We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great service and a great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Santa Maria
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Santa Maria
1 review
“Great service and a great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Some friends and I decided to get away for a long weekend. We were thinking it would be fun to stay in SLO, but our wallets thought Santa Maria sounded better. This place is not a luxury hotel, BUT! it is clean and seems to be recently updated. What really impressed me was the service--Stephanie even went over-and-above and helped me put when my car needed a jump--and the value. It really can't be beat in this area. Oh, and did I mention they have a jacuzzi? Now that's luxury!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank achol_mk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM15573, Manager at Travelodge Santa Maria, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Achol_mk,

Thank you for such a great, positive review!
We really appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing The Travelodge in Santa Maria!
Although San Luis Opispo isn't too far from us, we sure hope you were still able to enjoy some activities down there while you stayed with us!
There is a bunch to do along the coast, such as wine tasting, hiking, relaxing on the beach, and enjoying some Santa Maria style BBQ. We hope you were able to enjoy all of, and then some!

As you mentioned, we are in the process of remodeling and renovating, adding hardwood floors and new appliances to each room. We appreciate you mentioning the cleanliness of our rooms as well.

Hopefully you were able to enjoy some amenities we have to offer on site including our continental breakfast, and relaxing by the pool and Jacuzzi, surrounded by a courtyard of tropical flowers, roses and palm trees!

Thank you for staying with us!

Hopefully we will have the pleasure of seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    200
    74
    36
    32
See reviews for
206
160
38
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Polson, Montana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the room. The bed was very comfortable; I had the best sleep there. The staff was very nice and accommodating. The breakfast scored a #4. I would definitely stay here again. Room 119.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank pattymarie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM15573, Manager at Travelodge Santa Maria, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear PattyMarie66,

Thank you for your positive review!

We are happy to hear that you had a great stay!
We appreciate you mentioning the cleanliness of the room, and the comfort of the beds.
We try to make each stay feel like you are at home. All of our staff do their best to accommodate for anything you would need during your stay and are happy to hear your positive feedback.

A continental breakfast is offered to each of our guests from 6am to 10am each morning of their stay. Offering a variety of selections, such as, fruit, toast, cappuccinos, coffee, pastries, cereal, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, juices, fresh waffles that are made in less than 3 minutes, and much more. We are glad you were able to join us, and enjoy a nice snack to get your morning started!

Hopefully the weather was nice enough for you to relax next to the pool and Jacuzzi. Surrounded by palm trees, roses and other tropical plants.

Again, we want to thank you for such a positive review!
Thank you for choosing The Travelodge in Santa Maria!
We hope too see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

A lot of the bathroom seemed in poor repair. The shower curtain had a big hole in it. The plumbing was coming out of the wall and the toilet finish was being rubbed off. At least it seemed fairly clean. Didn't see any cockroaches or bugs. We couldn't get any sleep the whole night the. We could hear everything through the walls. Everyone was so loud! Also the curtain were not dark enough so it was like daytime inside the room. Too much light was getting through the curtains. Very annoying. Also not chemical free. The smell of the bed sheets were too strong so my wife had to sleep on the chair. Very uncomfortable!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM15573, General Manager at Travelodge Santa Maria, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Jason K.

Thank you for your review.

We do apologize that you didn't get to stay in one of our most recent renovated and remodeled rooms. We are currently installing hardwood floors, along with new appliances and are sure to get any problems you noticed fixed.

We would also like to apologize for the noise that interrupted you all night, and would like to inform you that we do have staff in the office 24/7 who would have been more than happy to either move you rooms, or address the guests who were being too noisy. There is usually a solution to everything.

We will take into consideration about the curtains, we apologize that they were not dark enough for you, although we have never had a complaint in the past, it's good to get a problem like that addressed so we can put a suggestion in to the correct department.

As you mentioned, the rooms are very clean. In order to get that level of cleanliness we use multiple cleansers to provide maximum cleaning and sanitizing. Every housekeeper spends about an hour cleaning each room to guarantee cleanliness, and that their are no germs left over from the previous guest. We can not guarantee a chemical free room. Although we can guarantee a non-smoking room, with the level of cleanliness we like to achieve it is near impossible to not have a single scent in the room. We would also like to apologize if there was any misunderstandings about a chemical free room.

We would like to show you our new renovations and hopefully have you as a return guest.
All of our staff take pride in knowing guests, such as yourself, have a relaxed. comfortable stay, and if for some reason that isn't met, we would like to do anything to help make sure your stay is a pleasant one.
Thank you again for you review and great suggestions, and thank you for choosing The Travelodge in Santa Maria.
We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Overall we enjoyed our 5 night stay. The bed was comfortable. The room was clean, but we did not have one of the renovated rooms so there were minor imperfections. The only negative was that housekeeping did not clean our room on the second day. When we inquired at the desk, they apologized and told us that our room was not on the housekeeping list. Despite this mistake, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jam214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM15573, General Manager at Travelodge Santa Maria, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Jam214,

Thank you for your positive review!

We apologize that we were not able to get you into one of the newest remodeled rooms, although all of our rooms are constantly renovated regularly, we are currently adding hardwood floors and new appliances to the rooms. Please put in a request, or talk to the staff at check in, about staying in a room with hardwoods floors during your next stay. We can usually accommodate any request to keep you comfortable and happy. We also would like to apologize for the miscommunication leading to your room not being serviced. Thank you for your understanding on the matter!

We definitely look forward to your next stay with us, and encourage you to enjoy the on site amenities, such as the outdoor pool and Jacuzzi in our courtyard surrounded by tropical flowers and trees, as well as our continental breakfast including a waffle machine, making fresh waffles in less than 3 minutes!

Thank you again for your positive review, and thank you for choosing the Travelodge in Santa Maria!
We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

The staff was awesome! Special thanks to Stephanie and Eric. The rooms were clean. They went out of their way to make accomodations for us!
There was a problem guest and Stephanie handled herself wonderfully

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM15573, General Manager at Travelodge Santa Maria, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Kelly S,

Thank you for your positive review!

We are so happy to hear that our staff left a lasting impression on your stay! All of our staff honestly care about the comfort and satisfaction of your stay! As you mentioned, our housekeeping staff works very hard to keep the rooms sanitary and clean, and they appreciate the recognition. All of our rooms are currently undergoing remodeling and renovations improving on the cleanliness of our rooms by adding hardwood floors. Along with the hardwood floors, new appliances are also being added. We want our rooms to have a very spacious, relaxing, modern feel.

We do apologize if the 'problem guest' inconvenienced your stay in any way, but are so pleased to hear that it was handled in a kindly manner!

Thank you again for your review, and thank you for choosing the Travelodge in Santa Maria!
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
2.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
#1 of 21 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 stars 630 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Big America
BEST WESTERN Plus Big America
#2 of 21 in Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 stars 586 reviews
0.7 mi away
Santa Maria Inn
Santa Maria Inn
#3 of 21 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 stars 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Santa Maria
Holiday Inn Santa Maria
#7 of 21 in Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Santa Maria
Days Inn Santa Maria
#8 of 21 in Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
3.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria
#5 of 21 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Santa Maria

Property: Travelodge Santa Maria
Address: 1514 S Broadway, Santa Maria, CA 93454-7214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Maria
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Maria
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Santa Maria 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Travelodge Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Santa Maria Hotel Santa Maria
Travel Lodge Santa Maria
Santa Maria Travelodge
Santa Maria Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing