We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed December 10, 2010

I stayed in the RNR suite, or the "Rock N' Roll" room on the penthouse floor. To start, overnight parking is $33, and my room wasn't ready at check-in time, I had to wait an hour in the bar. The photos on the website were really misleading-- the room is quite small and oddly shaped (like a C), especially for the price. It's right next to the elevator and across the hall from the bar so it's really noisy. I was trying to sleep at 1:30 AM WITH earplugs in and I could still hear the music thumping from across the hall. Maybe they expect that people who stay here will be big party animals and will shut the bar down? Also their big screen tv is in the hallway that leads to the door with some (very cool) red furniture. Really odd and uncomfortable place to watch tv (plus of course it's noisy). The handles for the sink taps are loose, the mini bar food was stale, and when I woke up in the morning there was a coffee maker but no coffee or creamer or sugar anywhere to be found. And the view of the sparkling ocean that I was looking forward to waking up to? It was completely foggy and overcast (not that this is the hotel's fault of course, but it was a perfect ending to a very disappointing stay). I have to admit though, the 6 person shower was pretty cool.

If you can afford to burn money on a room that's not worth what it costs, and if you're going to stay up all night snorting cocaine off their mirrors around the bed, then this place is perfect for you. But if you want to get any sleep before 2 AM, do NOT rent the RNR suite.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan M, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we have been permanently improving since your last visit and would be glad to welcome you again in Santa Monica. As you can see with the latest feedback from other Tripadvisor Members, you will not be disappointed by our outstanding Guest services and all the amenities of our Shangri-La property, do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do for you.

We hope to welcome you very soon.

Sincerely,

Stephan M
Director of Operation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

976 - 982 of 1,220 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2010

The Shangri-La is in a perfect location and the staff was wonderful. The woman at the reception desk and Grazi in particular were very friendly and helpful. The bed could have been better, but overall, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayjay-96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan M, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we have been permanently improving since your last visit and would be glad to welcome you again in Santa Monica. As you can see with the latest feedback from other Tripadvisor Members, you will not be disappointed by our outstanding Guest services and all the amenities of our Shangri-La property, do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do for you.

We hope to welcome you very soon.

Sincerely,

Stephan M
Director of Operation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

This hotel does have a great location, and is well-maintained, but I was not impressed with the pool, and room we were given. The pool is quite small, and open to the public, so it was difficult to get a chair, and the service was really poor. Part of the reason we stayed was for the pool, so next time, I will stay somewhere with a better price, and just go use their pool.

Overall, I do not feel this hotel was a great value, or of the quality I would expect from a Shangri-La.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelcanuck29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan M, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we have been permanently improving since your last visit and would be glad to welcome you again in Santa Monica. As you can see with the latest feedback from other Tripadvisor Members, you will not be disappointed by our outstanding Guest services and all the amenities of our Shangri-La property, do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do for you.

We hope to welcome you very soon.

Sincerely,

Stephan M
Director of Operation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

The hotel is great, a very 'Art Deco' hotel. We loved everything about the hotel room, the furniture, location, view fromt he room & space. Its a little pricy but if you shop around you can get a good deal. I booked a Deluxe ocean view room, from reading some reviews this was the room to go for. It had a lovely great big bath/ shower in it as well.
The hotel is a block away fromt he shopping strip & great restaurants. We only stayed a night but the hotel allowed us to keep our luggage there all day after we checked out. There is only one internet terminal which you have to pay for so be warned. Not a business hotel unless you bring your own laptop.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agomesshangrila, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2010

Maria,

I'm very glad that you enjoyed your room and stay at the Shangri-La Hotel. It makes us very happy to know that we met and exceeded our guest's expectations. I just wanted to clarify with regards to the terminal in the lobby. That terminal is actually free for the first 15 minutes of use which is for the most part more than enough for a quick check of e-mails or to get directions to a local attraction. If the computer is needed for longer than that, yes there is a nominal charge. On top of that the wireless internet is free in the guest rooms which is a great benefit to business travelers who do bring their own laptop. Again we are glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you visit us again.

Regards,

Anthony Gomes
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

We stayed two nights in Sangri-La Hotel, the location is exceptional.
The staff is also polite and kind.
The room was okay, comfortable with dimmer lights, and a great bed, the windows are sealed with sound proof glasses.
Although, the bathroom is big and with a tube, it's a little messy, the water spills over the floor and there is no way not to get it completely wet.
The restaurant hotel is not good, we had breakfast one morning and it was really lousy.
The crew of the Hotel makes everything possible to make it a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOMAS-SP-BRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan M, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we have been permanently improving since your last visit and would be glad to welcome you again in Santa Monica. As you can see with the latest feedback from other Tripadvisor Members, you will not be disappointed by our outstanding Guest services and all the amenities of our Shangri-La property, do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do for you.

We hope to welcome you very soon.

Sincerely,

Stephan M
Director of Operation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Enjoyed staying here while visiting nearby family member. Well located for visits to beach and walking promenade. Imagine being in LA and not needing your car! Double paned windows keep rooms quiet, we had a gorgeous view of the ocean. Valet parking fee a bit high but may be par for the area. Extra fee for WiFi annoying but all in all a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agomesshangrila, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2010

We at the Shangri-La Hotel are delighted that you enjoyed your staywith us, and we are glad that we were able to provide a comfortable place to rest your head. However I'm confused about the comment with regards to Wi-Fi charge, because we don't currently charge for Wi-Fi. If you feel you were charged for something erroneously, please give us a call so we can investigate.

Sincerely,

Anthony Gomes
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Built in 1939, Hotel Shangri-La in santa Monica has a distinctive Art Deco design and wonderful location and view. We felt the air from the 1940 Hollywood stars who swayed thir night gowns, thanks to the gorgeous renovation, just to the style.
Breakfasts were as elegant as Charlie, who not only served our breakfast, but also gave directions to the crater lake in Oregon.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan M, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we have been permanently improving since your last visit and would be glad to welcome you again in Santa Monica. As you can see with the latest feedback from other Tripadvisor Members, you will not be disappointed by our outstanding Guest services and all the amenities of our Shangri-La property, do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do for you.

We hope to welcome you very soon.

Sincerely,

Stephan M
Director of Operation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,998 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,713 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,632 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
644 reviews
Santa Monica
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica

Address: 1301 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $351 - $610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific since 1939, Hotel Shangri-La is a dramatic beacon of Art Deco beauty, Hollywood allure, and Los Angeles history. Perched on a high bluff, mere steps from the beach, this timeless Santa Monica boutique hotel has undergone a meticulous $30 million redesign -- promising you an idyllic haven of rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri La Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing