We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fun hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Was upgraded to the Rock and Roll room on the PH floor, great room with a fantastic view, one downside is that the roof top bar is on the same floor and the elevator shaft is near the bed but if you are up for a late night and are in the bar anyway then its perfect. A shower cubical for two, massive balcony with loungers and an all round trendy room. I stayed here before in one of the standard rooms and that was also good. Breakfast is nice and it has a good pool area. Location is perfect for Santa Monica, shops and restaurants just around the corner and the beach on your doorstep. Staff were good and I will be staying again but hopefully next time I will make the most of the roof top bar.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank AndrewF78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us, and I am so glad we had the opportunity to upgrade you to our Rock 'n Roll suite. It really is a one of kind room with its unobstructed view of the ocean sitting at the very top of our steamliner art deco style hotel. It is truly beautiful. It does indeed rest on the same floor as our roof top bar, which has a very similar view and definitely draws a crowd. We offer our sincerest apologies if the noise from the bar kept you up at night. We of course wish to offer our guests a refuge where they can find serenity and relaxation at the beach.

We are so happy to read that you'll be coming back to stay with us! Please do take advantage of the roof top bar. Not only are the drinks delicious, but you cannot get a better view of the sunset in Santa Monica.

Thank you so much for the time you took to offer your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are truly grateful.

Until our paths cross again, have safe travels and great days!

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,149)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 1,149 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2014

After a long trip across the USA, we spent three nights at this lovely hotel. Compared with some of the other beachfront hotels, the rates were reasonable for a pricey location like Santa Monica. The hotel is showing signs of wear and the rooms are on the small side.However, the staff were good and the hotel is perfectly located for the beach, the shops and the Pier. Don't arrive on a Sunday as the rooftop bar is the local "in"place. You can always go to the superb pool area which was as good as I've seen. We drove 30 minutes down the road to LA airport and departed back to England realising we had saved the best bit of Route 66 until last.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Driving across the United States on the historical Route 66 sounds like such an exciting trip! We are honored to have been the last stop on such a legendary journey. Thank you so much for choosing us. I'm so happy to read that you enjoyed your time here and that you found the staff to be helpful. As for the state of the hotel, being a historical landmark, we have the privilege of maintaining this beautiful building. That privilege keeps striving everyday to keep it fresh for our valued guests. In 2014, we have many projects already in process to refresh many areas of the hotel. For example, our courtyard area was just outfitted with brand new patio furniture that captures the beauty of the buildings architectural origins as well as embracing some modern influences. Please come back and see us again, and we would love to share with you the progress we make every day as we strive to offer our guests an unforgettable experience.

Thank you so much for staying with us, and for you offering your feedback on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you again in the future.

Until then, have great days and safe travels!

Best,

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

A landmark hotel with an undoubtedly superb location. High service levels. Breakfast in the restaurant didn't disappoint but our room had seen better days. Chipped woodwork. A shower that flooded so we had to use the bath version. Then the tap in the bath jammed. Great beds. Excellent wifi was a surprise. The penthouse bar VERY popular which meant boisterous encounters with crowds at the lifts on occasion. A revamp of the rooms overdue we thought. Otherwise great.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHILBRICE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

To read that our levels of service were high, and that we were able to exceed the expectations of our guests with the amenities we offer is some of the greatest feedback a hotelier can read. These are among the highest goals we have here at Hotel Shangrila, and to read that we are reaching them is a great moment for us all. Thank you so much for sharing, and we are so happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us.

In regards to the room's need for a revamp, we want to first apologize that this observation was even an aspect of your stay. Every day our skilled team of engineers go into our rooms to maintain and enhance. Your feedback has gone directly to all departments, and we are working to address the areas you have highlighted. Also, as I have written in other responses, 2014 is filled with projects that look to refresh and revamp our property, and our rooms are being shown a lot of love this year. We look forward to having the opportunity to share these advancements with you in the near future.

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review on TripAdvisor. It is feedback like yours that give us the direction we need to address the areas that need our attention now. Providing an excellent experience to our valued guest is our main objective, and we strive to meet it everyday.

Thank you so much again!

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I choose the Hotel throughout the internet and i was a little disappointed when i got there.
the rooms are really small and very rural
the stairway is weird, but that should not matter. you have the impression as if you where in
a fabric hall.
the pool and staff is extraordinary nice and though i was disappointed at the first place
i would come back.
the location is great

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

First off all, we are so grateful that you stayed with us. You really do have so many options here in Santa Monica, and we are honored and pleased to have be chosen. We are also so happy to read that you found our service and our pool to be extraordinary. This is great to hear, and we are so happy that we were able to serve you. However, we are very sorry to hear that you felt the rooms were too small, and that some aspects of the hotel were strange. It is indeed an old hotel, with a lot of unique attributes, but we of course don't like to hear that those aspects effected your stay. We are so happy to read that you would come back and stay with us again. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly. It would be my pleasure to help make a reservation for a larger room that might be more accommodating to your needs. We have an array of room types, each of them having their own wonderful qualities.

Thank you so much for your review, it really is so helpful to us. It gives us the opportunity to be in direct communication with our guests to cultivate a relationship, and look to customize our service to the needs and preferences of our valued guests.

Thank you so much again!

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

If you want the best of Santa Monica then as far as location goes the Shangri-la is going to be hard to beat.

We were surprised to hear we had been upgraded to a bigger room on arrival, which was very nice of the hotel to do for us.

Overall, our experience here was positive except for one problem - the bed.

The bed was old, lumpy, lopsided and the pillows flat. It didn't make for a nice sleep and both my wife and I kept tossing and turning at night because of just how uncomfortable it was.

The pool area was nice, though the weather was too cold for us to enjoy it fully many others there were OK going in and loved sunbathing in the mild weather.

The rooftop bar was great. It does fill up fast on weekends so go at opening time. Some Santa Monica locals came up to us and just started a conversation which was really nice.

We found all the staff really helpful and friendly.

I'd have no hesitation in staying here again on the one condition that the bed and pillows had been renewed.

Room Tip: I'd ask how old the beds are before booking.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so grateful to get first hand perspectives about the comfort and functionality of the amenities in our rooms. First and Foremost, thank you for choosing Hotel Shangrila. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Please have no hesitation about coming back. It is always such a pleasure to welcome back our returning guests. As for our beds, this of course is an area of the highest importance, and our team and Executive Committee are currently in the process of refreshing and advancing many aspects of the hotel in 2014. It is feedback like yours that gives us direction as we look to keep our hotel fresh, comfortable, and inviting. We are truly grateful for the time you took to leave your review on TripAdvisor. We strive everyday to be the best hotel possible, and to hold the title of (as you so eloquently put it) "Hard to Beat."

Until we see you again have safe travels, and great days!

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Hotel in a perfect location for the pier and the beach. The rooms are on the small side (for US hotels) but the bed was large and comfy. The art deco theme for the hotel makes it stand out but not sure it suited us though. The rooms have safes and a large screen TV and there is also free WiFi. The bathroom was strange in that there was a very large bath but the room backed onto the walkway outside and the windows were very large (they were frosted though) which gave a feeling of being not quite private. The front desk staff and the bar staff were very helpful and friendly but the valet parking guy was a bit rude. On arrival after a long drive he opened the door and insisted on having the key even though we had not fully pulled over. I just wanted to pull over into a space and unload but he just wanted the car! On the plus side a colleague of his carried one of our cases into the hotel showing us the way. We had breakfast one morning which although expensive was very nice. Overall a nice clean tidy hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fujiman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Thank you for your review. I'm so happy to read that our staff over all was friendly and helpful. I'm also happy to read that even after the unpleasant and rushed experience you had in our parking lot, our valet staff was able to immediately increase their level of service by assisting you with your bags, and show you around the hotel. Please forgive any inconvenience caused by that rushed experience. The whole hotel is made aware of each review, and each department is engaged in daily ways to improve service. We never intended to be rude in any way, I can assure of that. We are grateful that you chose the Hotel Shangrila. We know you have so many options here in Santa Monica, and we are honored to have served you. If you do happen to pass through Los Angeles again, please don't hesitate to contact us directly regarding another reservation. It would be our pleasure to accommodate returning guests. Thank you so much again for your time, and we hope to see you again.

Best,

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Hotel staff within the hotel were great! They were able to check us in much earlier than expected and we really appreciated it. Room was pretty small but it worked. Pool area was nice. Only downside was the bar staff was INCREDIBLY slow. I almost missed my flight waiting for the guy to close my tab for forever and the first drink took almost 20 min to get (via the waiter) and the place was pretty quiet. If you want to make money, you should probably serve people alcohol when they try to order it, right? Would consider staying here again in the future though.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sireenah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to offer your feedback.
It is feedback like yours that helps us highlight certain areas, whether it be service related or amenity related, and improve upon them. The type of service you described at the bar sounds like the opposite of the luxury experience we strive to deliver every day. We take comments like yours very seriously. We can then look at each instance as an opportunity to unite our staff as we evolve our service. We apologize for any added stress or inconvenience this may have caused. Please do come see us again. It was such a pleasure serving you. Thank you so much again for your time.

Have safe travels, and great days!

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,891 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,585 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
607 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica

Address: 1301 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $378 - $1,033 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific since 1939, Hotel Shangri-La is a dramatic beacon of Art Deco beauty, Hollywood allure, and Los Angeles history. Perched on a high bluff, mere steps from the beach, this timeless Santa Monica boutique hotel has undergone a meticulous $30 million redesign -- promising you an idyllic haven of rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri La Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing