We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Santa Monica
Post
Inbox
Search

“Awesome pizza”

Obica Mozzarella Bar
Reserve a Table
2
Wed, 11/13
8:00 PM
OR
Order Online
Ranked #108 of 821 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $70
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Description: Obica Mozzarella Bar is a casual and contemporary Italian restaurant. With its friendly welcoming atmosphere, its warm and bright design, Obica proposes a genuine Italian dining experience centered on the freshest Mozzarella di Bufala Campana DOP from Italy, fresh homemade pasta and other authentic products from Italy’s rich regional heritage. Started in Italy in 2004, today Obica has restaurants in international gateway cities such as Rome, Milan, Florence, London, New York, Tokyo and Los Angeles, where it continues to delight fans of fine Italian food wherever it opens. Obica brings classic and regional Italian cuisine to the new levels of taste of contemporary gourmets. The focus is on the ingredients: fresh, organic local produce paired with a curated selection of imported Italian artisanal specialties. Our light cooking methods respect the quality of these ingredients, combining them in dishes which delight the eyes as well as the taste buds. Obica offers a sommelier-curated selection of more than 100 wine labels from the most interesting Italian producers; at the bar our cocktail program reflects the same values as our kitchen: the quality of ingredients first and foremost. The best spirits are mixed with fresh herbs, fruit and vegetables; syrups, infusions and juices are homemade daily.
Reviewed February 25, 2018 via mobile

Fresh mozzarella and tasty sauce and crust, but the dough was mushy. Prosciutto app was fresh and high quality. Pasta dishes were just ok. Great service.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank BNM2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 70 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2018 via mobile

Walked here from our hotel for breakfast at around 1030am on a Saturday morning. The restaurant was practically empty whereas a long line formed at competitor across the street. Sign on door is confusing (and on line info as well) says weekend brunch starts at 10 am yet next line says Friday & Saturday hours 12pm to 11pm! The interior has a nice ambience. Our large party was able to sit in a spacious patio in the back with heat lamp on. Just the right environment fir a morning for a family gathering. The services was very friendly and attentive. There’re many choices from the brunch and regular menus. Service was very friendly and helpful. Of the dishes we ordered: the pizza was quite tasty, the pancake was pretty good (recommended by server), ditto the lasagna and Egg Benedict). The omelette and the quinoa were decent. I felt the Uova Fritte with Fondue: 2 sunny side eggs with two tiny sausages plus a watered down custardy thing (and free bread) was overpriced at $15 and quite average.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank LnS2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2018

Obica, in the heart of Santa Monica, CA, and a few steps away from the famed Santa Monica Beach, calls itself a Mozzarella bar—but we found it to be much more than that. It features cheeses and cuisine from Southwestern Italian region of Campania—also known for its Pompeii ruins and Naples. It is famous for its water buffalo Mozzarella cheese and for using fresh vegetables and cheeses in its cooking.

Created by Italy’s famous hospitality executive, Silvio Ursini, Obica restaurants are popular throughout Italy, UK, US and Japan. There are several in Los Angeles area.

So authentic, in fact that Obica does not use garlic or onions. The waiter explained to us that it is because, garlic is not a native ingredient of Italian cooking. Taste-wise, we missed neither.

For starters, we ordered Buffala Affumicata, slightly smoked cheese. If you favor cheese, you can order their sampler, which has Stracciatella , also referred to as “Italian egg-drop soup”—although it has a rather strong flavor. Another unique starter dish is cured pork meat with pistachio.

We also tried the meat ball dish, Polpette—although a bit on the dry side, it has unique and really mouth-watering flavors. Pizza lovers will also like the Prosciutto Pizza. We like the Pizza for its thin but juicy crust. They age the Pizza dough for 48 hours. If you crave pasta, try their squid-ink Taglierini (thin, ribbon pasta). Melts in the mouth. They also have a good selection of cold plates, like bell peppers and ricotta.

Dishes are light and sparse but dense so you will not go away hungry. If in a company, order tapas style—everyone will enjoy the variety and taste.

Prices are reasonable--$9-$15. Service is outstanding, and waiters are knowledgeable not only about their own restaurant, but also in general about Italian cuisine.

Can’t comment on desserts—we were too full!

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank briskwalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2018

Great little place to visit relax and enjoy a light meal, we ate twice dinner and lunch both were well worth it.
Service was friendly and attentive.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patrick K. L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2018 via mobile

We had dinnet at Obica. It was a nice and pleasant experience but quantities are small and this is overpriced. Overall nice but too expensive for the quantities served.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank T8875XUpierrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Obica Mozzarella Bar also viewed

 
Santa Monica, CA
Santa Monica, CA
 
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Obica Mozzarella Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing