We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High end boutiques and restaurants.”
Review of Montana Avenue

Montana Avenue
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Santa Monica Sweet Spots Bike Tour
Ranked #9 of 104 things to do in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A great place to celebrity watch, this 10-block stretch is an eclectic mix of chic, upscale shops ranging from furniture to fashions and interspersed with cafes, coffee shops and restaurants.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“High end boutiques and restaurants.”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Incredibly pristine stores and restaurants line the street for at least a mile. If you want to spend far too much on a cup of fresh coffee made by a snooty barista then this is the place for you.
It's where you'll find the other half. The boutiques are full of labels and designers. You will pay for everything through the nose but you will find beautiful well made apparel in a gamut of styles.
The restaurants are upscale casual and there is something for all tastes, though not necessarily for all budgets.
It is pretty to look at, it's a pleasant walk from Ocean up the hill to 23rd or so.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank anamshaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    120
    34
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Street with funky and different shops!”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I liked this better than the 3rd Street Promenade, which had shops I could have found at home. This street had unique shops with different things that I could not find at home. So went home with a number of gifts for folks.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,197 reviews
464 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 482 helpful votes
“Pretentious and superficial”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I grew up in SM and heres what I would suggest: If you'll shop here and wander around...You can get get your fill of the pretentious and superficial Santa Monica with:
Way too much botox and new money attitudes.
Over-priced restaurants.
Over-priced boutique clothing shops.
Over-priced home furnishing stores.

Did I mention pretentious and superficial?

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank SanMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Over rated IMO”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Montana avenue is the hipster gathering place for local Samo's to see whom can spend the most money on trendy shops etc.
It is fun to visit though, but one may be in for a slight culture shock. If you are dressed right people may ignore you. Most of the shops here are expensive. I do like the Starbucks on Montana, for people watching or reading and having a cup of acidic cofffee.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely Street”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I lived just a few blocks down from Montana Ave when I was a kid. My Elementary school is on this street and is still being used as a school (I went there in the 1950's). It's a lovely drive with all the old and interesting houses.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TucsonGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montana Avenue also viewed

 
 

Been to Montana Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing