We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is undergoing major renovations--no pool, loud noise, etc.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shutters on the Beach
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“This hotel is undergoing major renovations--no pool, loud noise, etc.”
Reviewed February 25, 2008

I stayed for nine nights in Shutters in February, 2008. The pool, pool terrace, spa, its first tier restaurant were closed, and the place was a mess. There was loud construction noise running from 8 AM until after 6 PM. The hotel should have closed for a period of time, but instead charges full rates and simply places signs up apologizing for the inconvenience as one walks through construction noise and dirt. The hotel gave no advance warning to me that any of this was in process. At this point in time I would not recommend Shutters to any one and I would question any reservations for the future since the hotel owners have engaged in misrepresentation and deception. In comparison, one of my favorite hotels, The Connaught, in London sent me a nice note announcing its closing for restorations.

  • Liked — Lobby bar with fireplaces
  • Disliked — Construction Noise, Pool and other facilities closed for renovation.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank cosmo144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    354
    163
    96
    86
See reviews for
433
553
92
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2008

Shutters
Santa Monica
11 & 12 February 2008
Such a fine hotel! From the moment you pull into the cramped portico, there’s an air of intelligent professionalism that makes you feel that the management believes taking care of guests is a high art.
It’s hard to pinpoint what’s so special about the visual aspect of the place. The décor is traditional and not obviously original or highly stylish. It’s just in plain good-taste, comfortable and luxurious without being pretentious or extravagant. What IS extravagant is the abundance of amenities and, literally toys, in the rooms. From the iPod dock-radio, to a dozen or more coffee table books, to a yo-yo and juggling balls (to mention a few of the accessories), it’s a miracle that there’s still room for guest belongings, but yes, there is room…and plenty of it. And that’s even though the rooms aren’t giant-sized.
The shelf unit that holds the TV etc. is especially effective. It contains bookshelves with lots of space for the heretofore mentioned toys and books, plus covered shelves below for the mini bar and in-room store (which I fervently believe should remain behind closed doors.)
The bathroom, however IS rather giant-sized, with a huge Jacuzzi tub, separate WC and shower, and complete with a rubber whale bath toy. The only thing that I found annoying in the bathrooms was the cabinet full of toiletry products, including toothpaste, for sale.
Two other annoying things: the turn down room attendant changed my radio station of choice, and left a cumbersome coffee set up. I’m happier NOT to have a coffee maker in my room (If I want in-room food preparation, I’ll rent a vacation flat.) and I’d rather not have a large gizmo show up on my desk. Also the internet charge ($12 a day) was excessive after having free internet in most of our hotels. Another big downer when I was there: they were renovating the swimming pool. Having no pool to hang out at was bad enough, but the jack-hammering all afternoon was hard to bear. Thank goodness their sister hotel, Casa del Mar, is right next door for sunning and swimming. I’m sure the job is done by now, but just in case, ask.
Coast, the casual restaurant is right on the beach. You look out on the Santa Monica pier. The location is fabulous. The world goes by. It’s LALA land at its best.
I’ve stayed at Shutters several times; the first was just after it opened about 15 years ago. At one point it seemed dated, but the current look and feel is really very okay. It didn’t go the boutique-y route. The rooms and public spaces are beautiful shades of blue and beige, and the furniture is rounded and cushy. All in all: good going , Shutters!

  • Liked — Room design.
  • Disliked — Pool renovation currently underway.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dancingnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2008

The hotel did not tell us that work was being done on the pool - They charged the price of a partial view when the day we moved in it was promptly being obscured by scaffolding and the workers climbing all over it, peering into our balcony.

Room service chef of the evening is OK but the daytime chef is a disaster, his cooking is foul, we had to return a simple chicken broth that tasted I would imagine of dirty dishwater. The worst is the general manager, who lied to us about the hours of the work, and offered no solutions to any of the problems. A place to avoid when visiting this adorable city.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank stevenieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yvr
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2008

Yes, the interior is gorgeous and the beds are comfy, BUT There is renovation going on at the pool, which was not open. We woke up to hammering, power saws and and construction noise. We were not warned about this on booking. And we had to walk under a roof that was being painted. I would not have stayed here, on a weekend that was supposed to be for relaxing. We envisioned a weekend of relaxing and sitting in the sun!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank di4520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vellinge, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2008

Shutters on the beach is a great hotel - no doubt about it. The interior is wonderful and the staff is outstanding. We booked a spa room with no view. The room was great. Everything you expect in a five start hotel but slippers. The floor was cold so a pair of slippers or two would be nice in a spa room. During our stay we had some smaller problems. The safe did not work, the valet parking forgot our car so we had to wait for 30 minutes, dirty glasses were note removed by housekeeping, our mini bar was not filled up one of the days and late housekeeping. The staff was very friendly and everything was fixed immediately after one phone call but things like this should work on a five star hotel. As compensation we received a free dinner one of the days.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Greeboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2008

Shutters could not be in a better spot. Its down next the boardwalk on the Venice side of Santa Monica pier. But not too close to Venice with all the 'entertaining and colourful' characters that place seems to cling onto.

Its a wooden framed place with an upmarket restaurant and and beachside place with a bar. There's also a bar at the reception level.

Its clearly also popular with LA residents which is slightly annoying in that I found it impossible to get a seat in the main bar area for the 2 nights I was there and had to reluctantly go downstairs to the very quiet beachside bar. Annoying for $600/night.

The rooms are relaxed and functional. Reasonably well equipped with a comfortable bed and a decent bath which I also mark a plus.

The staff have that classic LA 'I only work here between acting jobs' vibe although I am sure some of them were not in fact actors at all, its just an aura you pick up from living here. But they were polite and attentive if at times slightly slow to pick up on requirements.

The restaurant menus were actually pretty uninspiring and the food was OK but nothing at all to get excited about. I'd eat out.

There's also a small pool but once a couple of people were in it it was 'full'. There's a nice decking area for sunbathing in front of the pool facing the beach.

Anyway, a pleasant enough place to stay--much nicer for instance than the Peninsula in Beverly Hills where I was recently, which has the bling factor but if you do not have a car you're in trouble. Here part of the fun is that everything is walkable.

As good as but no better than The Huntley in my view. Which is also in Santa Monica but no on the beach but nearer to the night action.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank londonbiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, CT
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2008

Shutters exceeded our expectations - the rooms are truly the best hotel rooms we have EVER stayed in (and that includes Four Seasons and Ritz's all over the globe). The rooms truly make you feel at home - hardwood floors, real books, and a very spacious layout. The overall feel of the hotel is great as it is situated right on the beach in Santa Monica and a short walk to the pier and 3rd street shopping area.

While this is now one of our most favorite hotels, it does have a few flaws - the housekeeping staff must be understaffed, because they never cleaned our room until sometime after 2:00 each day - rare for a 4.5 to 5 star hotel. Additionally, the pool is very small - I can only imagine what the pool area must be like during the peak summer season.

There are two restaurants at the hotel and both had great food and service. Pricey as expected from a high-end hotel however.

  • Liked — Rooms / interior design
  • Disliked — Maid service
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvonTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
940 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,856 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,546 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Beach

Property: Shutters on the Beach
Address: 1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405-1063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shutters on the Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shutters on the Beach is more than just a spectacular place to stay, it’s the epitome of Southern California’s breezy lifestyle. This captivating hotel is located directly on the sand and within walking distance of the area’s biggest attractions including the Santa Monica Pier and hundreds of shops and restaurants. For business or pleasure, this quintessential beachfront hideaway is known as the place the high-profile go to be low-profile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shutters on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Beach Hotel Santa Monica
Shutters Beach
Shutters Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing