We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shutters on the Beach
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We visited in July 2012 as a family with our two kids aged 4 and 1. The hotel is glorious. Lovely rooms, very cool location, amazing food. We stayed in a suite on the third floor and had a great room and were very happy. The only criticism I have is the valet parking was incredibly slow - we had to wait 20 minutes on one occasion. Other than that we had a great experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,628)
There are newer reviews for Shutters on the Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,103 - 1,109 of 1,628 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

I booked 3 nights at Shutters for my wife and I in July 2012. Overall this was the most disappointing of all the hotels we stayed at in California. It started at check in and only went downhill from there. The service was bad and came with a double helping of attitude! For example when we ordered breakfast one of the Menu choices came with coffee and orange juice. The server brought the Breakfast and after a few minutes when we asked about the orange juice and coffee she said 'we hadn't specified that we wanted those items' despite these being clearly part of the meal we ordered. We had booked a partial ocean view room but the only place you could see the ocean from was if you leaned out of the small balcony! You would think that Internet would be included for $800+ per night but this was not the case. The room was smallish with an open plan bathroom ( not ideal if you want to use the bathroom in private). In addition, getting to the room was a bit of a hassle as you needed to take two separate elevators to get to there and a long walk. The elevators were also old and creaky. The bed was uncomfortable with a very soft mattress, so neither of us slept well. Other things that you expect to be included in the rate are bike rentals which were $20 for the hour. Also, to pay $6 (yes for one!) banana at breakfast seemed a bit excessive. Despite the above we would come back for a drink in the bar on the terrace which has great views and also decent food. All in all not worth it, there are some amazing places to stay in California and sadly this is not one of them, even though it looks amazing on the website.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank LondonMik09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The Shutters is an amazing hotel! From the rooms to the wonderful staff to the amazing location and beautiful beach, you can't go wrong! The beds are amazingly comfortable, too! I was so sad to check out and jealous of those who were checking in! Next time I will stay two or more weeks! Although it is a little pricey, it was worth every penny! I felt extremely pampered during my stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaylynnHernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I really wish I could have loved Shutters. It is located right on the beach, the rooms are comfortable and quirky. But the service doesn't measure up to the price, and the staff's attitude is, for lack of a better word, snooty. We ended up leaving after day two of the four day stay we had booked and moved to the Loew's Hotel nearby, which had incredible customer service and a comparable location.

Room Tip: To get to our room, we had to take an elevator to the third floor, walk down a long hallway, and the...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kbomoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

And I am hard to please.

Location - right on the south side of the Santa Monica beach. You walk outside the hotel (from the downstairs) and you're right on the beach!

The rooms are spacious and have a balcony. The detail in the rooms are impressive, from classic books to jungling balls, sauna bath-tubs to tv's in the bathroom.

Wet/dry bar in room, hair dryer, soup, etc are all in room. However, no coffee maker but they have coffee in the lobby in the mornings for free.

My only regret is that I was planning to stay there again (August 1-3, 2012) and the hotel is sold-out! How disappointing! I guess, I have to find somewhere else to stay. :(

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tam9elk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed here for just one night on a short stopover in LA. We wanted a classic, traditional hotel out of downtown LA and this fit the bill perfectly. Was very nice and they delivered what they promised. Space is a premium here so there's not much of it. Balconies are tiny and partial ocean view means just that. But the staff is nice, the rooms are very comfortable and it was just what we needed for the purpose.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PittTravel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We spent 5 nights at Shutters and booked two adjoining rooms. The rooms are lovely, definitely big enough for two people and the beds are very comfortable. Both rooms had a "partial" ocean view, which was lovely and I preferred not to be right on the front of the promenade where everyone walks past anyway. It is a little bit of a "maze" to get to the room, taking two different elevators, but you get used to it very quickly.

The lobby staff, concierge, doormen and valets are all very friendly and professional. The cafe downstairs is okay but a little pricey for breakfast. There are other places for breakfast not too far away, so it's work checking out yelp. Lunch at the cafe was also quite nice but again there are better restaurants in Santa Monica.

The location is fabulous and there is always so much to watch as people walk, run, rollerblade, and cycle past Shutters. The Pier is 5mins walk and the 3rd street promenade and other shops only 15mins walk as well.

We had a rental car, which was great as we went to Universal Studios, Hollywood, and other places in LA several times. In general we could be in downtown within about 20mins during the day.

The only thing we were surprised about was how chilly Santa Monica is in the summer. We were expecting to be able to sunbathe and swim and it wasn't really an option at 22C. It's much warmer in downtown LA (26C) but prefer the view and atmosphere of Santa Monica.

We would definitely go back to Shutters!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank JulesSuzuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
972 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,893 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,604 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Beach

Address: 1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405-1063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $601 - $940 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shutters on the Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shutters on the Beach is more than just a spectacular place to stay, it’s the epitome of Southern California’s breezy lifestyle. This captivating hotel is located directly on the sand and within walking distance of the area’s biggest attractions including the Santa Monica Pier and hundreds of shops and restaurants. For business or pleasure, this quintessential beachfront hideaway is known as the place the high-profile go to be low-profile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shutters on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Beach Hotel Santa Monica
Shutters Beach
Shutters Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing