We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Santa Monica
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,528)
Filter reviews
1,528 results
Traveler rating
661
448
202
115
102
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
661
448
202
115
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar art deco terrace suite pool area ocean view full kitchen our honeymoon perfect location farmers market valet parking ocean avenue los angeles third street promenade venice beach pier concierge tub
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,528 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We paid an absurd price to not have hot water our entire stay. Because their water heater was “broken” we had to shower with cold water when the weather was below 50 degrees. In addition, the elevator was out of order.
The photos on the website are completely deceiving and the hotel is in complete despair.

When we contacted management they refused to make the situation right and then avoided my calls. They are complete crooks.

The positive reviews are from customers they incentivize to write a review to get a slight discount on food.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Daniella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had the best stay at Hotel Shangri-La thanks to their amazing staff, especially Rebecca, who helped me with an incredible upgrade experience to the most gorgeous ocean front Executive Suite! Everyone who works at this hotel makes you feel welcome and cared for from the moment you walk in. The concierge helped me with restaurant recommendations and everyone at the front desk was helpful with any questions I had and just to have a nice chat with on my way in and out each day. The room was beautiful and the view spectacular.Room service was also amazing, get the fish tacos! I can't wait to return to this hotel!

Room tip: Higher room floors have the best views and the upgrade fee is beyond worth it for the view!
Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B358XElindseyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelShangriLaSM, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear B358XElindseyb,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review and for taking the time to write! We are thrilled to read about the extraordinary experience you had at Hotel Shangri-La, and thanks again for your compliments to Rebecca and Adrianne. Our Santa Monica and Ocean views are stunning, thanks to our amazing location. We cannot wait to serve you again in the future, hopefully soon!

Sincerely,



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped by for a drink after leaving the pier and decided to stay and watch the sunset. They were very busy but service was fast. Nice Art Deco bar/seating area, and a small outside patio with seating and heaters. Glad I wanted a glass of wine because I would have missed this place and the sunset!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank shedevlls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelShangriLaSM, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear shedevlls1,

Thank you for the superlative review! Our rooftop bar Onyx has the best views, and the sunsets are breathtaking. Please come back and see us again!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We come back to the Shangri-La every year on an annual visit to California. The staff are always exceptionally friendly and helpful. The location is great. Close to everything in Santa Monica and immediately across the pedestrian bridge to the beach.

The courtyard pool and hot tub area is well laid out and enjoyable. The rooms are up to date, but remain classic. The bed is comfortable and the bathroom updated with a large bathtub.

We will definitely stay again next year.

Room tip: Hotel rooms on the 6th floor have large balconies that are great.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelShangriLaSM, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Richard H,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review and for taking the time to write! Our location is truly unparalleled, and our staff members always strive for excellence. Your appreciation will be shared with the entire management team! We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with 3 young children. Super cool, very retro (think Gatsby), great location for shops / restaurants / beach / pier etc, clean and smart, we had a great view in room 500 (a large 2 bed suite), well equipped room, friendly staff.
Very warm welcome, but then were left to find our own room (which we initially got wrong ) and had to ask about everything - lacked a bit of a personal service in getting to know the hotel - with 3 tired small children, they could have done a bit more here.
Directed to the concierge, Adrienne, who was fantastic (& my husband asks a lot of questions!) - she sorted us a lovely table at the perfect brunch place (Shutters on the Beach), followed by a loose itinerary for the day, and gave us two options to check out for dinner one night, another great table at a great restaurant.
Hotel rather expensive - had to fight over the cost of laundering our children’s clothes ($18 per T-shirt for a 5 year old, eventually gave us a meagre 20% discount due to my insisting they didn’t need pressing - we had a lot of laundry to do due to it being the middle stop of a long trip), bottled water was extra, we had to ask for and pay $25 per night for a put up bed, even though they knew we were a party of 5 when we booked and checked in, and each call came with a room service charge, but I guess that is to be expected in the location.
A few things wrong in our room - 2 lights didn’t work and although a fix was attempted, they didn’t work again the next night - we couldn’t work out the complicated lighting set up (choice of 4 pre-set options), and the bathrooms, although retro in style, need updating.
Overall though a fantastic room with a fabulous view in a great location with very friendly staff.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank BethHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelShangriLaSM, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear BethHolidays,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to read about the extraordinary experience you had overall at Hotel Shangri-La and thanks again for your compliments on Adrienne, she is the best concierge! Please, be sure that we will consider your feedback to improve our guests’ experience. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews