We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pacific paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shutters on the Beach
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I love the simple elegance of Shutter's rooms. To walk into and see the ocean is just captivating. The beds are incredibly comfortable and cozy with layers of fine linens. The spacious jacuzzi bathroom - ocean visible from tub, with separate toilet and terrific shower is wonderful. The pool is beautiful - and the cold pitchers of water with citrus or cucumbers are a nice touch. Personnel are extremely friendly and accommodating and in fact during one visit housekeeping accidentally threw away some of my products and management quickly replaced. I love this spot!

Room Tip: Go for at least partial ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love2travelLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,692)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,017 - 1,023 of 1,692 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

Beautiful property from the moment you drive up front - I was struck by the beauty of the hotel, the palm fronds swaying, the shutters, beautiful shutters everywhere - all in white....
We had dinner reservations, gorgeous room, started off with cocktails that were superb and dove into the menu. After a day at the beach we wanted to treat our hostess to a lovely dinner and she chose the restaurant at Shutters - our meal was great but the vibe of the restaurant, wonderful conversation and a fun waiter made the night for us!

Me and my family hope to stay there next time we're in the LA area, too nice to pass up!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 00MVCA00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Spending well over 1000$ a day on room and overpriced drinks and they still dare to charge an outrageaous 30$ per uncomfortable seat and a bit of shade on the beach! They must have earned back the cost of a 50$ chair hundreds of times. Come on folks make it more accesible and take the money on service and drinks and food instead!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MFM333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Cool ambiance, comfortable rooms but not sure it´s worth the price. The personnel was very nice but not too attentive. We were only for a couple of days so worth visiting again to gain more experience.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Marin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We spent last week at The Shutters in Santa Monica. The room was adequate with a partial view of the ocean and entrance. Easy walking distance to the Santa Monica Pier and the Promenade which makes the location excellent. King sized bed was a little higher than standard and I'm 6' tall. Shower was hard to get in and out of as it is a combination jacuzzi and shower. The oversized shower head was dead center in the middle of the tub which was weird for us. Room service? Bring your money! $60 for one burger, order of fries, three cookies, and a bowl of berries! Had a snack in The Coast. Two pieces of cake with ice cream was $25. Bought a T-shirt in Gift Shop - $60. If you walk to the pier, you'll save a ton of money. Same if you walk to Promenade. We'll go back to Santa Monica but won't spend the money to stay at The Shutters. The service was above excellent but cost is way too high.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Doug K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My teen aged son and I went to Shutters for a mother and son weekend. We stayed only two nights but by the time we returned, we were both so relaxed, it was as though we had been on vacation for a month.

The service at Shutters is truly outstanding---and it's true what everyone says about the bedrooms---they combine luxury and homeyness in an extraordinary way. The patio was delightful---great for mornings when one of us woke up earlier than the other. This is a true destination hotel---unless you're going to Malibu or somewhere similarly lovely---leaving the hotel seems a shame.

It was too cold to use the pool but we still enjoyed the chaise longues around the pool very much. We will be back !!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60745Angelica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have been staying at Shutters regularly for the past 15 years. I was once its biggest fan and have sent literally hundreds of people here as well as hosted business meeting here. However, while I tried at first to overlook slowly increasing problems, they are now adding up to the point that my current stay (I am at Shutters now) may be my last.
The location is, of course, superb and the decor in the rooms (hardwood floors, nice New England-ish beach decor) rightly celebrated but this feels like a property that the owners are treating as a cash cow and to which they are not providing either the maintenance or the service that is needed.
There are lots of examples of deferred maintenance in the rooms and the amenities have not kept up with the times--the showerheads are small and old, there is no handheld shower, there are bits of rust and damage around the shower walls and so forth. Other parts of the room are similarly not up to current top-hotel standards--small stains on the robes, tubs and sinks showing their age with repair caulking in evidence. Hall carpets are a bit old and there are parts of the wall paper that are peeling--not huge and no big deal for a lesser hotel, but not ok in what purports to be a first class hotel.
But the slip in service is also striking. I have sat in the lobby in the afternoons and listened to angry customer after angry customer ask why they can't check in when it is after 4--I feel very sorry for the front desk staff, but why don't they hire an extra cleaning crew or two to start cleaning rooms right when people vacate--angry people waiting til after check in to check in is a bad first impression and an unnecessary one. Maid service used to be prompt but now I sometimes have to call after 4pm to ask if someone will be cleaning my room.

There are some exceptions--the most senior man who staffs the pull-in area is an icon--remembers one's name even when it has been a year and provides unfailingly polite service. And the location is good. But if I'm going to spend $800 a night before taxes, I think it is fair to expect owners to act like they care about the place as much as its cash flow.

Room Tip: rooms that end in 30 are terrible--the balconies ajoin open windows in the hallways so anyone can ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TravelingExec53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregoryDay, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Hello TravelingExec53,

Thank you for your continued years as a customer. I've reviewed your comment and I'm truly sorry for the mishaps that you have experienced here at Shutters on the Beach. Your review about our rooms and maintenance have truly been noted and I will use them to improve the experience for all of our future guest.

Sincerely,
Gregory Day, General Manager
Shutters on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,029 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,741 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
3,026 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,662 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Beach

Address: 1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405-1063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $656 - $927 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shutters on the Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shutters on the Beach is more than just a spectacular place to stay, it’s the epitome of Southern California’s breezy lifestyle. This captivating hotel is located directly on the sand and within walking distance of the area’s biggest attractions including the Santa Monica Pier and hundreds of shops and restaurants. For business or pleasure, this quintessential beachfront hideaway is known as the place the high-profile go to be low-profile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shutters on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Beach Hotel Santa Monica
Shutters Beach
Shutters Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing