We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica
Nearby Hotels
$413
$399
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Viceroy Santa Monica(Santa Monica)
$557
$396
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$343
$299
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$343
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$369
JW Marriott
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Palihouse Santa Monica(Santa Monica)
$315
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
$413
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Casa del Mar(Santa Monica)
$658
$575
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shutters on the Beach(Santa Monica)
$645
$595
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sea Blue Hotel(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,248)
Filter reviews
1,248 results
Traveler rating
518
385
171
97
77
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
518
385
171
97
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barart decopool areatwo bedroom suitefull kitchenocean viewperfect locationour honeymoonvalet parkingfarmers marketocean avenuethird street promenadelos angelesvenice beachpierconciergebathtub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
725 - 730 of 1,248 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Overall a good hotel in a great location and we would revisit, but ... We arrived after dark by road from the south east side and there didn't appear to be any hotel signage. We missed the hotel and the car park. Signage to the car park could also be improved. $34 a day for insecure parking is a bit much.
Both of the valet drivers were friendly, fast and very efficient. Accessing reception through the front steps is impossible in a wheelchair and difficult with heavy luggage. There is a side ramp but I didn't notice any directional signage. Reception was friendly, fast and efficient. We were upgraded to the "production room" which was good. The rooms are smallish and the showers, lighting, and bathroom screens are all a little strange as reported by others on Trip Advisor. Everything was spotlessly clean but we did miss the coffee maker in the room. The roof top bar was very busy and the bar staff up there need to realise who pays their wages. They were not very friendly which is a shame because the roof top at sunset is not to be missed. The pool and hot tub looked good and there were plenty of loungers available. There is also a pool side bar.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gasimen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you Gasimen for your review!

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your comments with the management of Suite 700, our rooftop lounge.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in beautiful Santa Monica!

Sincerely,
Matthew
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the shangri-la, but I can see where others are coming from who did not score this hotel as favorably.

The good -
1. Exceptional staff at the front desk (particularly Kimberley who made our stay amazing by instantly upgrading us as it was our honeymoon)
2. Location is right on ocean avenue and Arizona. Can't get better really!
3. The view - we were facing the ocean and loved waking up to the surf each day
4. The water pressure is AMAZING! I have very long thick blonde hair and getting conditioner out properly without good water pressure can take forever. No such dramas here!

The not-as-good -
1. Yes, the bathrooms can be a little awkward with very high edge baths. Having said that, there is a little slip proof step you can use if you need it (my hubby and I are both tall anyway, so this wasn't an issue for us)
2. Yes, the reception area is somewhat small with no driveway, and I can imagine on a busy day could get quite cramped and awkward. We didn't experience any Issues though and were checked in
straight away.

We didn't eat at the restaurant or bar, as there are so many amazing options within a minutes walk that we wanted to try, but the roof bar did seem very popular!

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay and would visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Hello Amanda C

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are happy you enjoyed the hotel and beautiful Santa Monica!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,
Matthew
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed the end of March, perfect location to the beach, shopping and restaurants.
The hotel is very clean and updated, the only issue was the smaller rooms but you get that from renovating an older hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I would return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Hello Birdy66

Thank you for staying with us! We are happy you enjoyed your time at the Hotel Shangrila.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon,
Matthew
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We read a number of reviews of this hotel and decided to take our chances, even though the reviews here are quite mixed. Our experience was also mixed.

This hotel is an Art Deco gem, but our oceanview deluxe room was way too small - probably around 200sq ft. and very cramped. Only about six inches or so between the end of the bed and the set of drawers. We really didn't like the glass-walled bathroom, you had to close the shower curtain for privacy and you could still see through to the toilet if you walked by - not much privacy. The shower was a real pain, the temperature kept fluctuating and the water was much too hot at times.

There was a strange and over-complicated room lighting control panel in the closet, which was very dark - really hard to see when programming it! There is really no need for that level of control in such a small space.

There was no tea/coffee making facility in the room - very unusual. We were disappointed there were no iron and ironing board or robes, for the room rate we expected all those things.

The staff were great, though those in the rooftop bar area were far less hospitable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ednacloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Hello ednacloud

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

On your next stay, you may want to reserve one of our luxury suites. They are much larger, many with gourmet kitchens and direct ocean views!

Until then, safe travels!

Sincerely,
Matthew
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Shangri-La is a great hotel, with a beautiful view of Santa Monica beach. I really wanted to give this hotel 5 stars, but there were a couple of issues:
- the rooms are noisy, not necessarily from the road but from the lift, pool, internal stairs...people who go to the rooftop bar don't give a lot of consideration to the guests trying to sleep
- the shower is awkward to get in and out of, and the water temperature fluctuates every 30 seconds
- the on-site restaurant is just OK, and a little pricey for what you get
If you stay here, get an ocean view room - it is lovely to wake up and look at the ocean. The hotel is very close to the 3rd street promenade, and the farmer's market on Wednesdays and Saturdays is very handy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuckyBlue__7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Hello Luckyblue__7

Thank you for staying with us recently. And thank you for taking the time to write comments about your stay.

We are happy you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the ocean views. We regret the noise you experienced and appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Matthew
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews