We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Sea Shore Motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Shore Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Monica
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Shore Motel
Save
You added Sea Shore Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sea Shore Motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We have just got home after a great 2 weeks at the Sea Shore, what a lovely surprise, the room was so big, and spotless clean, the photo's you sea are not doing this place any favors its so much lighter and brighter than it looks, but as others have said its the staff that make this place so special, nothing is too much trouble from giving directions to booking trips too local info etc etc.
If I traveled to Santa Monica would I stay again, yes without a shadow of doubt.
Santa Monica is a lovely place and Main St is such a good location, the little shops are great as too are the foot and nail spa's if you haven't tried give them a go its great.
The famous Santa Monica pear was wonderful, the staff at the motel told us its 130 yrs old this year, its a credit to the City.
We had a wonderful holiday once we got used to the roads lol, try SEA SHORE MOTEL, YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT, by the way, we stayed in room B, a ground floor room near the front step, we we not troubled with traffic at all, we heard a police car once in the distance, yes we did here a bit of noise from upstairs, but this was down to inconsiderate guests leaving teens to play football in the room of an evening whilst they went out, it can happen anywhere, the beauty of this kind of holiday is people don't usually stay 2wks in one place as we did, so after a few days the noise moved on along with the people.
Thank You everyone. A special thank you to the lovely room made, she works really hard to keep the place so nice.
Catherine and Ernie, England.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayluva123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    277
    71
    21
    15
See reviews for
170
236
43
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

This was our second stay in Santa Monica and our second at the Seashore. We love it here. The location is perfect, the rooms big and clean and the staff lovely and friendly.
Free parking and Wifi a bonus.
The seashore is perfect for what we want in Santa Monica- a clean pleasant base to explore Santa Monica from....
We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissRebeccaThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed at the Sea Shore Motel, which is a family run business, on the first leg of our journey up the West Coast. We found all the poeple we dealt with, either family or employees, to be extremely helpful. The motel is ideally situated. Close to good restaurants, bars and the beach. It has good free parking. The rooms are basic but clean, with all necessary amentities. As with a couple of the hotels we stayed in, there are no coffee making facilities in the rooms but on the grounds of the Sea Shore is a fabulous cafe, which serves very reasonable (and lovely) coffee and snacks. The motel was a really good find.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aetch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

A great 2 night stay in the Sea Shore Motel. The room was clean, and well maintained. Good tv, fridge, breakfast table. The beds were comfortable and clean. The Motel is on the Santa Monica Main Street, so lots of restaurants and bohemian shops. The pier was a 25 minute walk along the beach. The beach was 5 mins away. We chose the Motel because of the free parking, which there was plenty of, and it's distance from LAX, which was only 25 mins first thing in the morning. he staff were really friendly and Tom could not be any more helpful. A good stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ThinTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I stayed here on a business trip, choosing it over fancier hotels because of its amazing location. I prefer walking over driving especially in areas like Santa Monica and Venice that are great to explore on foot, and it is ideally located - Main Street is great for a stroll, cute boutiques and food, and you can easily walk to 3rd Street Promenade, the beach or Venice.

The rooms are simple but nice enough, staff was friendly, and to me, the place has a pleasantly Californian vibe.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dighton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. 2 adults, 2 teenagers. Small room, but clean and fairly quiet considering right on Main St. Right in the middle of the cool shops and 2 blocks to beach. Loved our time here and glad we picked this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Checked this place out on Tripadvisor before booking and wasn't disappointed.

Rooms are simple and fine, but the real attraction is the location on Main Street, with local cafes, restaurants and boutiques that are not the usual mall stuff.

5 mins walk from the lovely beach and 15 mins to the more downmarket Venice and 20 mins+ to the more commercial (and less attractive in my view) town centre in the other direction

Staff were helpful, free onsite parking and wifi, plus a coffee shop and a very useful laundry next door. Road was a bit noisy, but we had the window open.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westenddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 2,466 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#17 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 963 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Shore Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Shore Motel

Property: Sea Shore Motel
Address: 2637 Main St, Santa Monica, CA 90405-4001
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms feature terra-cotta tile floors, refrigerators, air conditioning, cable TV, granite counter tops and more. We have a sun deck and an on-site restaurant and Laundromat. All our rooms are non-smoking. We offer free parking in our own parking lot. We are located within walking distance to all Santa Monica attractions and within a 1/2 hour drive to all Los Angeles attractions. Plus, we're only TWO SHORT BLOCKS from Santa Monica's famous white sand beach. Along historic and charming Main Street are numerous restaurants, art galleries, museums, dress shops, coffee shops, and more. A 2 night minimum stay is required on weekends and holidays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Shore Hotel Santa Monica
Sea Shore Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing