We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,324)
Filter reviews
1,324 results
Traveler rating
561
401
177
104
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
561
401
177
104
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barart decopool areatwo bedroom suiteocean viewperfect locationour honeymoonvalet parkingfarmers marketocean avenuethird street promenadelos angelesvenice beachpierconciergebathtubretro
Filter
Updating list...
851 - 856 of 1,324 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here for one night in early October. I was initially given a room on the ground floor, which was lovely, but I prefer to be up above the traffic if possible. I went back to the reception to ask if I could move to a higher floor, and the staff were very accommodating, helping me out quickly.

The room was different to what I expected, in a good way. A full kitchen, living area, and BIG bathroom, with a seperate bedroom. The bed was super comfortable, and of course the location is fantastic.

This hotel isn't cheap, but it justifies the price with great decor (note to other hotels trying to achieve that "vintage look - THIS is how you do it!), pleasant staff and a great location.

Room Tip: The traffic noise isn't TOO bad, but request a higher floor for a bit more peace and quiet, and a better view
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gibosity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear gibosity -

We are happy you enjoyed your suite with a full kitchen and our location. We are pleased you chose our excellent location for your stay while in Santa Monica and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Thank you,
Matt
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Had a great time in this hotel. Superb location, pier, shopping and beach is closeby. The services was alright; we stayed in a suite, its big but a bit outdated but have a very nice balcony that overlooks the ocean. Swimming pool and gym is great. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Terrace suite is really nice, we got this on special deal so opt to get this type of room, so worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tins_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Tins_travel -

Thank you for staying with us! We are happy you enjoyed the hotel and your time in Santa Monica. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Matt
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have just returned from 4 nights at this hotel. Firstly the location is superb, the beach directly across the road, the pier only minutes away and 3rd St shopping and dining, 2 blocks away. The hotel itself is slightly dated but the facilities including pool make up for this shortfall. We booked a Deluxe Ocean view room and were disappointed with the size of the room, yet the view was amazing. The room only had a bed and a wall desk and the bathroom was missing a bath ( advertised a bath on their website ) The room was cleaned regularly and the staff were helpful with suggestions as to where to eat and shop. Breakfast was available in the downstairs restaurant or you could purchase your own fresh fruit from the Farmers Markets and sit by the pool each morning. If you choose this hotel I suggest spending the extra for a larger room as we were at the end of a 2 week stay in US and we struggled with the space in the room with all of our luggage. You will not need to take taxi's to any of the local sights as everything you need is in walking distance. A great place to stay if you want to be close to everything. The shopping on 3rd St is amazing with all the known brands as well as a huge range of dining options. The SM pier is 2 blocks down and also offers dining and shopping. We hired bikes from the beach shack and rode down to Venice Beach which is a great easy ride and allows you to see the sights along the coastline. A drink on the rooftop bar is a must especially around sunset as it gives a spectular view of Santa Monica. I would recommend the hotel because of its great location and friendly service provided by the staff.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a larger room overlooking the ocean .
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Heather M

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to write such a great review!

We are happy you chose the Hotel Shangrila during your visit to Southern California. We certainly hope you visit us again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you need any assistance!

With appreciation,
Matthew Moore
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Art Deco-ish hotel on Ocean. Very convenient for downtown Santa Monica - everything is walking distance. Amazing staff who are a delight to interact with. Our booking was messed up and they immediately upgraded us to a Production Suite. Gym is good and spotlessly clean. Roof-top bar is really nice. Main bar was absolutely hopping at 11pm on a Friday night. Did not sample the restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you, grahamvs, for staying with us!

We appreciate your comments and look forward to your next stay when your travels bring you to the Los Angeles area!

Sincerely,
Matthew Moore
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had two nights here after landing from out 11 and half hour flight from the UK, had a free upgrade to a suite which made up for the cost of parking at $33 a day +tax!
A very good location right across from the beach and only a short walk to the pier, also only a shprt walk to the main shopping area.Easy check-in and out and valet park so we didn't have to struggle with cases when we arrived/left.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Hello Steve C -

It was our pleasure having you as our guest at the Hotel Shangrila.

We hope next time you are able to spend more time with us! Thank you again and safe travels to you.

Sincerely,
Matthew Moore
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews