We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymooners in Ca”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Sao Paulo, Sp
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Honeymooners in Ca”
Reviewed October 31, 2010

We stayed two nights in Sangri-La Hotel, the location is exceptional.
The staff is also polite and kind.
The room was okay, comfortable with dimmer lights, and a great bed, the windows are sealed with sound proof glasses.
Although, the bathroom is big and with a tube, it's a little messy, the water spills over the floor and there is no way not to get it completely wet.
The restaurant hotel is not good, we had breakfast one morning and it was really lousy.
The crew of the Hotel makes everything possible to make it a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOMAS-SP-BRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan M, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, July 25, 2016
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we have been permanently improving since your last visit and would be glad to welcome you again in Santa Monica. As you can see with the latest feedback from other Tripadvisor Members, you will not be disappointed by our outstanding Guest services and all the amenities of our Shangri-La property, do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do for you.

We hope to welcome you very soon.

Sincerely,

Stephan M
Director of Operation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    347
    148
    87
    70
See reviews for
231
541
47
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Enjoyed staying here while visiting nearby family member. Well located for visits to beach and walking promenade. Imagine being in LA and not needing your car! Double paned windows keep rooms quiet, we had a gorgeous view of the ocean. Valet parking fee a bit high but may be par for the area. Extra fee for WiFi annoying but all in all a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agomesshangrila, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
We at the Shangri-La Hotel are delighted that you enjoyed your staywith us, and we are glad that we were able to provide a comfortable place to rest your head. However I'm confused about the comment with regards to Wi-Fi charge, because we don't currently charge for Wi-Fi. If you feel you were charged for something erroneously, please give us a call so we can investigate.

Sincerely,

Anthony Gomes
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Built in 1939, Hotel Shangri-La in santa Monica has a distinctive Art Deco design and wonderful location and view. We felt the air from the 1940 Hollywood stars who swayed thir night gowns, thanks to the gorgeous renovation, just to the style.
Breakfasts were as elegant as Charlie, who not only served our breakfast, but also gave directions to the crater lake in Oregon.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan M, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, July 25, 2016
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we have been permanently improving since your last visit and would be glad to welcome you again in Santa Monica. As you can see with the latest feedback from other Tripadvisor Members, you will not be disappointed by our outstanding Guest services and all the amenities of our Shangri-La property, do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do for you.

We hope to welcome you very soon.

Sincerely,

Stephan M
Director of Operation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

When I stayed at the Shangri La, there was a charity event on so the hotel was quite noisy. But I loved the hotel room and the staff were so pleasant. The room was nicely decorated and had a great view of Santa Monica Beach. The bed was like heaven, soooo comfortable - probably the best bed i've ever slept in at a hotel! All toiletries were provided in the room including toothbrushes, contraception, socks, sanitary towels, asprin etc. There is a nice pool within the hotel complex and great facilities. The bar and restaurant are quite pricey but there's a chance you may spot a star or two.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aoneill87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan M, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, July 25, 2016
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we have been permanently improving since your last visit and would be glad to welcome you again in Santa Monica. As you can see with the latest feedback from other Tripadvisor Members, you will not be disappointed by our outstanding Guest services and all the amenities of our Shangri-La property, do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do for you.

We hope to welcome you very soon.

Sincerely,

Stephan M
Director of Operation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2010

The Hotel Shangri-La was perfect! We came with a group of 11 for a bachelorette and after reading some mixed reviews we were a touch nervous about staying here. Thankfully those reviews were completely in contrast to our experience. The staff was friendly and welcoming, the rooms were beautiful, and the food was fabulous. In fact we've decided to make it a yearly tradition. Zach organized our stay, he was absolutely perfect -- fielding a barrage of emails prior to our stay. The hotel restaurant designed a pool side dinner on Saturday night, which couldn't have been cuter or more delicious. And we had many a The worst part of our experience was having to leave.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hottotrot14232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan M, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, July 25, 2016
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we have been permanently improving since your last visit and would be glad to welcome you again in Santa Monica. As you can see with the latest feedback from other Tripadvisor Members, you will not be disappointed by our outstanding Guest services and all the amenities of our Shangri-La property, do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do for you.

We hope to welcome you very soon.

Sincerely,

Stephan M
Director of Operation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odiham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

I must admit, I was extremely concerned with some of the reviews posted and did think about cancelling and reviewed a number of other hotels.

However, I am so glad I didn't, this really is a little Gem. The staff were friendly and very helpful, the poolside bar is great and the views from the roof top bar are amazing.

We mentioned the pool parties to a member of staff (we stayed on the ground floor adjacent to the pool) we were told a new General Manager has taken over and some things have been changed. We did not experience any noise from the pool, maybe because there wasn't a party when we stayed but there were plenty of people around the pool.

Unfortunately, we did not have any tea or coffee making facilities, which would have been nice.

Our room was not the largest we have stayed in in America but it was adequate for our stay. The bath however, was huge and very deep this made it a bit of a step to get into.

We didn't eat at the Restaurant but while we were there it was busy and the food looked great.

We have been lucky to stay at many hotels around the world and this is one I would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan M, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, July 25, 2016
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we have been permanently improving since your last visit and would be glad to welcome you again in Santa Monica. As you can see with the latest feedback from other Tripadvisor Members, you will not be disappointed by our outstanding Guest services and all the amenities of our Shangri-La property, do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do for you.

We hope to welcome you very soon.

Sincerely,

Stephan M
Director of Operation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2010

I organized a bachelorette weekend for my best friend and ten of our closest. From the initial bookings to the final checkout, we were treated like rockstars. We booked two two-bedroom suites that were stunning and accommodated our group perfectly. We ended up spending a lot of time in the hotel itself, enjoying the pool, roof deck and restaurants. The staff were always professional, fun and gave us some amazing recommendations for food and drink nearby. I honestly can't fathom why the hotel has been hit so hard with bad reviews, and as a frequent traveler, I've stayed in some amazing hotels all around the world. This one, in terms of hospitality, hip vibe without being over pretentious and quality is up there on my list.

The icing on the cake was the amazing food from the hotel restaurant. From the mushroom flatbread to the steak frites, it was all delicious.

I will be definitely recommending the Shangri La to friends visiting LA.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmoMeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan M, Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, July 25, 2016
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we have been permanently improving since your last visit and would be glad to welcome you again in Santa Monica. As you can see with the latest feedback from other Tripadvisor Members, you will not be disappointed by our outstanding Guest services and all the amenities of our Shangri-La property, do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do for you.

We hope to welcome you very soon.

Sincerely,

Stephan M
Director of Operation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,825 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,245 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,503 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica

Property: Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica
Address: 1301 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific since 1939, Hotel Shangri-La is a dramatic beacon of Art Deco beauty, Hollywood allure, and Los Angeles history. Perched on a high bluff, mere steps from the beach, this timeless Santa Monica boutique hotel has undergone a meticulous $30 million redesign -- promising you an idyllic haven of rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri La Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing