We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“This is a must-go hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shutters on the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shutters on the Beach
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“This is a must-go hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is one of the most charming and stylish hotels I've ever been. Of couuse it is expensive, but it is worth it. The rooms are beautiful, the staff is so nice and the location is unique. Can't imagine staying in any other hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianaSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    322
    146
    83
    74
See reviews for
355
471
76
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
273 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

For some reason, its difficult to find a decent 5 star property that are well regarded in this area unlike what you find in Beverly Hills. It has got it all; location, looks and the right crowd. It does not, however, give you anything near the same service as a 5 star hotel in the Hills. As a LHW hotel, it must be one of the poorer I have stayed at, and one of the most expensive in the US. When in LA on vacation, we still opt to stay here because its the best on the beach, and we divide half our time here and half our time at the Peninsula. Layout of the hotel is not good at all. The architect must have been the builder!

Room Tip: No to long to walk from the reception and try to avoid view towards parking areas or the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gudleiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Wonderful homey rooms with very nice bathrooms, slippers, & views of the beach the ocean. Seriously, the most comfortable beds ever. WIFI in the room was $12 which seemed silly to charge for given how much you pay to stay here.

Great jazz band played every night at happy hour and late night. Friendly staff, especially bar staff in the lobby. Vibe feels a little country-clubby, but Casa next door had a more lively nightlife.

Brunch at the hotel was good, but recommend walking up Ocean early to eat at Cora's Coffee Shoppe.

Room Tip: Higher level overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmac81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Great Hotel, great staff, great location, great rooms. Did I mention how great this place is?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scifibiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

What a stunning and stylish hotel, I'm not a lover of American luxury hotels as they always seem a little pompous. Shutters however is streets ahead of any hotel that I have stayed in. Only stayed for a couple of nights on a business trip, and so was very tired, but would definitely have stayed longer had my schedule allowed, and that's a rare one for me. The rooms are fabulous with that lovely mixture of quality and casualness so much lacking in many hotels, the food was exceptional and the staff could not be faulted at any level. This is my second visit, we visited here about 20 years ago with our American friends and loved it then, but didn't really appreciate it at the time. Now we are in the business ourselves I take more time to look and feel the places that we stay in...........believe me, well worth a long haul flight, 5* all the way without all the plastic pomp and ceremony!!

Room Tip: WALK, WALK AND WALK MORE the area is so interesting and exciting you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheltenhamLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Having stayed as a couple in September, we returned as a family in January and were slightly apprehensive whether we would enjoy our second trip as much as our first. We shouldn't have worried-Shutters was again a wonderful spot to recover/prepare for our long haul back to New Zealand. Even the kids appreciated they were staying in very nice and first class hotel.

We stayed for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the stay, food, service and of course the views to the pier and the beach. We dined at Coast each morning and a couple of times at dinner-it was easy and the food was very good. Shutters definately deserves a much better TripAdvisor rating, and while it is expensive, I think it is well worth it.

We have stayed both times on the 6th floor (in a non beach view room) with views to the pier and have experienced no sleep disturbance on any of the now 8 nights we have been there. I am not sure if the lower rooms are a lot cheaper, but in my opinion spending some extra to enjoy the Santa Monica views has to be the way to go. The rooms are very homely and cute.

While we may not be in Santa Monica again for a while, Shutters will be our first choice when we do.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jas0n03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

After checking out other 5 star+ hotels in the area we opted for Shutters for the ambience and low key style. The service was fabulous, from the curbside personnel to the maid service, everyone seemed professional, courteous and generally happy to be a part of this hotel!
We had an issue with street noise in our beautiful first room (yes, we were forewarned but thought that we could ignore it... not the case!) but the front desk staff, and even the bellman, were earnest in the attempts to move us to a room that would meet our needs. And what a room... the beds are truly heavenly, the jacuzzi in the bathroom fit two, and there is even a candle provided by the jacuzzi to set the mood.
Although we didn't watch it, there is a 42 inch flat screen in the bedroom and a 10 inch one in the bathroom (maybe to watch while you're in the jacuzzi?)
In the evening the lobby is filled with people enjoying the sounds of the piano player while sitting in front of the fireplaces.
The location is right on the beach. While we were waiting for our room to be ready we watched a fashion shoot on the beach right in front of the hotel!
All in all we can highly recommend it, and we would definitely return (next time I would try the spa!!)

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lloydray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 772 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 2,466 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#15 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 2,131 reviews
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Beach

Property: Shutters on the Beach
Address: 1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405-1063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shutters on the Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shutters on the Beach is more than just a spectacular place to stay, it’s the epitome of Southern California’s breezy lifestyle. This captivating hotel is located directly on the sand and within walking distance of the area’s biggest attractions including the Santa Monica Pier and hundreds of shops and restaurants. For business or pleasure, this quintessential beachfront hideaway is known as the place the high-profile go to be low-profile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Shutters on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Beach Hotel Santa Monica
Shutters Beach
Shutters Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing