We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,346)
Filter reviews
1,346 results
Traveler rating
574
403
181
106
82
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
574
403
181
106
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar art deco pool area two bedroom suite ocean view perfect location our honeymoon valet parking farmers market ocean avenue third street promenade los angeles venice beach pier concierge bathtub retro
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 1,346 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Shangrila is the ultimate hotel destination with outstanding staff, infrastructure, and overall professional management. In particular, the front desk staff recognized me and my family from past visits and lavished attention on us. We always got the reservation at the desired restaurant when wanted. The location of our room was perfect to see the ocean and sunset. Food was excellent and there is a wide variety of excellent food and drinks at their rooftop bar. I highly recommend their Kobe burger! In a few words, all the employees know their job responsibilities and are there to please resort guests.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marhallinan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelShangrila1301, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear marhallinan87,

It is always outstanding to read this kind of review as it truly embodies the Shangri-La experience. Just as you couldn't praise the hotel enough, we likewise would fail miserably if we attempted to express our gratitude for such a superlative review. It seems that we shall both have to settle in our unexpressed yet teeming appreciation for each other's services. We shall eagerly anticipate your return to stay with us again in the future!

Sincerely,
Hotel Shangri-La Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018

We stayed for a week and was very happy with our stay. The room and bathroom were very spacious. Tge bed was comfortable and the ocean view was amazing. All the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The pool was wonderful as was the rooftop bar. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank debado1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelShangrila1301, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear debado1973,

It is always outstanding to read this kind of review as it truly embodies the Shangri-La experience. Just as you couldn't praise the hotel enough, we likewise would fail miserably if we attempted to express our gratitude for such a superlative review. It seems that we shall both have to settle in our unexpressed yet teeming appreciation for each other's services. We shall eagerly anticipate your return to stay with us again in the future!

Sincerely,
Hotel Shangri-La Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2018

We got a PERFECT room overlooking the seaside, the pier andere the MOST BEAUTIFULL SUNSET !!! Very nice staff andere the most friendly receptionistes, valet parking andere a very, very friendly doorman !!Thnx for thuis experience !!

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelShangrila1301, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear pauljS4989QU,

Thank you for such a kind and thoughtful review! We are overjoyed to hear how thoroughly you enjoyed every aspect of our hotel! We certainly take gratification in our superlative guest service, so to hear genuine praise of it is always heart warming. We cannot wait to serve you again in the future, hopefully soon!

Sincerely,
Hotel Shangri-La Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2018 via mobile

We were here for a quick getaway weekend and Shangri-La did a great job at making our stay the best. Huge shout out to engineer Will for saving the day and hunting down a usb attachment so I could charge my phone. The service here has been wonderful!

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank JenniferCalafiore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelShangrila1301, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear JenniferCalafiore,

Thank you for such a kind and thoughtful review! We are overjoyed to hear how thoroughly you enjoyed every aspect of our hotel! We certainly take gratification in our superlative guest service, so to hear genuine praise of it is always heart warming. We cannot wait to serve you again in the future, hopefully soon!

Sincerely,
Hotel Shangri-La Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2018 via mobile

Only stayed 2 nights and our welcome was excellent - mainly reception staff and Jean-paul. Sadly, it went down hill from there. Pool bar staff were unenthusiastic and the roof top bar staff were rude. As hotel guests it was disappointing that locals visiting for a quick view from the rooftop were offered table service yet we were ignored. That being said the security at the roof top were very friendly and helpful.

In summary, a great location that wows with first impressions (including an amazing pool and rooftop bar. However, in a hotel guest services should be paramount. I can’t say it was in this instance.

In terms of the actual room, ours was on the 3rd floor tucked in a corner. It was very small. We even had someone else’s old gym sock hidden inside a robe! It would have been hard to spot so can’t entirely blame housekeeping. It’s worth noting we booked via a deal on agoda - not sure if this knocked us down the Shangrila’s ‘pecking order’. Hopefully not.

Worth a stay for the location if you can get a reasonable price and don’t expect a huge amount in terms of end to end customer service.

Fine for 2 nights but unlikely to return.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank PhilBelf75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelShangrila1301, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear PhilBelf75,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.
On behalf of the whole hotel, I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. Our staff is dedicated to working closely with every department to ensure seamless cooperation, and the highest standard of luxury service. I can assure that our entire front of house staff gathered this week to re-affirm our dedication to this craft of luxury service, as well as implementing new operating procedures to ensure that our guests receive the attention and assistance they desire at anytime during their stay. We certainly hope that you were otherwise able to enjoy your time with us. There is a truly relaxing and rejuvenating Shangrila experience, and more than anything we would love another opportunity to share this with you. Should you find yourself in Santa Monica again, please do not hesitate to reach out to us directly. It would be our pleasure to set up a reservation for you and your family. Until then, we are wishing you all safe travels and great days!

Sincerely,
Hotel Shangri-La Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews