We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal hotel for rest and relaxation by the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shutters on the Beach
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2010

The obvious knock against this hotel is the price. From my research, it is the most expensive in Santa Monica. We stayed the last week of April, which I would consider off season, and the full ocean view king room was $535 a night. We received a free upgrade to a premier ocean view, which, of course, had a higher rate. However, other than price, I can’t really think of a complaint. I understand the similar rooms in Casa del Mar next door are bigger but for two of us, we had no complaints about the size of our room.

Our main objectives for our week long vacation in the Los Angeles area was rest and relaxation. We wanted to be by the ocean, in walking distance of shops and good restaurants, fitness room, spa nearby and a comfortable room to hang out in. Santa Monica became the obvious choice and only two hotels fit all the wants and were actually on the beach: Shutters and Casa del Mar. Shutters won because of the albeit tiny balcony but with huge glass doors and windows. We thoroughly enjoyed sitting on the balcony with coffee in the morning, or with books and a beverage in the afternoon, and even when it became too windy to sit on the balcony, loved having the doors open, the sun shining in and listening to the sound of the surf.

Our room was on the oceanside directly above the beach pathway at the front of the hotel. We enjoyed it thoroughly. We lounged in the super comfortable bed on lazy mornings watching the surf, reading, checking tv and drinking coffee from the in room machine. The bathroom was very spacious, full of spa amenities (some at an additional cost) with a jacuzzi tub and bathroom tv. We used room service frequently for buckets of ice, extra coffee and once for breakfast. Service was very quick. Complimentary bottles of water and a small basket of fruit were sent to us on our first night.

We tried both restaurants: Coast for breakfast and dinner at One Pico. Food and service were very good. We had drinks at the bar next to the reception area where we could gaze out on the beach or admire the art on the walls.

The fitness center and spa are small but the fitness center provided a good range of equipment and the spa treatment of massage and pedicure were excellent. One day we rented the hotel’s beach cruiser bicycles and pedalled to the Santa Monica State Beach. We also took advantage of the free yoga sessions.

There’s a small room for a business center, where we got boarding passes printed before departure, and a convenience shop with a range of clothing, beach, spa and gift items.

The only thing we did not experience was the pool area because it was not warm enough and too windy for us, although we saw others swimming about.

We would love to return.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,299 - 1,305 of 1,637 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2010

We stayed for 5 nights as a family of 4. We had a suite with a double room next door - It cost around $1500 per night for both plus taxes etc but there was real quality here: lovely decor, some really great touches and nice toiletries, books, games, fruit bowls etc. The beds were fantastic. The suite could have slept us all, at a push with a sofa bed and put up bed, but sofa beds are rarely a good option. So it was great to have the extra room of the suite as we used room service a lot - the standard rooms don't really have any room for spreading out.

The main restaurant was nice. The breakfast place, Coast, was pretty limited not great value. We found it hard to get a reasonable range of fruit and vegetables generally with our meals. In fact, the only time we ate well in LA was at the Four Seasons in Beverley Hills. If only Shutters could offer Four Seasons standards of catering, it would be a perfect retreat. The staff were all nice and looked after us. the communal areas were good too.

The pool is small and seemed old, but it was warm and the kids enjoyed it. The beach is sandy and clean but there is not much in the immediate area, except the pier. The local town - Third Street Promenade - is nice but we couldn't find any great places to eat there either. Venice Beach was grim. I think you need local knowledge to find the good places in Santa Monica - as there must be some decent restaurants somewhere!

I didn't visit the spa - the prices were over the top, although I appreciate that beauty treatments are generally more costly in the US than the rest of the world.

It is a nice retreat from the busy-ness of the rest of LA and if you like charming, old fashioned beach house style you will love this - I adored the decor with bowls of shells, etc. If you like modern and minimalist you won't be so keen - and if you like to watch TV forget it: the flat screens were not high quality and should be upgraded \ or something done about picture quality.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pandora68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2010

Well, It took us 3 years to finally go to this hotel, since reading all the hype about Shutters, but we were very disappointed and won't go back. The hotel has a road going through it, so you have to take two set of elevators to get to your room. We paid $740.00 for a ocean view room, which had a good view but not close to the water. The 400 square feet room was small, but felt smaller, with the big bed and separate tub, not much room to walk around. It's was nicely furnished and has a very comfortable bed and nice items to make you feel like home. But the problem, the room was so small, you felt closed in, close to the next guy next door, how can you fell like home unless you live in a apartment at home? This room and all the rooms have the smallest balcony in the world, you just have room to slide out and sit in the little chairs provided. The annoying thing if the neighbor is on their balcony you can hear their conversation, no privacy at all. Also the rooms aren't sound proof because I could hear them talk, flush the toilet and we were woke up around 830 am because the pipes were making a whistle sound. We figured out the noise was because our neighbors were talking a shower. We were on the 7 floor, which was the highest floor so I still can't understand why I heard the neighbor pipes when they were next door, they weren't on top of us. We looked at two Laker's games on the room TV, which was not clear, bad reception, the only station was clear was the hotel channel. I did think the employees were courteous and friendly. I had a great and enjoyable massage treatment called "Body Art" but the massage area was so small the waiting room was with men and women. I felt a little strange sitting naked in your robe with strange men in waiting room. The restaurants were just OK. The Coast was a disappointment. The ribs were terrible and my much advertised prime rib was tuff and dry and $160.00 later, make it even more of sour experience. The Point restaurant was a fraction better with its limited menu. The pool area was tight and not inviting and didn't have the attendant to give you towel or drinks or food. When ask where towels are located, the employee pointed across the way and if you want drinks or food, you need to call a number on the wall, which is room service to service you at pool side. Valet is $31.00 a day and too crowd area to provide good service. The hotel is on Five Star Alliance and other Five Star websites, but think twice if that's what you think you are getting at Shutters. There's a traces of 5 star at this hotel but it's not worth the money or the HYPE.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trotter13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregoryDay, Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2010

Dear Trotter13,

Thank you for taking the time to give us valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We certainly appreciate your gracious comments and are equally grateful for your insight where we have opportunities for improvement. Your comments will greatly help us to elevate our guests experience in the future.

Sincerely,
Gregory Day
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

This was a very average experience w/ two yound kids for four nights that was $2800. This is the kind of hotel that more caters to couples with deep pockets. The rooms are nice but very small not really suitable for a family of four, we were always putting something in the hall to get through our room. The hotel food is great but breakfast was extremely expensive ($6 for one egg...seriously) I guess they figure people will alway stay for breakfast. Lunch and supper prices were very good for the qaulity. The front staff isn't great the concierge sent us to restauarnts that were not open or very low qaulity. I guess if you have kids they figure fine dining is out though we are staying at a hotel that is $500/night. The front staff was also not very nice, I got the car/hotel combo deal and made sure to parking was included but when the bill came I was charged additional $33/day and the lady said sorry but my hands are tied.
The cleaning staff and valet, and doorman are the best....very friendly the front desk staff should step outside and get some sun maybe.
Things to be prepare for: Parking $33/day bottle of Water $11, wifi $12, egg $6. Whats is the $500/night for?

My suggestion would be to stop in to Shutters and have a meal and over look the ocean while dining....and save your thousands

Canada.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Had always heard so much about Shutters and it definitely lived up to the hype in most areas!. Rooms are clean and very nice. Bed was amazing! Food at restaurant was delicious and service was always very accomodating! It was great fun to be able to walk outside and rent bicycles and ride for miles on the beach. Venice beach is a little seedy though but alot of fun! Only negative was the service at the pool was surprising. You are basically on your own to set up and even when I tried to move a huge umbrella nobody moves to help you. The staff is very helpful in getting you food but aside from that there seemed to be an attitude that they may not have been wanting to be working that job! Glad we tried Shutters though and will remember the wonderful bed and bath products as well!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

This is a lovely property that focuses on the small touches. Very expensive - true, but the location is fabulous and something that everyone should treat themselves to at least once! I have stayed at the JW Marriot a few times previously, but wanted to try somewhere different for a change and what a positive change it was!
The room we had was right at the back of the hotel, but it was still gorgeous, I loved the bed, the bathroom and all of the personal in room touches.
The service was fine, not the best I have ever had, but not the worst, just fine.
The breakfast was divine and I am still craving the lemon ricotta hotcakes (the recipe is in the cookbook which is in the in-room library). We had cocktail by the fireplace, which was very nice and dinenr in the restaurant that looks out over the beach, boardwalk and pier.
This was a memorable experience for sure and next time I will save up to book a beachfront room, I imagine that would be the icing on the cake for a stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Palm_Cove_Princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Uppity as usual.... Spendy... Overpriced. Yes. View/Location Grat.

Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
Thank MahriahZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
977 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,911 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,598 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Beach

Address: 1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405-1063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $604 - $939 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shutters on the Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shutters on the Beach is more than just a spectacular place to stay, it’s the epitome of Southern California’s breezy lifestyle. This captivating hotel is located directly on the sand and within walking distance of the area’s biggest attractions including the Santa Monica Pier and hundreds of shops and restaurants. For business or pleasure, this quintessential beachfront hideaway is known as the place the high-profile go to be low-profile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shutters on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Beach Hotel Santa Monica
Shutters Beach
Shutters Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing