We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You don't get closer to the beach in Santa Monica”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shutters on the Beach
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“You don't get closer to the beach in Santa Monica”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

This magnificent old building is a timeless classic that my wife and I absolutely loved. If you can overcome the annoying way you need to get into two lifts to get to most of the rooms, you will love this hotel. A mix of the modern (massive plasma, bose steroa) with the old (shutters, 4 post beds) gives it huge character. Staff were excellent as well. We dined at the two restaurants and found them to be very good as well.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toppee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    346
    155
    91
    79
See reviews for
393
523
84
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Although very expensive and I can't recommend the restaurants, the hotel is beautiful and peaceful. The bed is so high that they provide step stools so you can climb in. The tub is a very big jacuzzi style, comfortable for two large people easily. The overhead shower is the "rainfall" style and the pressure is wonderful. Most rooms have two balconies. Try to get one on the 7th floor facing the ocean. Quiet and a great view of both the beach and Santa Monica pier. The staff are world class! In fact, they are so helpful and friendly that they felt like old friends when we left three days later. They even told us about an unadvertised service: you can, for free, have their town car take you anywhere in Santa Monica you want and bring you back as well. This service doesn't begin until 4pm but it can save you a small fortune in cabfares.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view but the top floors are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronnifox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Great great location! Love the style of this hotel. Classy and boheme.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Awaywiththebirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

A place to totally relax! Peaceful! You check in and don't want to leave. Great accomodations.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xtinaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I absolutely love this place!! The staff, food, decore, beds-awe the bed!!! I was brought here on a surprise over night date with my sweet love this past weekend. We had a romantic love fest in this beautiful full ocean view love den. My favorite things were all present, the ocean, a big sexy jacuzzi tub, excellent food, and an atmosphere for kinds of situations. Please go and experience this slice of heaven. The pier is near by, along with Venice beach, and the hotel nearly sits on the sand. This must be the best Santa Monica based hotel ever!!! Get a corner room if you can!! And leave your precious, lovely, kiddies with someone you love...

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLWDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed at Shutters for two nights - Christmas day and the 26th. We were headed up to Santa Barbara, but after six hours on planes, we wanted to relax for a few nights before going up there and Santa Monica seemed just the ticket. Our standard room was a bit on the small side but it was very judiciously furnished, and I loved the decor. From our balcony, we had a view of the parking lot (not great) but we also had a sideways view of the beach (good). The location of this hotel can't be beat. I mean, you literally walk out the door of the hotel right onto the beach. And it's just a few minutes' walk to the Santa Monica Pier, too, which was a lot of fun. The only complaint I can make is that the table service in the main lobby is lacking. Most of the waitstaff gave us the impression they're actors waiting for their big break, so the waiter thing was just temporary. Also, we had reservations for Christmas day dinner at One Pico, their more formal restaurant. Understandably, it was a busy holiday night, but our meal felt rushed and tasted like something you'd get at an upscale catering hall instead of a fine dining restaurant. I would definitely stay at this hotel again, but I doubt I'd patronize their lounge areas and restaurants again as there are way better dining options in Santa Monica.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbanyNYIslandlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

I went to LA for one night for the opening of a friend's restaurant - I had been traveling for days and I was worn out. I have always wanted to stay at Shutters and was not disappointed.
The staff are so warm and friendly from the minute you drive up -
Check in: I was upgraded to an ocean view - which was wonderful.
The room was beautiful, the view to die for, the bed the most comfortable I have ever slept in. And it was heavenly quiet even with the windows all open to catch the sea breeze.
The complimentary coffee was actually delicious. I luxuriated in the Jacuzzi tub with fabulous, large bottles of very expensive shampoo, conditioner, bath gel, and moisturizer.
Both times that I interacted with the front desk - I felt like a valued and frequent guest even though it was my first time.
5 Stars because these are the things that matter.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BeachDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Beach

Property: Shutters on the Beach
Address: 1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405-1063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shutters on the Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shutters on the Beach is more than just a spectacular place to stay, it’s the epitome of Southern California’s breezy lifestyle. This captivating hotel is located directly on the sand and within walking distance of the area’s biggest attractions including the Santa Monica Pier and hundreds of shops and restaurants. For business or pleasure, this quintessential beachfront hideaway is known as the place the high-profile go to be low-profile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shutters on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Beach Hotel Santa Monica
Shutters Beach
Shutters Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing