We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shutters on the Beach
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Castlegregory, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just back from 4 nights in Shutters and can only highly recommend it. We were delayed by 24 hours getting there so we were exhausted on arrival to the first destination of our honeymoon. We were greeted so warmly on arrival and as we were on our honeymoon we were given an extra special room by Chris an Mia. Amazing rooms and just beautiful hotel. The most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The lobby has a fab atmosphere with loads of candles to add to the amazing decor. Beautiful Coast restaurant for breakfast. Jonathan on the Concierge desk was very helpful with recommendations and reservations. As a person who enjoys great hotels and great service with an eye for the small details I can whole heartedly recommend this hotel, although I would nearly prefer to keep it as well kept secret. we will certainly be back next time we are on the west coast!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AislingAndTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    346
    156
    92
    80
See reviews for
400
535
88
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at Shutters as part of our vacation celebrating our anniversary. We had stayed for 2 nights in LA at a top hotel and I don't even remember it because Shutters was so special. We requested a room overlooking the water which I think added to the ambiance. The hotel had a homey, elegant feel. We had our anniversary dinner at the restaurant and they seated us overlooking the beach and the ferris wheel on the pier. The food and service were top notch. I've stayed at a lot of hotels, this ranks at the top of favorites!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Superb four-night stay at this hotel. Yes, it is pricey but the rooms are among the best and the service and location excellent. Spa very good too and the pool is just the right place for sunset. But don't order the prawn cocktail, five prawns on ice for 17 dollars!
Bar very convivial and Coast restaurant excellent for breakfast and dinner.
Would agree with previous reviewers about choosing your room carefully, you want to be in the original building or overlooking the pool, not in the annexe behind.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Shutters is truly in a class of its own. When I check in, I spend every minute that I can at the hotel. My favorite part about this little gem is that it doesn't feel like a hotel, but it feels like a second home. This is mainly because of the design and decor, which is very high end and beach chic. They obviously spent a lot of time and money on the decor, which is evident even in the lighting of the lobby and rooms. The lighting in the lobby is warm, and glows in candlelight when the sun goes down. On some nights (I think Thursday-Saturdays), a live jazz band plays killer music for cocktail-sipping patrons, truly wonderful. The beds in the rooms are like clouds - the most comfortable I have ever slept in. They just recently redid the gym to include more cardio machines, an improvement which was needed. If I could live at Shutters, I most definitely would! Their wine list is pretty spectacular as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joaniehudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Real simple. Made a reservation months and months in advance and was guaranteed a special room for our 20 year anniversary. Found out when we got there that they don't guarantee a specific room. They refused to care let alone help. Talked with Tony [--], who just happens to not give a hoot unless your someone famous. We told him we were recommended to them and we know people and we will share our terrible experience. Tony stated, who? who do you know? I doubt you know anyone special. Wow, what a loser thing to say.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregoryDay, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Robert,

I am saddened to hear that your stay with us was subpar and that we could not make your anniversary weekend a pleasant one. We strive to make every guest feel comfortable and welcomed.

I sincerely apologize for the way you were treated by one of our staff members and want you to know that we are addressing the issue in the strongest possible way. Thank you for taking the time to bring this to my attention.

Sincerely,
Gregory Day
General Manager, Shutters on the Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Shutters for 2 nights and it was just amazing! I especially have to praise their housekeeping department, they don't just clean your room but also tidy up, neatly fold your clothes etc. That should be the standard in every 5 star property but unfortunately it isn't anymore. The rooms are wonderful and the bed to pretty to sleep in it. The bathrooms are fantastic, maybe a little vanity corner would be nice to sit down and get ready for the evening but then again the jacuzzi bathtub makes up for it. It's like home :). The only real negative was that the authorisation on my cc took 10 days to be released but not sure if that's the hotels fault.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaBj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

love this place been here about 5 times, always get a room facing the ocean so you can relax in the tub and look at the beach and ocean. Beds are super comfortable and I slept like a baby

Great hotel food, never had a bad meal

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMM405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
910 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,782 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,456 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Beach

Property: Shutters on the Beach
Address: 1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405-1063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shutters on the Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shutters on the Beach is more than just a spectacular place to stay, it’s the epitome of Southern California’s breezy lifestyle. This captivating hotel is located directly on the sand and within walking distance of the area’s biggest attractions including the Santa Monica Pier and hundreds of shops and restaurants. For business or pleasure, this quintessential beachfront hideaway is known as the place the high-profile go to be low-profile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shutters on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Beach Hotel Santa Monica
Shutters Beach
Shutters Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing