We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent, Santa Monica...”
Review of Santa Monica Beach

Santa Monica Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Venice Beach Private Surf Lesson
Ranked #2 of 104 things to do in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This popular beach is a favorite among television and movie producers.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent, Santa Monica...”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Loving place, Santa Monica... I ever was there many times in 1988 and in 2003... It's suitable for the whole family walking around so cozily...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lhenrychow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,670
    1,809
    530
    63
    34
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cleanest Beach i've ever seen”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This beach is honestly the cleanest beach i've ever been to.
We went in October, so there were barely any people. Parking is provided pretty much everywhere. Great place to relax and tan. The water of course wasnt that warm considering the time of year, but great to cool off a lil. We even got to see Dolphins pretty close to the beach.
What spoiled it a little was stepping on a small stingray...at least i didnt get stung. haha

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Norm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great beach”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a very clean and well maintained beach. It was not crowded and the sand is that super soft stuff with almost no shells or rocks. You can just relax, listen to surf and people watch if you don't want to brave water. And strolling along the path is great, with lots of people jogging, biking and doing all kinds of outdoor activity. I suggest paying attention to the wind forecast. In mid November, the temp was warm, but the wind was up so it felt cold. A light jacket might be a good idea. When the wind isn't up, it can get warm.

Helpful?
Thank Heath H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beach”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Walked along a couple of times in the evening. Once to access the pier.Quite a bit of activity going on. Looked clean enough.Didn't really see it in the daytime. We needed more time there.Even in the night felt safe enough.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“So clean and white”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This strip of beach is so clean and amazingly white I was gob smacked at how wide the sand is until you get to the water we just don't have that in Perth. The bike path is great definitely hire a bike take your time. It was very hot while we were there but we had lunch near by and we could look out over the beach for a bit longer great veiw you have to go there for sure. We didn't want to leave.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pinkygirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Monica Beach also viewed

 

Been to Santa Monica Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing