We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite palce in Santa Monica” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Third Street Promenade

Third Street Promenade
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Santa Monica Sweet Spots Bike Tour
Ranked #3 of 103 things to do in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A moviegoer's haven, this colorful three-block stretch, open to pedestrians only, has some 20 movie theater screens, hundreds of stores, numerous restaurants, animal topiaries and street entertainment running the gamut from dancers to fortune tellers.
Kiev
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“My favorite palce in Santa Monica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

My favorite palce in Santa Monica!I love to visit 3rd Street Promenade everytime we visit the US. We like watching all the talented people performing everyday. Lots of nice food and shopping is great.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank KievSlavik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,251
    1,697
    445
    57
    21
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Ideal Outdoor and Indoor Shopping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

When I first moved to Los Angeles I spent almost every weekend at the Third Street Promenade. It is filled with lots of interesting shops, restaurants and coffee places. If you like shopping Santa Monica Place has almost everything you need. There are also many more shops outside

To be honest some of the places I ate on the 3rd Street Promenade weren't that great so I can't reccomend them. Some of them had great seating for people watching but offered food that was either not that great or very expensive. But overall Santa Monica has lots of good restaurants. My favorite is Fritto Misto which serves great Northern Italian cusine (located at Colorado & 6th). I also like Rockenwagner a lot, although it can be pretty expensive.

If you are near the Third Street Promenade you are not far from the Santa Monica Pier. So take a walk on the pier or just enjoy the view of one of the best beach towns anywhere.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnB00007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
144 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The usual collection of stores”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Same old stores you see everywhere else. Nice that it is a promenade with pedestrian traffic only. Would like to see more local stores that aren't part of a big chain.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gloria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I could find virtually anything I needed here! I love Sephora, Desigual, Old Navy, just tons. And good food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Soma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pike Road, AL
Level Contributor
278 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice Shops and Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The shops and atmosphere are very nice. On the weekend there were street actors singing, acting, or selling crafts which was charming.

Unfortunately the homeless are a sad part of this area. They are present at all times of day and all the places we walked. It was sad and disturbing - I'm not sure if there is any help for them.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank goldendiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Third Street Promenade also viewed

 

Been to Third Street Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing