We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience at Hotel Sangri-La”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Santa Barbara, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience at Hotel Sangri-La”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Shangri-La for one night during this past week, and we were very satisfied with the experience. Having read some of the negative reviews, I was a bit worried, especially since I had pre-paid through Jetsetter and was hoping to not have any hassles - but I had nothing to worry about.

The valet had our name as a confirmed guest when we rolled up, and parking was quick and friendly. The staff greeting us were friendly and efficient, and when we saw the housekeeping staff in the halls they were also exceptionally nice and professional. The bar next to the pool is a sweet little spot for relaxing outside under umbrellas, the rooftop bar was very mellow and nice (10:30 pm on a Tuesday) and we really enjoyed the breakfast and its views of the beach. We had a 1-bedroom suite with a partial open view, and the room was nice with a very big bathroom and tub. The air conditioning was ice cold - good since it was a hot day. There was a nice spot in the room to sit where you could indeed take in the ocean view. No problems with the free wi-fi connection.

There's a running trail along the water that is easy to access just outside the door, and of course many bars and restaurants and shops of Santa Monica are an easy walk.

In my experience, staying in Santa Monica a couple times a year, some of the things that may be difficult for other guests here are just common to Santa Monica - valet parking is $34 and there are no other parking options, like everywhere with beach views in SM, and the rooms in Santa Monica are pretty expensive compared to most other parts of L.A. so the price can seem pretty steep if you feel strongly about getting a bargain. Rooms in Santa Monica are typically small, so I find it is worth paying more for a larger room if we are spending any time lounging or working in the room.

Overall I'd definitely stay here again - might even pay a little extra for a full ocean view!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear StephanieH,

Thank you for your feedback. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With Every Kind Wish,

Murphy Moore, III
Director of Operations
Hotel Shangri-La
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    350
    152
    91
    72
See reviews for
237
547
47
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Room was pittyfully small with a view of a car park. Staff could not arrange a different room. The room service was good and breakfast just ok and very expensive. The beach looks close but be ready for a long hike .. It is across the main road and a urine smelling walkway .. yuk

The hotel has a tardy tired look and I would not reccomend it to anyone for the simple reason that it was way too pricy for what it looked and felt like. The rooms suck . I was with friends or I would have mad a fuss .. This hotel should be avoided.

Room Tip: Be prepared for long check in and out
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimkells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear JimKells,

Thank you for your response. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest. We do hope you give us another opportunity to earn your loyalty. Either way, we wish you safe travels!

Thank you,

Murphy Moore, III
Director of Operations
Hotel Shangri-La
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Even before we got there my interactions with staff on the phone were not good. Upon arrival we were not greeted or helped with luggage, the lobby is down the street with no drive thru turn around for picking up or dropping off. It took us over an hour to check in and check out.The location is deceiving the beach is not as close as it looks, its quite a hike. The hotel is unkept, the dining room is very tattered and the food was ok. The manager was rude and unhelpful and it was extremly unprofessional in front of our guest from out of the country. Overall we should have checked out and gone somewhere else but didnt because our stay was only three days, to save the vacation for our guest we should have listened to the review and not stayed here. They could take lessons from the Avalon a true boutique experience.

Room Tip: The rooms are tiny beds are comfortable, get an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Tina B,

Thank you for your response. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest. I apologize that your stay was not what you or we expect. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to earn your loyalty. Either way, we wish you safe travels!

Murphy Moore, III
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Registration: Bad first impression. Rather than stand up to register, like most hotels, Shangri-La offers a comfortable couch. It's nice to have this cozy meeting when you arrive, but two staff were so focused on one guest and I was completely ignored for five minutes. I don't know if this was a case of too much pampering of one guest at the expense of another, or if was because my appearance was not too impressive.

Beautiful lobby, beautiful room, great view of the ocean, comfortable bed, huge TV.

Partying in the outdoor courtyard with band and bar was less of a disturbance than expected. Walls provided good soundproofing.

Shower is a huge pain in the neck. Tricky button to regulate the hot water didn't work (or I couldn't figure it out) so the water was too hot to bear at times.

Awkward placement of dresser drawers very close to the bed. Not a major problem, but annoying.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Stephen,

Thank you for your response. We pride ourselves in providing our guests the highest levels of service but during your stay with us we missed the mark.

We do hope you give us another opportunity to re-earn your loyalty. Either way, we wish you safe travels!

Murphy Moore, III
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I attended a private event hosted in their Penthouse Suite. Guests could view the beautiful beaches of Santa Monica with sweet, fresh scent of the sea. This is the perfect place for private events with a bar area, private bathroom and indoor lounge areas. Outside there is a long patio with comfy lounge patio furniture and high boys so you could see the ocean. Toward the back of the patio, you have the perfect view of the famous Santa Monica Pier. Below, you can see their spacious and decorative Courtyard complete with pool and private cabanas. The hotel was built in 1939, designed with Art Deco elegance and reminds you of old Hollywood glamour. The catering department can make your party a success with perfectly paired appetizers and drinks. On this evening, they served a bunch of items that could be eaten for breakfast but also presented as fanciful hors d'oeuvres. The Dining Room features The Buttermilk Truck’s Red Velvet Pancakes on the brunch menu. Next to the Penthouse Suite, Hotel Shangri-La also has a rooftop bar, Suite 700, showcasing beautiful sunsets and world-class mixology.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OCFoodDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear OCFoodDiva,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent event attendance with us! We appreciate it. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Shangri-La very soon.

Thank you,

Murphy Moore, III
Director of Operations
Hotel Shangri-La
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naarden, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel, although frankly the outer appearance appeared a little dated - it had a less luxurious feel than we got from the pictures on the website. We had the terrace suite, which was lovely and large enough for our party of 4. We were first given a much smaller suite, with not enough beds for all of us, this was rectified the next day without much bother. The customer service was really excellent - staff responded quickly and promptly to our requests. The location is really good, right around the corner from the 3rd Street Promenade, and the steps to the beach. Excellent comfortable beds and bedding, and jacuzzi in the bath room. The kids enjoyed the swimming pool. We also loved the rooftop bar, with great views over the ocean. All in all, I'd certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Only the terrace suites seem to have some sort of balcony, where you can sit outside. Not sure wheth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Lou2204,

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and I am happy you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again.

Thank you,

Murphy Moore, III
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon,UK
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here at the end our Route 66 trip in May 2013. Although a luxury hotel, it had fewer amenities than some of the small chain hotels on our trip and didn't really live up to it's hype. Staff were the outstanding feature - particularly in Reception. Rooftop bar is worth visiting (for the view) but it gets very crowded. See through bathroom is a very strange arrangement! Didn't sample the food there as it was so expensive. Great for walking to Santa Monica Pier.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvertonsiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your response. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest. We do hope you give us another opportunity to your loyalty. Either way, we wish you safe travels!

Murphy Moore, III
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,859 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,549 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
600 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica

Property: Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica
Address: 1301 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific since 1939, Hotel Shangri-La is a dramatic beacon of Art Deco beauty, Hollywood allure, and Los Angeles history. Perched on a high bluff, mere steps from the beach, this timeless Santa Monica boutique hotel has undergone a meticulous $30 million redesign -- promising you an idyllic haven of rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri La Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing