more items.

Nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor may be quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Igor_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This old-fashioned motel is a surprise, right in the middle of Santa Monica. It is in the midst of funky and charming little restaurants and shops and just a couple of blocks from the beach. Walking around the neighborhood, you feel like you are a part of it, rather than a tourist. Not fancy but serviceable rooms, and a convenient laundromat right next door. Very helpful management, and it is an exceptionally good deal for this pricey area.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JBS64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel is from antoher era and the rooms are OK. This is not new high count threaded sheets nor are the beds newer either. It is doable for the price which was under $200 for the area. "A Good deal" I was only there one night and it was fine for that purpose. I would be hard pressed to stay a week at this hotel. If I was coming from out of the country, you would be most likely OK with this budget hotel. Clean and on the waterfront super convenient to the LA airport and Santa Monica. Go for it, the price is right.

Room Tip: This hotel is not about being in the room, it is about the location. The room is fine for doing ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valla, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this quaint,extremely well situated motel in the heart of Main St Santa Monica.Very clean, staff willing to go that little bit extra to help you, the only downfall might be the
noise on certain nights(make sure trojans or bruins arent playing). Sunday mornings a great farmers market right across the road, an abundance of great bars,restaurants and shopping at your doorstep I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to my heavysleeping friends, and to the lightsleepers bring earplugs All sorted.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JarvsnJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,818 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#20 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,095 reviews
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
588 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
921 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Shore Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Shore Motel

Property: Sea Shore Motel
Address: 2637 Main St, Santa Monica, CA 90405-4001
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms feature terra-cotta tile floors, refrigerators, air conditioning, cable TV, granite counter tops and more. We have a sun deck and an on-site restaurant and Laundromat. All our rooms are non-smoking. We offer free parking in our own parking lot. We are located within walking distance to all Santa Monica attractions and within a 1/2 hour drive to all Los Angeles attractions. Plus, we're only TWO SHORT BLOCKS from Santa Monica's famous white sand beach. Along historic and charming Main Street are numerous restaurants, art galleries, museums, dress shops, coffee shops, and more. A 2 night minimum stay is required on weekends and holidays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Shore Hotel Santa Monica
Sea Shore Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing