We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling fat”
Review of Muscle Beach

Muscle Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Santa Monica and Venice Beach Tour from Los Angeles
More Info
$119.00*
and up
Total Los Angeles Tour: Bike Rental, Cupcake Tasting and Museum Admission
More Info
$249.00*
and up
Private Luxurious Tour of Los Angeles
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Weight lifters still strut their stuff at this outdoor gym where, in the 30s, 40s and 50s, crowds would gather to watch young men and women honing their bodies, some of whom, like Vic Tanny and Jack LaLanne, went on to fame in the fitness world.
Blackwater, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Feeling fat”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Looked at these folks working hard and then at my beer belly tried to hold my stomach in for the rest of the visit.They put normal people to shame.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 60kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    359
    323
    113
    55
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

It is a very modern gym now on the board walk with only 1 person working out when we visited. Not what we had expected.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank terryhammond8834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great photo ops but no muscles to be seen while we were there mid-morning”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Apparently mid morning is too early for the workouts at Muscle Beach as there was no one working out when we were there, but the surrounding shops were all open. We were able to take some great photos with all of the muscle beach signage, but like other reviewers were disappointed that it was just in a cage on the edge of the beach and found the price to work out there insane!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rutha2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level 6 Contributor
413 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Nothing to really see”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Just a few people working out on the beach. Not what it used to be. Not worth going out of your way to see.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Awesome examples of peak fitness”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We may have been lucky but we saw some pretty amazing displays of talent here, including a guy who balances parallel to the ground on on hand - and holds his position. There were also some amazing children doing gymnastics.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank London_Travellers_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muscle Beach also viewed

 

Been to Muscle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing