We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away”
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Park Inn
Ranked #34 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Room (2) - The room was very small and terribly unclean. I don't recommend this motel. / Services (4) - Only a fridge. / Location (2) - Very far from everything: if you want to stay close to the downtown and/or the sea, choose another hotel. [1-6 scale]

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripevangelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

We are just seven blocks from the ocean and our prices are fraction of the prices that the hotels offer on ocean Ave. It takes 10 to 15 minutes walk to the ocean and 25 walk to down town Santa Monica. If that is too far then we suggest to book a room with the hotels on ocean Ave.
thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 253 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very helpful and friendly staff, easy access to Hollywood blvd, beach and LAX airport.
Had two twin rooms between six and was plenty of space, both rooms were clean and done to a decent standard with decent shower pressure.
Even though its on a major road are rooms were at the back so no problem with noise even with the windows open at night.
Had no problems with parking even with seven seater Ford

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

What a wonderful feeling for our staffs to have a satisfied guest. We did replace windows to triple glass to reduce the noise and that is working now but we still know that we are on a main road and we will get sensitive guests. Our parking is sufficient if we do not get a lot of SUVs in one night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Nice rooms, clean and well equiped. No a/c but big ventilator. It's close to the beach you can easely walk. To the Pier you better go by car. Parking is a little tight. Specially if other guest park to close to your car so you cannot get in. Nice patio too. One tip to management.... buy some new matrasses. They squeek... very much.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kennedysgoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Yes you are right and our parking is little tight built in 1956 but at least we do not charge for parking while other hotels do. We are getting new mattresses in very near future. Our Mattresses are under two years but our new mattresses are coming and thank you for your tip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Firstly I just want to say that out of many reviews this is the first review that I have given 1 star....

we paid for 2 nights on arrival but left after the first night due to the worst nights 'sleep' I have ever experienced (and trust me I have stayed in some terrible places)

The bed was small and EXTREMELY UNCOMFORTABLE. The mattress felt like it was at least 10-15 years beyond its life, its was lumpy and made the most awful noise, even if you moved ever so slightly. I am a really heavy sleeper but each time my partner moved it woke me and vice versa. I ended up sleeping on the floor to somewhat combat it

There was NO AIR CONDITIONING and it was so warm inside the room that sleeping was almost impossible

The first thing I did when I got into the room was look to turn the overhead fan on and noticed COBWEBS all over the light fitting, it was evident that these had been there for a long time. I removed these with some tissue and hoped that this would be the end of it... Nope... I was stood in the room and casually put my arm on the window ledge and it was just full of dirt. This place was as if it hadn't been cleaned properly in months

The location is pretty poor too unless you plan on driving everywhere and paying the parking fees

Stay here only if you don't plan on sleeping and only need a place to store your bags ... It hurts to know I gave this place my hard earned money

Room Tip: A refrigerated room without a mattress would be a good start - go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CptChunderpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

You can always check our room first and then decide if it is ok with you to stay. Our rooms are extremely clean and this is a must for us. We do not have A/C, we are very close to ocean and we get ocean breeze every morning and evening. This dear guest chose a very small room with full size bed not a queen because it was cheaper but we do have larger room. Every room has a ceiling fan and if it is needed you can ask for an extra electric fan. If you require A/C then the hotels on Ocean Ave. are the better choice with starting rate of $350.00 per night at this time of the year. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

No ocean view, but who spends their time in the room anyway?

Great service, got some good advice on sight seeing of the Hollywood sign and beverley hills without wasting money on an expensive bus tour.

Traffic on Lincoln blvd was a bit noisy, dont recommend if youre a light sleeper

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kwestie5953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Lincoln Blvd. is busy during the day time and we do have triple-glass windows now which will help a light sleepers a lot. Please check with morning shift and get all kind of good tips from sight seeing, rental car, rental bikes, restaurants, coin laundry. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

There are a few down-sides but overall, you can't do better for the low price! I'm a neat freak and the place is immaculate and very well-cared for. The managers are SO nice and helpful! There are lots of security cameras and they keep an eye on your room when you leave since you need to leave the windows open in the heat of the summer. No AC - the beach breeze only flows through the bathroom on the back side. We appreciated the free Wi-Fi, free parking, fridge in room and coffee. Save your money for fun at Venice Beach, Malibu and Santa Monica instead of a much more expensive room.

Room Tip: Room 24 is top back and a good choice to avoid some of the busy street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildanimalpark27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your review. We try very hard to keep our hotel very clean and we do care about any complaints coming from our guest. But over all we have a very good record and a lot of repeaters .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We arrived at the hotel drivin in all the way from Las Vegas and bonus as they had a Free car park that always had room when you went out for the day.
The downside we had room 28 which was small and the bed was tiny. The mattress was so squeaky and extremely uncomfortable we think it had its day a few years back!!! But apart from that reasonable value for money and if you have a car the location is good

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Yes you are right room 28 is a small room but every thing in that room is brand new from furniture to entire bathroom and an elegant wood floor. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#24 of 36 in Santa Monica
621 reviews
Santa Monica
Days Inn Santa Monica/los Angeles
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#29 of 36 in Santa Monica
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ocean Lodge Hotel
#31 of 36 in Santa Monica
169 reviews
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
547 reviews
Santa Monica
Palm Motel
Palm Motel
#35 of 36 in Santa Monica
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Inn

Address: 2452 Lincoln Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $125 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Park Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxed beach attitude and total comfort in Ocean Park Inn. We are located in the beautiful city of Santa Monica, only 7 short blocks away from the beach and minutes from Santa Monica Pier, 3rd St Promenade, Santa Monica Civic Center, Venice Beach, Malibu Beach, Fishermans Wharf, Getty Museum, UCLA, Beverly Hills, Los Angeles International Airport, Marina del Rey, Hollywood, Universal Studio, Magic Mountain, Disneyland and Knotts Berry Farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel Santa Monica
Park Inn Santa Monica
Park Inn Ocean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing