We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shutters on the Beach
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heaven on the Beach”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

There really are very few high-end hotels where you feel that every dollar spent is worth it. Shutters is one of those places. Every detail makes you feel like you have the comforts of home times a thousand. The beds are absolutely the most comfortable I have ever slept in, and the only reason I even get out of them in the morning is to eat the delicious breakfast downstairs at Coast. Jacuzzi tubs, high-def flat screens, shelves full of good books, and even a place to plug in your ipod just add to the fun and the experience. In the evening, hang out in the plush lobby and listen to a world-class jazz band while sipping a wine from their incredible list. Then eat a world-class dinner at One Pico before heading back to your room and diving back into that incredible bed. Heaven.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    354
    163
    96
    86
See reviews for
433
553
92
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Shutters has been my "home away from home" for all business travels to California since the mid 1990's. The staff is the best and has always been willing to accomodate my every need, whether business or pleasure. When meeting with clients at Shutters, you feel as comfortable as you would in your own office, with the added benefit of dynamite views of the ocean, wonderful dining options and a location directly on the beach, not on some adjacent street claiming oceanfront, as many hotels in Santa Monica, such as Lowes, like to do. The rooms are quite unique, with elegant design florishes reminiscent of an early California beach house, feathring outdoor decks, and the best beds and linens money can buy. I would recommend staying in the "beach house" section of the hotel if possible, request a full or partial ocean view, the room with a fireplace, or the one with a small kitchen. However, any room at Shutters on the Beach, is a great experience.

Room Tip: Request a room with a direct ocean view and in the "beach house" if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Of course you have to have some money to stay here but the hotel is extremely well maintained, beautiful and the service remarkable. We love the lobby where you can eat and watch the ocean out doors on the deck or go inside to eat at the extremely posh restaurant, Pico One. You feel perfectly pampered in this hotel, but stepping out onto the beach and boardwalk, you are faced with the reality of some characters of Venice beach to get you back to the real world. Even so, a pleasant walk along the Pacific Ocean, a view of the ocean while you snack in the lobby or fine dine in the restaurant, can't be anything less than wonderful for the time you are there. On some nights, there is a piano player in the lobby as you listen on large, comfortable couches.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dancerLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlegregory, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just back from 4 nights in Shutters and can only highly recommend it. We were delayed by 24 hours getting there so we were exhausted on arrival to the first destination of our honeymoon. We were greeted so warmly on arrival and as we were on our honeymoon we were given an extra special room by Chris an Mia. Amazing rooms and just beautiful hotel. The most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The lobby has a fab atmosphere with loads of candles to add to the amazing decor. Beautiful Coast restaurant for breakfast. Jonathan on the Concierge desk was very helpful with recommendations and reservations. As a person who enjoys great hotels and great service with an eye for the small details I can whole heartedly recommend this hotel, although I would nearly prefer to keep it as well kept secret. we will certainly be back next time we are on the west coast!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AislingAndTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at Shutters as part of our vacation celebrating our anniversary. We had stayed for 2 nights in LA at a top hotel and I don't even remember it because Shutters was so special. We requested a room overlooking the water which I think added to the ambiance. The hotel had a homey, elegant feel. We had our anniversary dinner at the restaurant and they seated us overlooking the beach and the ferris wheel on the pier. The food and service were top notch. I've stayed at a lot of hotels, this ranks at the top of favorites!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Superb four-night stay at this hotel. Yes, it is pricey but the rooms are among the best and the service and location excellent. Spa very good too and the pool is just the right place for sunset. But don't order the prawn cocktail, five prawns on ice for 17 dollars!
Bar very convivial and Coast restaurant excellent for breakfast and dinner.
Would agree with previous reviewers about choosing your room carefully, you want to be in the original building or overlooking the pool, not in the annexe behind.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Shutters is truly in a class of its own. When I check in, I spend every minute that I can at the hotel. My favorite part about this little gem is that it doesn't feel like a hotel, but it feels like a second home. This is mainly because of the design and decor, which is very high end and beach chic. They obviously spent a lot of time and money on the decor, which is evident even in the lighting of the lobby and rooms. The lighting in the lobby is warm, and glows in candlelight when the sun goes down. On some nights (I think Thursday-Saturdays), a live jazz band plays killer music for cocktail-sipping patrons, truly wonderful. The beds in the rooms are like clouds - the most comfortable I have ever slept in. They just recently redid the gym to include more cardio machines, an improvement which was needed. If I could live at Shutters, I most definitely would! Their wine list is pretty spectacular as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joaniehudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
940 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,856 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,547 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Beach

Property: Shutters on the Beach
Address: 1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405-1063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shutters on the Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shutters on the Beach is more than just a spectacular place to stay, it’s the epitome of Southern California’s breezy lifestyle. This captivating hotel is located directly on the sand and within walking distance of the area’s biggest attractions including the Santa Monica Pier and hundreds of shops and restaurants. For business or pleasure, this quintessential beachfront hideaway is known as the place the high-profile go to be low-profile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shutters on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Beach Hotel Santa Monica
Shutters Beach
Shutters Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing