We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SSandoval”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Santa Maria
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Santa Maria
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I really enjoyed staying in this hotel. The room was nice and clean and had comfortable beds. We enjoyed the free breakfast in the morning. The staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM15573, Manager at Travelodge Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Sonia S,

Thank you for such a positive review!

We are happy to hear that you really enjoyed your stay!
You are correct, the beds are definitely comfortable! All of our rooms are large and spacious, and currently being remodeled and renovated, adding hardwood floors and new appliances.

Hopefully you were able to enjoy some of the amenities besides breakfast as well, such as our pool and Jacuzzi located in our large courtyard area, surrounded by palm trees and tropical flowers. There's also a swing by the pool to relax on while enjoying some sun.

We look forward to seeing you again, hopefully soon!
Thank you for choosing The Travelodge in Santa Maria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 661 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

I find it tremendously odd that many of the reviews rave about this place, and I found it dreary and disjointed. Clearly they are in the middle of renovations, but either rent a room that is completely renovated or not and charge accordingly.

The carpet in our room had seen better days, probably in 1986. There were stains and remnants of when this was a smoking hotel and the room had a stale smell to it. Our allergies returned with a vengeance.

The safe, despite the contrary according to their website, did not work. When I inquired to the front desk, they said something to the effect of their contract lapsed with the safe company...huh? The bathroom was renovated (check under the sink, it is hilarious) but the crown molding had gaps. The bed was harder than a plank. Toiletries consisted of a bar of soap (1) and a shampoo.

And although the breakfast room is expansive, the selection is paltry. Why even call it a breakfast? Just call it what it is...grab and go snacks. Mini pastries, muffins and bundt cakes with a side of sugar overload (from what looked like a Costco container), some sad oranges, and really weak coffee rounded out the "selection" (and I use the term loosely). There were pancakes one can make from a machine. But where were the bagels and oatmeal? We paid $80 for the night, and personally I think that was $40 too much.

P.S. Although this is billed as a primarily non-smoking hotel, your neighbors will smoke in front of their room and yours. Don't open the windows in the front.

All in all, my fellow TripAdvisor travelers steered us wrong on this one. Won't be back.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 234 as it is not fully renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LatinaTopaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM15573, Manager at Travelodge Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear LatinaTopaz, We apologize for not meeting your expectations. Have a wonderful day. -Travelodge in Santa Maria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We enjoyed staying at this hotel, the room was very pleasant and the bed was very comfortable! Loved the rooms atmosphere and décor. I would definitely stay at this hotel again!! Breakfast was a nice treat too!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jami F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM15573, Manager at Travelodge Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Jami F,

Thank you for leaving such a positive review.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our property!
As you mentioned, the rooms, and beds, are very comfortable, and spacious. We are currently renovating and remodeling adding hardwood floors and new appliances, we would love for you to come check out the upgrades!

Thanks for choosing The Travelodge in Santa Maria!
We can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My sister and I as well as my brother and his family stayed at at the Travelodge over the weekend of our father's memorial service. I requested second floor rooms next to each other, if possible. Those were available for us and, as the room was ready, my brother and family were allowed to check in early. It made getting cleaned up for the service, after their long trip, so much easier than just using our room, which is what we had planned on. The rooms were clean and not cramped. (Our rooms held 2 queen-sized beds) Breakfast fine and started at 6am instead of the usual 7am which allowed for more leisurely eating in our case. Our younger family members enjoyed the hot tub and even the pool, though it was a little chill. It was December after all. The staff was very pleasant and seemed to genuinely what to accommodate us, where they could. We would happily chose to stay at this Traveloldge again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM15573, Manager at Travelodge Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Debbie J,

Thank you for such a positive, and detailed review.

We are happy to hear you had a wonderful time at our property!
As you mentioned, the rooms are very spacious! We have recently started remodeling and renovating all our rooms, adding hardwood floors and new appliances.

We are also very happy we were able to accommodate an early check-in! We do our best to make things as convenient as possible.

We are also glad to hear you were able to enjoy the amenities, such as the Jacuzzi, located in our courtyard surrounded by palm trees and tropical flowers, as well as our free continental breakfast.

Thank you again for such a positive review and thank you for choosing the Travelodge in Santa Maria!
We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank THOMAS S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GM15573, Manager at Travelodge Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The room was clean, and fresh looking, overall comfortable feeling, the only flaw would be in it's design was in the bathroom were it needs more thought into it's placement of disability features. The handrails were short, and placed in awkward locations making them difficult for easy, and needed use.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM15573, Manager at Travelodge Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Richard R,

Thank you for such a positive review!

We are happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay!
As for your suggestion, we will make sure to mention it to the correct department!

Thank you for choosing The Travelodge In Santa Maria!!
We hope to see you again soon!
Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The room was clean and attractive, with amenities I did not expect for the very reasonable price (such as hair dryer and free wi-fi). The bed was extremely comfortable. The grounds are beautifully manicured. Sitting in the dining area which overlooks the pool,while enjoying a complimentary breakfast, I could almost imagine I was vacationing at a resort rather than on a business trip. I will definitely stay here again when business brings me to Santa Maria!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM15573, Manager at Travelodge Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Robin S.

Thank you for such a positive review!

We love that you mentioned the room amenities, such as the hair dyer!! We also offer in all the rooms, a refrigerator with freezer, AC, microwave, iron and ironing board, as well as a coffee maker. All of our rooms also have free wifi, and include free parking and free continental breakfast.

Hopefully you were able to enjoy the pool and Jacuzzi during your stay, as it is surrounded by a large courtyard filled with tropical flowers, roses and palm trees. Maybe if the weather is good next time, you can enjoy breakfast, poolside! We have chairs, and tables, as well as a covered swing!

We are happy to hear that we added a little excitement into your business trip and can't wait to see you again!
Thank you for choosing The Travelodge in Santa Maria!
Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
0.8 mi away
The Historic Santa Maria Inn
The Historic Santa Maria Inn
#3 of 21 in Santa Maria
878 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Big America
Best Western Plus Big America
#1 of 21 in Santa Maria
754 reviews
2.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
#2 of 21 in Santa Maria
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Santa Maria
Holiday Inn Santa Maria
#8 of 21 in Santa Maria
356 reviews
3.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria
#6 of 21 in Santa Maria
201 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Santa Maria
Days Inn Santa Maria
#7 of 21 in Santa Maria
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Santa Maria

Address: 1514 S Broadway, Santa Maria, CA 93454-7214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Maria
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range: $83 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Santa Maria 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Santa Maria Hotel Santa Maria
Travel Lodge Santa Maria
Santa Maria Travelodge
Santa Maria Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing