We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great spot but average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shutters on the Beach
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great spot but average hotel”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

i enjoyed the decor, position and views, but was annoyed at how far we had to walk to get to our room, we had to change lifts and walk around the entire hotel each time we needed to get access to our room and overall i felt it was overpriced for what we had....pity as its such a good spot, but needs to be more user friendly..........

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlieziri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    354
    163
    96
    86
See reviews for
433
553
92
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have wanted to stay here for years and except the first night when we had to change rooms due to the Internet not working for some unknown reason it was a wonderful stay.
We had a spa room off the pool which does not have a view but is a large room with a terrace and direct access to the pool area. The rooms looking directly on the beach looked amazing.
The lobby is a bit scary when you come in first. It's a hive of activity and is loud, however when you get used to it it's interesting.
Pool area is lovely. There are chairs on the beach too.
Restaurant at beach level is busy, casual and average. Breakfast here was better than dinner.
Concierge was helpful and the town car came in handy for the shopping!
Parking at the front of hotel was a bit of a nightmare.

Room Tip: There are Internet blind spots so beware. A spa room is large enough for an accompanying teenager.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hardtofindaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Just spent 6 nights with Shutters for work and pleasure. I go every year at the same time and each year it gets better. From the style to the position to the service, everything in this hotel is sublime. Nothing is too much to ask from the courteous staff and this ambient approach is reflected throughout the hotel. Thank you all for a wonderful stay.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Harvey Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kusnacht, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed here with my family again in October for a few nights before we had to go home. It was really nice to come back here and I was surprised that we were welcomed "back". I thought this was a really nice touch. We booked the same rooms again because they are connecting, and although they are on the small side, I decided that I still really like them. They are beautifully decorated (nothing changed from our visit last year, I am just noticing it again), and I think the color palette of pastel blues and sea greens is very calming and perfectly in keeping with the views outside.
I love the views! I love to wake up to see sunrise over the ocean, and all the surfers out there on their boards!!! This alone is worth a visit to Santa Monica!
I used the concierge this time and he was awesome. So, so nice and he could do really absolutely everything. I feel like if I tried to order the moon I could have had that sent to our door!
I also used the fitness center. I liked it. Cozy, intimate, the machines were not the newest but definitely not old - there was a nice free weights area too.
Everyone who worked there whom we encountered was very very nice - also the housekeeping ladies. My only observation would be that, for families with children, perhaps housekeeping could try to come before 7 pm; our ladies were coming at 9 pm and that was a bit too late because we were all so tired from all the fun we were having!
We ate at Coast, the food was really good and thank God they serve vegetables so that is something great. Service also good, nice people there. I had breakfast there two mornings and enjoyed it very much, the atmosphere is also awesome.
I still liked it! I will still go back! Still can't manage to get a seat in the lounge though... :-(
That is my goal for the next trip.

Room Tip: If you take full ocean view, your room looks over the parking lot. That isn't so great, but it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heavycat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

There really are very few high-end hotels where you feel that every dollar spent is worth it. Shutters is one of those places. Every detail makes you feel like you have the comforts of home times a thousand. The beds are absolutely the most comfortable I have ever slept in, and the only reason I even get out of them in the morning is to eat the delicious breakfast downstairs at Coast. Jacuzzi tubs, high-def flat screens, shelves full of good books, and even a place to plug in your ipod just add to the fun and the experience. In the evening, hang out in the plush lobby and listen to a world-class jazz band while sipping a wine from their incredible list. Then eat a world-class dinner at One Pico before heading back to your room and diving back into that incredible bed. Heaven.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Shutters has been my "home away from home" for all business travels to California since the mid 1990's. The staff is the best and has always been willing to accomodate my every need, whether business or pleasure. When meeting with clients at Shutters, you feel as comfortable as you would in your own office, with the added benefit of dynamite views of the ocean, wonderful dining options and a location directly on the beach, not on some adjacent street claiming oceanfront, as many hotels in Santa Monica, such as Lowes, like to do. The rooms are quite unique, with elegant design florishes reminiscent of an early California beach house, feathring outdoor decks, and the best beds and linens money can buy. I would recommend staying in the "beach house" section of the hotel if possible, request a full or partial ocean view, the room with a fireplace, or the one with a small kitchen. However, any room at Shutters on the Beach, is a great experience.

Room Tip: Request a room with a direct ocean view and in the "beach house" if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Of course you have to have some money to stay here but the hotel is extremely well maintained, beautiful and the service remarkable. We love the lobby where you can eat and watch the ocean out doors on the deck or go inside to eat at the extremely posh restaurant, Pico One. You feel perfectly pampered in this hotel, but stepping out onto the beach and boardwalk, you are faced with the reality of some characters of Venice beach to get you back to the real world. Even so, a pleasant walk along the Pacific Ocean, a view of the ocean while you snack in the lobby or fine dine in the restaurant, can't be anything less than wonderful for the time you are there. On some nights, there is a piano player in the lobby as you listen on large, comfortable couches.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dancerLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
940 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,856 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,547 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Beach

Property: Shutters on the Beach
Address: 1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405-1063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shutters on the Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shutters on the Beach is more than just a spectacular place to stay, it’s the epitome of Southern California’s breezy lifestyle. This captivating hotel is located directly on the sand and within walking distance of the area’s biggest attractions including the Santa Monica Pier and hundreds of shops and restaurants. For business or pleasure, this quintessential beachfront hideaway is known as the place the high-profile go to be low-profile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shutters on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Beach Hotel Santa Monica
Shutters Beach
Shutters Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing