We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Clean Beach and Fun Pier”
Review of Santa Monica Beach

Santa Monica Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$150.00*
and up
Venice Beach Private Surf Lesson
More Info
$71.98*
and up
Grand Tour of Hollywood, Los Angeles and Beaches from Anaheim
More Info
$148.99*
and up
Santa Monica and Venice Beach Segway Tour
Ranked #2 of 104 things to do in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This popular beach is a favorite among television and movie producers.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful Clean Beach and Fun Pier”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Great to run the beach between Santa Monica and Venice. Don't miss the PIER with
many restaurants, food concessions and stores. Lots of fun and great people watcher location. Wonderful California Sunsets.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mermaid322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,811
    1,949
    572
    74
    35
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice sand”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I visited the beach in October. The people on the beach were not swimming. The sand is nice and fine.

Next to the beach is the pier. The pier is touristy, but fun.

The 26-mile bike path runs along the beach. I did not use the path, but I have plans for the path if I return!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“California Dreaming”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Although this is not my favorite beach (being a local, I think Hermosa Beach is much better), I must say that the sunset here was quite impressive. Despite the hordes of tourists around me, I suddenly forgot about them. This is definitely a good place to watch the sunset. So for that, I give it a two thumbs up.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank J Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Cool Place”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Was my first by the pacific ocean and I like it , I was not crazy about the water and was a little bit too cold for me but I love walking by the beach, seeing people running , walking and riding bike, I was there in November and the weather was beautiful , they have public restrooms, food, and places to rent bikes, is really a beautiful and fun place that you must see.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Verito23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Love the beach”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great beach, very clean. good views
A great place to relax while in l.a
I could see in summer that this place would be thriving

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaptainTex80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Monica Beach also viewed

 

Been to Santa Monica Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing