We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Santa Monica”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Enjoyed staying here very much. Superb rooms overlooking the ocean with a lot of space. Breakfast is very good here and there is a very nice bar on the roof with great views. Really recommend this place of you are thinking of spending some time in Santa Monica. The other great hotels there are seriously expensive and while this place isn't exactly cheap, I think it offers brilliant value. The art deco decoration is beautiful and really creates an atmosphere and the views are stunning. I'd be surprised if you didn't love it here. Recommend it very highly indeed.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean front suite and you will get an amazing room with two bedrooms and a kitchen - larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thank you so much for posting your review on TripAdvisor.
To read the words "Brilliant Value" is a wonderful moment for the hotel.
To read that you enjoyed the beauty and atmosphere of our historical landmark, and that it enhanced your stay is a great source of pride for us. We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us. Please come back and see us again. It would be such a pleasure to welcome you back.

Until then, have safe travels and great days!

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

566 - 572 of 1,223 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2014

We had a fantastic ocean view from our room. We saw some brilliant sunsets. The staff were very friendly and polite. Our room was was clean and comfortable and it was good to have a rooftop bar! I was led to believe when I booked that we would have a bath. We didn't although the shower was large and powerful. The hotel has a brilliant location and we would definitely book again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. So happy you were able to enjoy the incredible sunsets we experience nightly here in Santa Monica. The ocean view rooms are truly wonderful. Most importantly, I am so happy to read that the staff was friendly and polite. Service is the foundation of our hotel, and to read that we were able to provide luxury service is the perfect accolade. Thank you so much again for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Until the, have safe travels, and great days!

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Situated across from Santa Monica beach and a quick walk to the Promenade, this hotel is full of charm and nostalgia. As a family of 4 we were made very welcome and the rooms were fabulous for us. We met many other families who felt this way. hotel services were all exceptionally good and I would not hesitate to re-book at this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: We had a 1 bedroom suite which was ideal. Bathroom was huge and kitchen facilities allowed for in-ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MonnieVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. We are so grateful for your time. It is so important not only for prospective guests, but also for us to engage in our growth with specific goals in mind. The title of your review is so spot on when comes to how we might describe ourselves. Our location is truly unparalleled. Blocks from 3rd Street Promenade, Santa Monica Pier, the beach, and dozens of incredible restaurants. Our charm comes from the unique architecture and history of our hotel. Built in 1939, the Hotel Shangrila has always been a gorgeous and hospitable jewel in the Santa Monica crown. Our character is built on luxury service, loyalty, and exceeding guests expectations, and these qualities can be found in each and every staff member. And last but not least, we wish that every moment our guests spend with us are absolutely delightful! Thank you again for your review, and we are so happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Please come back and see us again!

Until then, have safe travels and great days!

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very friendly, professional and efficient staff. My daughter and I were greeted by the front desk who had prepared a little present for her. Our room was spacious, clean and really comfortable. The rooftop bar is a must-go hip bar. The view is amazing and, again, the staff if friendly. No attitude, just friendly and helpful. The hotel is 2 blocks away from Third Street Promenade and views of Santa Monica beach, Santa Monica Pier are amazing from the rooftop bar. I will definitely come back to Hotel Shangri-La and I thank the staff, management and everyone working there for making our stay so great. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank giampigiampaolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you so much for posting your review on TripAdvisor!
I'm so happy to hear that we made your stay special for you and your daughter.
It is always a pleasure welcoming families to our hotel. Not only is our location outstanding for sightseeing and daily activities, but within the walls of the hotel our staff strives to offer luxury service to our valued guests. When a family is on vacation they deserve nothing less than stellar service. Thank you so much for the time you took to share your comments, and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome back you and your family.

Until then, have safe travels and great days!

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I love this place. I chose this hotel initially for its location and price and I am so glad I did. From the moment we walked in, my husband and I were bowled over with great service which was consistent for the duration of our 5 night stay. The art-deco style has been updated and is fresh and modern all at the same time. Our room was good sized and the bathroom comes with bath tub and separate shower. The stunning courtyard is pure relaxation with pool and hot tub (which management kindly turned on for my husband and I after dark :)) The best is the rooftop bar and lounge! Great view over the ocean, knowledgeable and very friendly staff and great music. Its a popular place with the locals so its nice that hotel residents are given priority on entry. The staff really are the big draw here - their commitment to exceptional, personable service is outstanding! In particular, the FOH staff, rooftop bar staff and housekeeping are marvellous! I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadinevdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review! It was such a pleasure having you stay with us, and we so look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. We are so happy that you chose the Hotel Shangrila. The best and most rewarding part about your review is to read about the great service you received the moment you walked in and throughout your stay. Making our guests feel welcome, comfortable, important is our main goal, and we couldn't be happier to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Please do come back and see us!

Until then, have safe travels and great days!

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We spent 5 days at the Shangrila in July as part of a wider trip to California. The room was spacious, with an enormous bathroom. We had two showers and a huge bathtub. We also had a great view of Santa Monica beach despite booking the cheapest of rooms. The location of this hotel is perfect, within very easy walking distance of the pier, beach and 3rd st promenade. It is also within easy driving/taxi distance of Malibu and Hollywood. The hotel is very modern with a nod to its original heritage, which makes it feel like an authentic place to stay and the staff are helpful and polite. The happy hour (5-7) in the rooftop is excellent but very popular due to the $5 beers and wine and amazing view of the pier. Get here early to secure a seat in the more sheltered area as it can be pretty windy up on the roof! Valet parking is pretty expensive but they are very quick at retrieving your car. Overall, we would definitely stay here again and it was the perfect way to start our vacation!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Julia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Thank you so much for leaving your review on TripAdvisor! Sounds like you had a wonderful time, and that is our main goal here at Hotel Shangrila. Please do come and see us again, it would be such a pleasure to welcome you back. Santa Monica is such an incredible, accessible, and exciting city. Being in our prime location, all of that is at our fingertips. Thank you so much again, and we hope to see you soon.

Until then, have safe travels and great days!

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We loved our stay at the Hotel Shangri-La from the moment we walked in. The check-in staff were extremely thorough and helpful and went out of their way to make our experience special. The housekeeping staff were pleasant and were very attentive to helping us out in any way they could. We had an issue with hotelclub who we booked through and the staff were very helpful in contacting the third party agent on our behalf and fixing the issue. We were extremely grateful to Sonny for helping in this matter. We also were extremely appreciative of Meagan and Marissa who helped us with directions, printed maps, personal experience and advice regarding other adventures we took while in LA.
Thank you so much to all the staff for helping to make it the highlight of our trip! We would recommend to others and definitely stay there again :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Julia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Your review makes me very proud of the Hotel Shangrila. Not only because you felt your time with us was special, but to read that multiple departments were able to go above and beyond to make your time with us perfect. Thank you so much for taking the time share your experience on TripAdvisor. Naturally, we would love all of our prospective guests to read about your experience, but for us to read that we are achieving our goals by providing the luxury service we strive to offer everyday is a real pleasure. Thank you so much for your time, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Until then, have safe travels and great days!

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
3,026 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,741 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#13 of 36 in Santa Monica
653 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,662 reviews
Santa Monica
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica

Address: 1301 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $355 - $1,058 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific since 1939, Hotel Shangri-La is a dramatic beacon of Art Deco beauty, Hollywood allure, and Los Angeles history. Perched on a high bluff, mere steps from the beach, this timeless Santa Monica boutique hotel has undergone a meticulous $30 million redesign -- promising you an idyllic haven of rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri La Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing