We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Santa Maria - South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Motel 6 Santa Maria - South
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Santa Maria
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2009

very nice little hotel. the front desk was great, we called ahead to reserve a room while we were wine tasting and they accommodated us nicely. the hotel has free internet, the room was clean and spacious and it had a microwave and fridge. no extras like a hair dryer or iron, and the bed was not the most comfortable but they were a good price. and the location was good, close to the 101.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    17
    11
    13
    26
See reviews for
17
21
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

Basic, nice inn. Clean and spacious room. Stayed there in December, so the place was quite empty. The front desk staff was friendly and we were able to check in and out very efficiently and quickly. Complimentary coffee in the lobby, free wi-fi. Location was ok, not really within walking distance of the so-called city center, but there were some restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Omenahillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2009

My partner and I have just returned from a road trip in California. As part of this journey we travelled from Santa Cruz to San Diego which is about 8 hours drive or more. We decided to stop off halfway to split the driving time up and booked this motel on the hop.

We were really pleased when we arrived as the reception staff were excellent and very friendly and our room was clean, spacious and very comfortable.

I would put this motel on par with a decent 3 star accommodation back home and would defo recommend to anyone just looking for somewhere decent to stop off on the long drive down the coast.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeggynMurdouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chowchilla, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

After reading your reviews on this site we were concerned about the negatives. However, since we had stayed there previously, we decided to stay there, which we did 7-24-09 thru 7-26-09. We were very pleasantly surprised to see that theis Motel is under new ownership and has remodelled and re-decorated, resulting in a very pleasant stay with very clean room and service desk could not have been more friendly or helpful. We definitely will stay there again. Location is great; right off Hiway 101 and close to shopping. Two restaurants next door.
Phillip M. Lawrence
Chowchilla, CA

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillipML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2008

The place is in need of serious updating. Frankly, I thought it was a dump and as a woman I did not feel safe staying there. Jacuzzi was not working and staff didn't know when it would be fixed. Also had my reservation wrong -- had me down for two rooms not one room. Staff were pleasant and helpful though. I would not recommend this place to someone else unless they have real budgetary concerns.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank GTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Maria hotels

Central Coast
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2008

I was very disappointed to find that the reservations I made were neglected.
On Friday night I spoke to their desk person over the phone and explained I was happy to pay for 2 nights ( Friday and Saturday) to be able check in very early on Saturday. The person took my credit card information and asured me the room would be waiting for us. However when I arrived at the Rose Garden at 10 am Saturday morning the manager said all my information was there but they didn't have a room. Never said he was sorry and told me I could have a different room but not until 3pm. I think travelers should know this. When I was very expliciet
about my situation they confirmed it, then weren't even bothered
enough to help me. I didn't ask for anything and left the place.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank sasbme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Springs, WY
Level Contributor
66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2008

I was pleasantly surprised with the room and it's amenities. After a long day of house hunting and being exhausted, I really appreciated the friendliness of the desk staff and the more than comfortable room. I had a great nights sleep! I enjoyed my stay and would absolutely stay there again. I thought it was a nice hotel for the price and since I travel a lot for work and pleasure I can honestly say it's an above average hotel in comparison to a Motel 6 or Super 8 that charges more.

  • Liked — Nice big room with comfortable bed
  • Disliked — It was all fine
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelbug43_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
4.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
#1 of 21 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
1.2 mi away
Santa Maria Inn
Santa Maria Inn
#3 of 21 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Santa Maria
Travelodge Santa Maria
#4 of 21 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Big America
BEST WESTERN Plus Big America
#2 of 21 in Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
1.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria
#5 of 21 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Santa Maria
Days Inn Santa Maria
#8 of 21 in Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Santa Maria - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Santa Maria - South

Property: Motel 6 Santa Maria - South
Address: 1007 E Main St, Santa Maria, CA 93454-5332 (Formerly Rose Garden Inn)
Location: United States > California > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Santa Maria - South 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Santa Maria South is located off US 101 near PCPA Theaterfest, and Santa Maria Fairpark. We offer free Wi-Fi , and micro-fridges in all modern guest rooms. Enjoy the use of our outdoor pool open year round, hit the basketball, and tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Motel-6 so you can book your Motel 6 Santa Maria - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Hotel Santa Maria
Rose Garden Motel
Rose Garden Inn Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing