We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shutters on the Beach
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Casa del Mar(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Seaview Hotel(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viceroy Santa Monica(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Bayside Hotel(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sea Blue Hotel(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Ocean Lodge Hotel(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,717)
Filter reviews
1,717 results
Traveler rating
971
377
176
100
93
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
971
377
176
100
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoast restaurantpico restaurantbeach houseroom servicesister hotelbeautiful hotelsanta monica beachcasa del marpool areafour seasonsfull ocean viewliving roomlos angelesocean frontluxury hotellobby barbeverly hills
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,096 - 1,101 of 1,717 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed three nights at Shutters in March, 2013. The rooms are nicely decorated and very comfortable. The bed is excellent. The bathroom is rich in luxury items like a large tub with a menu of bath accessories. There is a pool and sun deck, but the Santa Monica beach is right out the front door.

We had dinner one evening in Coast, the downstairs restaurant. Not cheap, but good and pleasant with a direct, street level view of the beach and in the corner of one's eye the Santa Monica Pier which is just down the walk way.

The staff at Shutters was friendly, fast and helpful. Valet parking was efficient and fast. The lobby bar, while expensive, is comfortable and pleasant with jazz one night that was nice to hear, and a DJ another who was not quite so nice to hear.

While the front desk was polite they did hand out directions to the Getty Center that led a winding tour through Brentwood to a locked gate to the Getty. What should have been a fifteen minute jaunt became close to an hour as we had to reset everything.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMLVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

While there is a lot going on around and near the hotel, from joggers on the beachside sidewalk to the funky, wacky doings of Venice Beach a short walk away, inside Shutters on the Beach is unique and classic at the same time. Rooms feel like a private home done by a top notch interior decorator not the usual cookie cutter chain hotel. As others have pointed out, the rates are high but this is yet another example of getting what you pay for. The staff could not have been nicer and more helpful. The jazz band on certain nights is a nice touch. There is a pool deck, spa and fitness center. It is a wonderful location on the water with superb sunsets, yet an easy drive to LAX without use of the clogged freeways.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a very nice place to stay. Something that makes this hotel special is that it's on the beach and is really close to the Santa Monica pier. Rumor has it many celebrities stay here and I have proof, not to brag but Bill Gates we've seen there. It truely is a simple but awesome hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Classic spot in and on the most costly land in LA. Decent to great rooms, depending upon where they are. Exorbitantly high prices, but if anyone expects anything other than that stay away.Stylish, need-to-be-seen people, all the amenities. Don't expect to fall in love with it but enjoy the seaside allure of Santa Monica beach. The best thing about it is the breakfast and lunch spot outside on the veranda in the white lattice shade. Great food, great waiters, sunny, makes a very nice event.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeandSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Shutters is on as prime a piece of real estate as you could imagine and I guess that's why they can justify the exorbitantly high price tag but at these rates I expected more. Our room, billed as partial sea view had a more than partial view of the parking lot. The toilet cubicle had a pervasive bad smell which I thought was the bath mat but turned out to apparently be the wallpaper. In addition there was a very bad odour (sort of like backed up sewage) outside the elevators and outside our door. I mentioned it to someone in housekeeping who said they would investigate but never did get to the bottom of it. There were two shampoos and no shower gel - things I wouldn't normally care about but at these prices............

We had lunch and breakfast in the hotel in the patio room at Coast. Breakfast service was very slow and again there was the constant gasp of shock at the prices ($5.50 for a portion of banana).

Finally in our last few hours when our business was done and we wanted to lounge by the pool there were no seats.

There were positives. Service was generally enthusiastic and the property itself is beautiful but we were generally disappointed given the prices and it was hard not to feel a little ripped off.

Room Tip: If you can afford it ask for a room inside the property with a FULL sea view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viator1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews