We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Live and Learn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shutters on the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shutters on the Beach
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
514 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
“Live and Learn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

My husband and I traveled to CA to visit my daughter and son-in-law in October, 2011. I wanted to “splurge” and stay at Shutters on the Beach, as I saw it highly recommended on a cable travel show. We booked through our AMX premium travel service because we received a few extra perks with the reservation (Upgraded room, if available, treats in room, $50 daily credit toward breakfast and one time $100 spa credit). Even with these perks – the room was still expensive (room rate of $600 per night – not including taxes). Never being to Santa Monica before, I thought it was a going rate - albeit a bit high. We flew in from Baltimore and arrived tired at about 6pm Pacific. We were never offered and upgrade – I didn’t say anything because at the moment I thought they could be sold out of the upgraded rooms….”not so” said the hotel housekeeping – plenty of rooms available. The room was great – but I have stayed in better rooms at less than half the cost – and in Very High End areas. The breakfast was outrageously expensive and $50 just paid for half our daily bill. In Santa Monica, I did enjoy the dining options, beach and attractions – spending time with my daughter and son-in-law doing all the touristy things in the area. BUT – I found many TOP hotels that were just as good and maybe better for MUCH less. At a comparable hotel with a deluxe ocean view with a beautiful bathroom and full ocean view in October 2012 over a weekend is $335 per night (4 nights - $1,340 plus taxes). At Shutters we paid over $2400 not including taxes – just for the room rate. LIVE AND LEARN!

Room Tip: Very expensive and you can get excellent rooms elsewhere for 1/2 the room rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    322
    146
    83
    74
See reviews for
355
471
76
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Shutters is every bit as good as you would imagine - the beach front location, the incredible rooms, the service etc. are all 5 star. I agree with the other reviewers - don't pay more for an 'ocean view' room - mine was a partial view and my balcony looked directly to the sea! Can't get more 'ocean' than that! The staff were all very helpful, the food was delicious and fresh at Coast (cafe which is part of the hotel). You can hire a bike and ride along the miles of pristine beach, or pack your beach towel and walk a couple of steps over to the beach and lie on the sand. The pool area was beautiful too, although there was no bar/service out there which wasn't ideal - although this may have been because I stayed out of peak season. I wouldn't hesitate to go back - especially for a romantic/special break. Perfection.

Room Tip: I was in room 633 which was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaddyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Great hotel, but DON'T PAY THE EXTRA MONEY FOR AN "FULL OCEAN FRONT" ROOM!!

We paid $740 for a "full ocean front" room. Our daughter was in a "partial ocean front" room at $590. WE HAD THE EXACT SAME VIEW!! We overlooked another building and a parking lot -- DEFINITELY NOT an ocean front room.

When we brought this to their attention, they even conceded that it was not exactly "ocean front" and that they have very few of those rooms. WHY SELL THEM THEN????

Everything else about the hotel was great -- but this felt so slimy.

I took a photo from our room so everyone can see the view of the top of a building just out our window....what a joke.

Room Tip: If you want to pay for "Full Ocean View," go to the Casa del Mar -- they have more rooms t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Anonymous793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is one of the most charming and stylish hotels I've ever been. Of couuse it is expensive, but it is worth it. The rooms are beautiful, the staff is so nice and the location is unique. Can't imagine staying in any other hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianaSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
273 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

For some reason, its difficult to find a decent 5 star property that are well regarded in this area unlike what you find in Beverly Hills. It has got it all; location, looks and the right crowd. It does not, however, give you anything near the same service as a 5 star hotel in the Hills. As a LHW hotel, it must be one of the poorer I have stayed at, and one of the most expensive in the US. When in LA on vacation, we still opt to stay here because its the best on the beach, and we divide half our time here and half our time at the Peninsula. Layout of the hotel is not good at all. The architect must have been the builder!

Room Tip: No to long to walk from the reception and try to avoid view towards parking areas or the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gudleiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Wonderful homey rooms with very nice bathrooms, slippers, & views of the beach the ocean. Seriously, the most comfortable beds ever. WIFI in the room was $12 which seemed silly to charge for given how much you pay to stay here.

Great jazz band played every night at happy hour and late night. Friendly staff, especially bar staff in the lobby. Vibe feels a little country-clubby, but Casa next door had a more lively nightlife.

Brunch at the hotel was good, but recommend walking up Ocean early to eat at Cora's Coffee Shoppe.

Room Tip: Higher level overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmac81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Great Hotel, great staff, great location, great rooms. Did I mention how great this place is?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scifibiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 772 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 2,466 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#15 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 2,131 reviews
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Beach

Property: Shutters on the Beach
Address: 1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405-1063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shutters on the Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shutters on the Beach is more than just a spectacular place to stay, it’s the epitome of Southern California’s breezy lifestyle. This captivating hotel is located directly on the sand and within walking distance of the area’s biggest attractions including the Santa Monica Pier and hundreds of shops and restaurants. For business or pleasure, this quintessential beachfront hideaway is known as the place the high-profile go to be low-profile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Shutters on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Beach Hotel Santa Monica
Shutters Beach
Shutters Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing