We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shutters on the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shutters on the Beach
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Great rooms, comfortable, quiet and well designed. Excellent bathroom. Brilliant location within walking distance of the Promenade and excellent restaurants. The reception staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. All in all, could not find fault.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Australian325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,628)
There are newer reviews for Shutters on the Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

854 - 860 of 1,628 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

What sets Shutters apart from it's competitors in Santa Monica, aside from the fantastic beachfront location, is the character of this resort. I've stayed at very few hotels like it. Nothing about it is "cookie-cutter". The rooms are warm and inviting and offer unique nick backs and personal touches that really do make you feel like you are staying at some cozy inn on the coast.
The beds are hands down the most comfortable I have ever slept in!! Water pressure in the shower is fantastic.
Service was great. Everyone is very friendly and willing to help. Special shout out to the valets who work hard navigating all those cars in such a small entrance as well as Jonathan in concierge who answered an abundance of questions during our stay. We had two meals at Coast as well as room service two mornings and all meals were excellent and room service was very prompt. Loved the music and drink specials in the cozy lobby each evening (think large overstuffed couches and blazing fireplaces). Pool deck is nice with great views. They have bicycles for rent which we used to take a quick ride down to Venice Beach - a must do! Location is great with the beach right in front, a close walk to the SM Pier, and many choices for restaurants also nearby. The hotel also provides complimentary lift in the "house car" on a first come, first serve basis which we used several times when we went to the promenade area and didn't feel like dealing with parking issues.
Unfortunately the spa and exercise room were under construction when we visited so I can't comment on those. I'm sure they will be wonderful when done. We did use the gym next door at Casa Del Mar which was small with no views but had all the basic equipment.
Of course, all this luxury and special treatment does come at a price which is not cheap. We opted for the basic rooms which is a gamble. Two of our rooms had a nice patio and chairs with views of the ocean if you looked down the street but also a lot of road noise being on the first floor of a major road. The other room was ground floor, lacked a patio,and looked out over what looked like air conditioning or heating units. We put my son in that room so it wasn't a major issue but in the future, I would probably splurge and upgrade to oceanfront or ocean view to have a better guarantee of room location and views. In addition, if you have any mobility issues, definitely request to be in the main building attached to the lobby or else you may have a pretty long walk (complete with two different elevators) to get to your room. I also think they should add a bigger gift shop/market since there really isn't any around and it's always nice to stock the rooms with waters and snacks (especially when traveling with kids).
Finally, making bikes and chairs for the beach ($15pp) complimentary would be a nice touch as you are already paying quite a premium for your room.
Would I return… most definitely. And probably splurge for that oceanfront room!

Room Tip: Two of our rooms had a peak of the ocean if you were out on the balcony but one was ground floor, no...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tla306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We were allocated a room at the corner of 2 streets (Pico and ???) partially facing the the beach. The traffic noise was very disturbing. There are trucks and buses coming in and out. We can even hear people talking outside. Air condition is old and noisy. Internet speed is slow! For the money you paid for, it is not worth it. The staffs at breakfast were loud and appeared to be rushing all the time. They were shouting at each other across the breakfast area! The greeter at breakfast was not friendly. If you can't smile you should not be a greeter!

Room Tip: Please do not choose any room facing Pico street or the street under the bridge! There are trucks co...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angel2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregoryDay, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Angel2112

Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We are truly sorry your stay did not live up to your expectations and our usual high standards. We always try to ensure the highest level of customer service in our restaurants and your comments will help us to improve. I assure you these issues have been addressed and we appreciate your invaluable feedback.

Sincerely,
Gregory Day, General Manager
Shutters on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

The service was great when we checked in. The staffs were polite. We were give room with partial ocean view on 3rd floor. The room was clean and nicely presented. However, the sound insulation on the room was very very poor! We could not sleep due to traffic noise and people talking outside. Spa and fitness center was under repair so I can't comment on it. Didn't try the restaurant because there are many nice restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WinWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

If price is not a concern, Shutters would be my top recommendation for a Santa Monica hotel. My ocean-front ground floor room had a daily rate north of $1,000 after taxes; and I was a bit disappointed when told at check-in that a room on a higher floor was not an option. Once I settled in, my stay was first-class all the way. Room service at Shutters beats dining at most restaurants in L.A. I enjoyed hot showers with very strong water pressure (tried to keep them to a minimum due to current drought) and loved the large jetted bathtub. The work-out facility is in excellent condition, although it's a bit on the small side. I had my first Men's Facial ever and it did not disappoint - thank you Jordan! Finally, the bed was extremely comfortable and offers a great night's sleep - although there is a chance you might be bothered by loud conversations and shouting coming from the ocean walk and beach throughout the night.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms have an incredible view, but the balcony is tiny
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew_29-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

From the drinks to the music, Shutters is just fantastic. The rooms are absolutely spectacular. The deluxe king ocean view is the way to go. The beds are super comfortable, the bathtub is fantastic and the balcony just perfect. Be sure to make advance reservations at the spa, as it fills up with hotel guests and locals. The restaurants are the same. The lobby has fabulous live jazz music on the weekends.

Overall: Great location, beautiful view, walking distance from the pier, 3rd street and lots of great bars and restaurants.

Food & Service: The food and service are both great (pancakes and granola parfait). The lobby service staff seem a little inexperienced and young, but the service is otherwise excellent.

Best Way to Book: Booking through AmEx often ensures a room upgrade (just a little hint). They also offer breakfast credit and a spa credit for premium cardholders.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoonlightRainSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

location , location , location

the view , the view , the view !!!!!

the bed , the bed , the bed !!!!!

the staff and very helpful and the place is well run

as new hotels come to the market perhaps the rooms are a bit small ............space for room service is cramped but for goodness sake MAN , the location in ON THE BEACH !!

amenities are generous ............ small touches impress like vitamin tonic left for guests each night
linen is good

the lobby is generous and comfortable which is a real plus over other establishments...........check it out and you will see what i mean

spa and gym were closed for a refurb on this visit

i liked the availability of gym bikes beach games and deckchairs ......... great touch guys !

we came with teenagers AND my granddaughter stayed over and everyone has been happy

nothing compares to shutters in santa monica ...............looks like it suits for all ages

I have my MINOR complaints but i continue to return ...........I have wondered if they will ever trip up but they are consistently good very good or excellent and even a moaning minnie like me has to give credit where credit is due ..........another good visit

this is NOT a paid for endorsement !............i am not supposed to be this happy !

Room Tip: be careful if you opt for an ocean view room ........... they can overlook the pool and centre well...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorrainesfavourite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
973 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,893 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,604 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Beach

Address: 1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405-1063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $601 - $939 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shutters on the Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shutters on the Beach is more than just a spectacular place to stay, it’s the epitome of Southern California’s breezy lifestyle. This captivating hotel is located directly on the sand and within walking distance of the area’s biggest attractions including the Santa Monica Pier and hundreds of shops and restaurants. For business or pleasure, this quintessential beachfront hideaway is known as the place the high-profile go to be low-profile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shutters on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Beach Hotel Santa Monica
Shutters Beach
Shutters Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing