We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would give it an excellent but too expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shutters on the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shutters on the Beach
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Would give it an excellent but too expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in September...Tuesday to Friday... We booked a spa room but it felt like it was in the basement, but it is not. Bedroom and bathroom are large enought for 2 people but no more than that because it had a lot of furniture, but it really is a fabulous room. We paid about $1400 for the 3 nights for 2 people and really all we did was sleep there. You could not go to the beach as they had no rear entrance you had to walk around the front, at least we could not find any rear entrance. this is kind of strange as the hotel is ON the beach. It was $30 a night to park the car but we drove into Los Angeles and surrounding areas every day so we used the car every day. One night we went up to 3rd street and the atmosphere was brilliant up there...it is walking distance. Concierge was very good with giving driving instructions. If I ever went to stay in Santa Monica again I would stay on 3rd Street. I will review restaurants under restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReadyToFlyNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    317
    144
    82
    74
See reviews for
348
461
75
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and our 2 children stayed here in December 2012 , OMG !! amazing in every sense ! the hotels location is perfect and the hotel is gorgeous ! it has the best atmosphere.. warm , inviting , luxurious , great service , all wrapped up in one to create the best stay ever !
the reservations Manager went out of his way for us and assigned us a room with a to die for view and helped us with an early check in so we could refresh after our long flight from Australia . There are little "extra" in each room , i.e books to read , yo yos for kids . our kids loved them so much that I contacted the reservations manager after our stay and he organised the same yo yos for me , again , service that exceeds all expectations.. if you want a memorable and wonderful stay in a deluxe , amazing hotel , book now !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 21Family21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
318 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel exceeded our expectations. Being beachfront was so nice and the room is comfortable with a nice bathroom and most important the view to the beach is unbeatable in Santa Monica. We have usually stayed at the sister property Casa Del Mar but now we will stay at Shutters. The service is good, the bar is nice with a great jazz band and the restaurant is not only good but a very lovely and chic place to be. Overall we really like Shutters and will return.

Room Tip: Stay beachfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VoxVolpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I wanted so badly for this property to Wow me, not because my ego needs the boost but because as a Professional Travel Advisor and a member of Virtuoso I expected it to be outstanding and in many ways it came close but it just missed the mark for me.

One thing I'll never understand with high end hotels and resorts is when the front desk staff will check you in, give you your room key, wish you a pleasant stay and then send you on your way, when with just that little extra effort you could completely wow a guest and make their stay so much better.
All it takes is asking a guest 'have you stayed with us before' and if not then 'can I take a couple of minutes to explain the hotel facilities', but instead this hotel like so many just let guests linger and hope they discover all the available amenities which they often don't (it was only as I was checking out I discovered the hotel had bikes available).
As the saying goes, it takes so little to be above average, but unfortunately the check in staff were too busy balancing that almighty chip on their shoulder to bother going the extra mile.

While we're on the topic of the staff, unfortunately most that I encountered had forgotten they were there to serve and instead were full of attitude (with the exception of one indian front door attendant who was brilliant), such a shame as I don't need to be looked down on by hotel staff, especially when I'm the one paying their wages.

The property itself was lovely, it was a shame that we weren't shown to our room as it's a bit of a maze and there were no lights on in our room so we were left in the dark scouring for light switches which wasn't the welcome I'd expect at a property of this calibre, but the decor was homely and felt more like you were staying at a family beach house, overall aside from the sticky residue the housekeeper hadn't wiped off the bedside table from the last guest it was lovely.

It was nice to find a bathroom of decent proportions, especially after the rabbit warren of a bathroom I experienced at Fairmont Miramar several months earlier.

The location of the room was terrible, I have no doubt I was given the worst room in the entire property, with an outlook over the side lane and zero privacy when the blinds were open due to our street level location.

Location wise you can't complain, right on the beach, its great, although equally great is their sister property Casa Del Mar (where I'll be staying next time) and to a lesser extent Loews.

Would I stay here again, I don't know to be honest but I would say unless you're staying in an Ocean View room you're completely wasting your time and money at this hotel, you may as well stay off the beach if you're not going to take advantage of the views as the attitude from staff and the poor views from non-Ocean View Rooms really isn't worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Priveluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Very comfortable hotel right on the fantastic Santa Monica beach. Main lobby has a relaxed feel to it and a design similar to a Ralph Lauren store.
Train set for Xmas was a nice touch.
Rooms comfortable and well equipped but the beds whilst ultra comfortable are on the high side so avoid falling out.
Santa Monica Pier is yards away and Venice Beach is approx 1 mile on a bike or foot.
Great restaurants in the city - Boa Steakhouse and Tar & Roses simply fantastic.
Plenty of places nearby for breakfast if you want a change from the hotel.M Street Kitchen is where the locals have breakfast - 10min walk on Main Street
Hire bikes as a 26 mile bike path is on the doorstep.
Internet expensive at $12 a day !! How come Hotel Giraffe New York can offer it free?
Great shopping 10 mins away

Room Tip: The cheap ones don't have a sea view which is not a problem if it's misty or raining
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitor66_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

While visiting our son for Thanksgiving week, we decided we wanted to spoil ourselves at Shutters. The location on the beach in Santa Monica is fantastic, the rooms are comfortable and cottage-like, the service fantastic, an inviting lobby, great pool, and very good restaurants. The spa was really nice although the steam rooms were out of order the day we really wanted it when we took our Thanksgiving Day family 'plunge' in the Pacific. Added to the charm were surprises like great books in the library in our room, AMAZING munchies in our mini-bar, and Havaianas flip flops in the lockers in the spa.
We adored this hotel and look forward to another visit!

Room Tip: If you can afford an ocean view or partial ocean view on the top floor, go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and i stayed here in early November for a few days visiting friends going to the Breeders Cup. Our first visit to Santa Monica. Shutters is certainly a very nice spot. Great location. Great facility and decent service. While the rooms are nicely done with a cottage/homey feel, they are quite small -- at least ours was. So while it is no doubt a very nice spot, I'm not sure its worth the price. I'm not an expert on the local hotel rates etc, but that's just my opinion from staying at luxury spots all over US. One thing that i found annoying -- the bar area in the main lobby was a zoo and very loud the couple of days we were there. It's very nice, but you can hardly have a conversation. Overall -- it's a wonderful spot and a great location -- nice, but small room, and perhaps a bit pricey for what it is.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_wm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#2 of 35 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 757 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 35 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 2,425 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#3 of 35 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#17 of 35 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 2,096 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#7 of 35 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Beach

Property: Shutters on the Beach
Address: 1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405-1063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shutters on the Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shutters on the Beach is more than just a spectacular place to stay, it’s the epitome of Southern California’s breezy lifestyle. This captivating hotel is located directly on the sand and within walking distance of the area’s biggest attractions including the Santa Monica Pier and hundreds of shops and restaurants. For business or pleasure, this quintessential beachfront hideaway is known as the place the high-profile go to be low-profile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Shutters on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Beach Hotel Santa Monica
Shutters Beach
Shutters Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing