We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A perfect visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A perfect visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

We highly recommend this hotel. We had a VERY spacious 2 bedroom suite with a living room, full kitchen and 2 baths

We stayed during the holiday season and enjoyed the unique up-beat decorating.

The check-in process set the tone for the perfect visit. You are treated as valued guests and seated in the reception area instead of standing at a counter. We were treated with friendly respect by the entire staff.

The beds were very comfortable and the room was spotless.

The location was perfect and we were able to walk to many wonderful restaurants and shopping areas.

Our room had a beautiful view of the ocean and watching the gorgeous sunset from our room was priceless.

Room Tip: We requested an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dinnerguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattBeukelman, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Hello dinnerguest!
Thank you for spending some time with us at the Hotel Shangrila during the past holiday season. We are happy you enjoyed the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Matt Moore
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    307
    135
    70
    58
See reviews for
192
473
42
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

We found it very hard to choose a place to stay in Santa Monica, but we very pleased with the Shangri-La. The location is midway between the 3rd st mall and the pier, and there was no street noise and very little other noise. We had a one bedroom sea view apartment, which was modern, clean, and everything worked. Staff were friendly and helpful. In all, it was everything we had hoped for in Santa Monica.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waimate01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattBeukelman, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Hello Waimate01 -

We appreciate your comments and are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us in Santa Monica! We look forward to having you back very soon.
Matt Moore
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Great smaller hotel with excellent position and art deco look/feel. Pool was fabulous and service was also fabulous. Rooms were a little dated in some respects (eg - windows folded out, bathroom was older style) but it fitted with the art deco theme so guess thats to be expected. Bed was comfy and room was good size. Our room didnt really have ocean views, and if you left window open at night you would hear road noise - but with a/c on it was quiet. Our bathroom was huge and had 2 showers, bath etc. The hotel has great restaurant downstairs with good breakfast and lunch for reasonable price. Bar upstairs is the place to be for sunset and long after, very cool!! Overall, excellent location, quick walk to the pier and all the shopping areas, and across from beach for running, star spotting etc. Santa monica is my preference if visiting LA, beautiful and still got the LA feel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brissietravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattBeukelman, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Hi brissietravellers!
Thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Shangrila during your recent visit to Santa Monica. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Matt Moore
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Value for money was excellent with is hotel with a top beachfront location, newly renovated artistically inspired rooms, helpful and friendly staff and a pleasant atmosphere. All staff were obliging, room service and dining room were excellent and had it been warmer we would have spent time in the impressive pool area. Room wasn t ready whe n we arrived but the friendly staff gave us a map of the local area and advised us off the local market that was going on and recommended some wonderful eating spots. Loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for a beachfront upon check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReymonAntonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattBeukelman, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Hello AntRey
We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us at the Hotel Shangrila. We look forward to your next visit and until then, safe travels!
Matt Moore
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Stayed here for last three days of honeymoon and loved it. Ocean view room had great bathroom with huge tub that looked out into the bedroom and skies beyond. Comfy bed. Great service from all staff and breakfasts were good too. Not warm enough to make use of pool itself, although firepit at night meant you could sit out there. Good rooftop bar too. 5 minute walk to the pier or 3rd street promenade, so great location.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattBeukelman, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Hello Gemma1977
We are so happy you visited us during your honeymoon! We hope you return for every anniversary! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we will see you next year!
Matt Moore
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

We are a family of 4 and we been i Santa Monica 3 times before and has always stayed at the Oceana. Now we wanted to try something different so we booked this totally wonderful hotel for 12 nights and glad we did. We had the nicest suite with the most fantastic gourmet kicthen and the best views in whole of Santa Monica. We could sit outside on the balcony in the morning and watch the ocean and have a cup of the - and it was just beautiful. And the sunsets - WOW. Beautiful decor, so clean and just a good vibe.
You can NOT find a better location and a better hotel on Ocean Ave. The restaurant was so great. The staff was outstanding -all of them (frontdesk, bellboys,Valet, housekeeping and all others that we met) Thanks to Chaimain for all the good smiles and lovely personality, Ronan, Juan, Sonny, Herminia (o?) (sorry for the spelling...) and Andrew of course! And the tall guy who liked Nicklas Bendtner. The sweetest ladies in housekeeping - Wilma and Rosa. And Roberto - who actually learned some Danish! I know we were not the worlds "easiest" guest....so thank you all for a wonderful stay.
A suite on the 6th floor with balcony is highly recommended! We will be back as soon as possible...
Love you all. From The Moesgaards in Denmark.

Room Tip: 6th floor! And all siutes have nice views (also the ones with PARTIAL view - you can see Malibu from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattBeukelman, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Hello giese!
Thank you for your stay with us at the Hotel Shangrila! We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and its location. We look forward to your next stay!
Matt Moore
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

this was our first visit to LA, so was debating between staying in West Hollywood vs. Santa Monica. glad we stayed here, as others have indicated location is fantastic, provides a good base from which one can actually walk to various shops/restaurants/sights (unlike LA in general which requires a lot of driving to get from place to place). being across from beach also makes for more open feeling away from smog of city.
hotel itself was fairly intimate in feel, room was very spacious and clean, with simple modern decor and sincere, efficient and friendly service all round. only issue was a pesky shower (was tricky to try to prevent water from bouncing off/around tile work and spilling onto floor, but sounds like each bathroom is slightly different).
would stay here again (and ditto a previous reviewer's comments about the delicious breakfast croissants!)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank askmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattBeukelman, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Hello askmal -
Thank you for your comments. We were happy you chose the Hotel Shangrila and look forward to you next visit with us. Safe travels!
Matt Moore
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,546 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#15 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica

Property: Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica
Address: 1301 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-1019
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific since 1939, Hotel Shangri-La is a dramatic beacon of Art Deco beauty, Hollywood allure, and Los Angeles history. Perched on a high bluff, mere steps from the beach, this timeless Santa Monica boutique hotel has undergone a meticulous $30 million redesign -- promising you an idyllic haven of rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Groupon, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri La Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing